Max Streams - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-04-16, 04:41 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 462
Max Streams

Ok, I just want to clear up a few things here, to make sure I understand it right.

I have 4 TV's in my house. At many times, all 4 TV's are on, watching HD content. With Bell Fibe, this wouldn't be possible right?

On top of this, I frequently have my PVR recording 2 HD programs during prime time, plus at least two other TV's watching live HD content, sometimes, 3 TV's.

So, if I understand Fibe tv right, you can only have 4 TV's on at once, watching or recording HD TV. So if your PVR is recording two HD programs, that leaves only two TV's that can watch an HD stream.

Elite Kuro|Oppo BDP-80|Denon 890|Xbox 360|Paradigm Mon7's| Polk PSW 125 Sub
viper359 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-04-16, 05:40 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Whitby
Posts: 528
Actually, it is 3 HD streams and 1 SD stream at once.
kibosh is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-04-16, 06:19 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 462
Really? WOW. Too bad. I mean, if you are watching prime time, you can easy bust 3 HD streams in just one other person watches tv.

Elite Kuro|Oppo BDP-80|Denon 890|Xbox 360|Paradigm Mon7's| Polk PSW 125 Sub
viper359 is offline  
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-04-16, 08:07 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 462
and to confirm, its not that you can watch 3 hd streams, and record an additional 3. Even though Bell website says supports up to 6, that really means 6 boxes, not 6 TV's all turned on at once.

Elite Kuro|Oppo BDP-80|Denon 890|Xbox 360|Paradigm Mon7's| Polk PSW 125 Sub
viper359 is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-04-16, 09:28 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,845
You can watch 6 TVs at once if you want, but you limited to 4 live channels (3 HD and 1 SD). The other TVs can watch previously recorded programs from the whole home PVR.

The way I use Mediaroom is to record all the programs that interest me and watch them at my convenience (and skip the commercials). I almost never watch live TV. With repeats on specialty channels and time shifting, it's pretty easy to schedule recordings for off-peak times.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-04-16, 11:00 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Whitby
Posts: 528
I pretty much do the same thing . . . I have the time shifting and do most of my recording on the west stations and leave live TV open for hockey and stuff like that. I have 3 kids and my father also lives in the basement and we manage.
kibosh is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-04-16, 11:53 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 462
That's how I operate, but I have a younger family member who is always watching sports, and my in-laws who watch tv as well. Both are HD feeds, so that leaves me with one feed to record with right? That doesn't even have my wife watching her HD food channels etc in the bedroom.

This may sound silly, but this is exactly why two or more PVR's should be allowed. I can't believe I would be the only person in such a situation.

I am glad some of you manage, but, I am not going to spend my time worrying about conflicting things happening, and most certainly trying to explain it to my in-laws, who's grasp of English I would say is subpar, and their tech understanding, is even worse.

Elite Kuro|Oppo BDP-80|Denon 890|Xbox 360|Paradigm Mon7's| Polk PSW 125 Sub
viper359 is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-04-17, 10:10 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Thornhill
Posts: 1,036
This is an area cable has an advantage over Fibe. Technically it might be possible to make use of more than one PVR but that would create all sorts of other problems.

The simple but expensive option is to have two accounts (the second on a dry loop line), two PVR's (and associated STB's), without any interconnection between the two PVR's. You might be able to work out a special package deal with customer service but it will still likely be more expensive than a similar cable configuration.
Bplayer is online now  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-04-17, 11:44 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Whitby
Posts: 528
Quote:
Originally Posted by viper359 View Post

This may sound silly, but this is exactly why two or more PVR's should be allowed. I can't believe I would be the only person in such a situation.
It's not silly at all . . . in fact, for me, this is the biggest stumbling block Fibe TV has. However, the rest of the Fibe TV experience has been great.

I am assuming that Bell will expand the number of streams now that they have increased the internet speeds. If I am not mistaken, mediaroom and our equipment can handle 7 HD streams.
kibosh is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-04-17, 12:44 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 15,845
I think the limit with Mediaroom is 4 live HD streams, although you can have 7 TVs active (the others watching recorded programs).

I haven't seen more than 4 streams, even with Fibre to the Home.
Dr.Dave is offline  
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-04-17, 12:56 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Whitby
Posts: 528
Darn . . . I could have sworn I read somewhere 7. At any rate, even one extra HD stream would REALLY help.
kibosh is offline  
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-04-17, 06:40 PM
tlb
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 102
I'm not sure that I understand exactly what the problem is here. As I understand it, Fibe TV allows you to hook up to six TVs to one installation; then you can watch three HD and one SD streams live, and also watch other pre-recorded programs - all simultaneously. I'm sure that this capability meets the requirements of the vast majority of viewers.

If one has a requirement to view more than above, how much is it going to cost to rent/buy the PVRs from another provider - like Rodgers ?
tlb is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 2013-04-17, 11:57 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,460
You can hookup six STBs simultaneously on Fibe, but only 4 live streams are coming into the home. If you had six STBs with Rogers you would have a total of 7 live "streams" assuming one of the STBs is a PVR. For large families who have different viewing patterns during primetime, the Fibe limitation could be problematic. But for smaller families and single people, its not a big deal.
yyzlhr is offline  
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 2015-07-30, 10:11 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1
we are considering switching to Bell Fibe TV - does the cap of 4 live streams apply if you watch TV on your tablet using the Bell Fibe TV app?
sattard is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 2015-07-30, 01:21 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,334
It really depends on how much bandwidth Bell allocates to it's HD and SD streams. They use H.264 multicasts, with which you can get excellent quality HD PQ with 4Mbps per stream.
thenewdc is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome