Bell Fibe PVR or STB is slow - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 2014-04-15, 09:56 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 7
Bell Fibe PVR or STB is slow

Has anyone had this problem when using the bell fibe remote on the pvr , that the response to skip ahead 30 seconds or back 7 seconds on recordings or paused live tv is annoyingly slow now. Bell tech say to just unplug the modem and plug back in 10 seconds, but this has not solved the 2 second delay. Anyone had this problem and found the fix. I even powered down the pvr and restarted it with no change. I assume the delays are due to software or firmware changes.
dudeharry2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 2014-04-25, 01:06 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 236
I've noticed the same problem over the last week or so. It's extremely annoying! I don't use the Bell remote, but a Harmony remote and its the same issues, the PVR seems to have slowed down with reacting to commands. It's also the same when I hit the Guide button, it takes some time to come up, scrolling up or down in the guide is slow, jumping to channels in the guide is slow, changing channels is slow etc... I was going to call today, but not sure they will be able to help.
bongoxx is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 2014-04-25, 10:31 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 650
On the front of the box, press power and the button in the middle of the circle.

Hold them both until the box reboots, after 2-3 minutes it will be back online and should resolve the issue.
nitra is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 2014-04-25, 11:49 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Trinidad
Posts: 342
Just press and hold power until all the lights in the middle light up and wait for it to reboot or pull the power plug out for 10 seconds and replace it. If you press the other button and its your PVR you may erase your recordings by mistake. Just rebooting worked for about a month for me then I rebooted again thereafter. I do this with my windows computers too.
betterthancable is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 2014-04-26, 01:59 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Montreal
Posts: 271
Quote:
Originally Posted by betterthancable View Post
If you press the other button and its your PVR you may erase your recordings by mistake.
Hi:
Can you tell me a little more about this. I had a situation a couple of weeks ago where all the recordings on my PVR vanished. I also did reboot by holding the the middle and power buttons. Perhaps that was my problem. Didn't know it was possible to delete everything this way !

Samsung HLP-5663W,Sony STR-DG910,PS3, WII,Toshiba A-2 HD DVD,Bell 9241,Cerwin Vegas,PSB Alpha's(rear),Polk SWB
coffenk is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 2014-04-26, 11:56 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Trinidad
Posts: 342
When you press both buttons you are resetting the box to factory default. This is okay unless its the DVR.

If you want to reset the DVR you have to unplug and plug the box four times. Unplug the power, replug wait for the box to start booting up, unplug and repeat three times on the fourth you should see gears as it resets the software on the box without erasing the recordings. You are basically corrupting the boot sequence to fool the box into a reset.
betterthancable is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 2014-04-26, 12:13 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Montreal
Posts: 271
Thanks for the info. It was the DVR that I reset by the two-button technique !
Wow ... certainly didn't realize it would do a full factory reset and wipe out my hours and hours of recordings .... which it did. Thought I was just resetting to get rid of some of the lag in remote responses.
Will be a lot more careful next time.
Sincere thanks for the heads up !

Samsung HLP-5663W,Sony STR-DG910,PS3, WII,Toshiba A-2 HD DVD,Bell 9241,Cerwin Vegas,PSB Alpha's(rear),Polk SWB
coffenk is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 2014-04-27, 12:51 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 650
This is very much false information.

Holding both buttons will NOT erase anything.

Pure FUD.

Holding both buttons does 2 things, first, it triggers a reboot of the box, and it reloads the last update.
It does not in any way touch any recordings or scheduled recordings on the box.

I've used this method dozens of times, my PVR, my clients PVR's, I've never seen it erase anything.
I have seen the box outright fail after this method, but the hard drive was nearly dead, and the reload killed it.
nitra is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 2014-08-23, 10:57 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 103
Browsing channels PVR 1262

Lately I have noticed that when I brows (up or down) channels it's slow. I takes now around 2.2 seconds while before it was less than 2 seconds

Is there a way to speed up this. tia

Last edited by Dr.Dave; 2014-08-23 at 12:21 PM. Reason: Moved to existing thread
frankmar is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 2014-08-23, 10:59 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 650
Reboot the box.
nitra is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 2014-08-23, 11:15 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 103
rebooted(removed the power) the PVR and its a bit faster. thanks

Do I need to reboot the router also.
frankmar is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 2014-08-23, 12:09 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 650
Not normally, if the box still isn't that fast, try a cold boot.
nitra is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome