FibeTV thru router? - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 18 (permalink) Old 2015-04-14, 03:23 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 4
I know old thread but, similar question

I would like to use the bell remote app, however my entire network is using a AirPort Extreme with a unmanaged switch that is behind the sagecomm modem. I ppoe from the airport to bell and the fibe pvr is the only thing connected to the sagecomm other than of course the airport.

Tried plugging the fibe pvr into the airport network no dice.

Wondering if I need to add a route to either the airport or sagecomm to connect the fibe over into my apple network So I can use the remote app. Was also thinking if I hook up the coax from the sagecomm and the the pvr to my network.

Thought maybe someone has figured this out, any help would be appreciated
Oliver2000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 18 (permalink) Old 2015-04-14, 03:34 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 80
The TV & remote app operate on completely different network from the standard internet. AFAIK Bell has some sort of provision on their provided hardware that forwards the connection when you're connected to the internet over their router but I don't think anybody has figured out how to make it work with 3rd party equipment.
Awjvail is offline  
post #18 of 18 (permalink) Old 2015-04-17, 10:31 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kanata, Ontario.
Posts: 462
It's possible to make Fibe TV & Internet work with your own router, but you need more than basic networking skills and gear. It also depends on whether you're FTTN or FTTH since the gear from Bell is different.

Getting Internet to work is relatively easy... getting the TV receivers to work through your router is the difficult part. See these articles for details from people who've done it:

https://forum.pfsense.org/index.php?topic=87738.0
http://blog.ngpixel.com/post/1044497...our-own-router

Adventures in Canadian Cord Cutting: http://www.canadiancordcutting.com/
rosenqui is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome