Is Fibe 720p? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 2011-11-19, 11:04 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 96
Is Fibe 720p?

I've been reading for a while now and never found the definitive answer - are fibe channels downscaled to 720p the way they are on bell satellite?

Coming from Rogers, would I expect less compression artifacts on fibe? Or about the same?

Thanks!
bobbob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 2011-11-19, 05:50 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Trinidad
Posts: 342
Most are 720p. Equatorn looks like 1080i. The sports and movie channels do not have any noticeable artifacting.
betterthancable is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 2011-11-19, 06:58 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Lincoln.NB Pop 492,823
Posts: 6,436
I was told the boxes will only do 720 and not 1080i.

Home Theatre: Yamaha HTR-6190, Klipsch Speakers, SANYO PLV-Z4, TOSHIBA HDDVD, LG BD555C, Cerwin Vega HTS12 Sub, VIP2300, XBox 360, HTPC.
Danster is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 2011-11-20, 08:23 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Downtown Toronto near Bloor and Jarvis
Posts: 47
I saw a demonstration of the service. The rep demonstrating the boxes had to select either 720p or 1080i as output. Not sure if there is a pass thru option similar to what is on the rogers box or if you have to have either one and if the program is 720p the box will upscale.
oblender is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 2011-11-20, 10:28 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
from what I tested, you can set it to either 720p or 1080i and the box will upscale to the selected resolution.

now, whether or not the shows/channels are broadcast/stream in 720p or 1080i and also what's the bit rate is another... I'm curious too.
myogui is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 2011-11-20, 11:40 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,379
What is broadcast is outlined in the following FAQ, as is what the service providers provide. Bell converts everything to 720P for Sat, so I'm suspecting the same for Bell IPTV.

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=76129

I'm not sure if anyone has access to the diagnostics of the STB, but the incoming information is often shown there, but it's STB/firmware specific.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 2011-11-23, 10:27 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 103
When the technician came to install Fibe tv, he told me to set it at 720p, especially when watching sports or action movies. I told him my tv is Plasma and I have no problem setting my tv to 1080p. I know most LCD tv lag less with 720p when watching sport or action movies.
frankmar is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 2011-11-24, 07:09 AM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
When I spoke to Bell a few years ago, they told me 1280x720p encoded in MPEG4 at between 5 and 7 Mbps.



hugh is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 2011-11-29, 02:08 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 48
LCD's don't lag more or less depending on the resolution. The pixel has no idea whether you're sending it 480i, 720p or 1080i.
dobyblue is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 2011-12-01, 09:36 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Saint-Hubert (Longueuil), Qc
Posts: 45
dobyblue, he might be talking about image processing lag, not pixel response time. It's not unreasonable to imagine that deinterlacing the 1080i signal for display by the LCD might lag a few frames while the 720p could be displayed as soon as each frame is received. Of course this only matters if the audio is not delayed to compensate, which might happen when you're using a home theater setup instead of the TV speakers. It also affects gamers, which is why some TVs have a "game mode" to disable as much image processing as possible to reduce the lag.
euzeka is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome