Fibe TV Rant Thread - Page 12 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #166 of 179 (permalink) Old 2016-01-31, 08:51 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 180
I remember seeing a Bell Aliant email but I deleted with the rest of the ad emails.
nothanksrogers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #167 of 179 (permalink) Old 2016-01-31, 09:43 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Belleville ON
Posts: 1,865
Are you in BellAliant territory or Bell Canada? (I can't tell by your post)

Cameron

DAB listener 12/2003-11/2011 (DAB Off-Air since 11/2011)
HD radio Listener since 06/2010
CamDAB is offline  
post #168 of 179 (permalink) Old 2016-02-01, 08:36 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 180
Toronto.
nothanksrogers is offline  
 
post #169 of 179 (permalink) Old 2016-02-03, 12:00 PM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 62
Added TMN & HBO to our package a couple days ago and still waiting for the service. Is this activated at Bell's end or does a tech need to do a drive-by?!
cabinboy is offline  
post #170 of 179 (permalink) Old 2016-02-03, 12:07 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,036
Should be activated almost immediately. If done by phone I usually stay on the line until I can see it (I'm on Rogers. I'm not sure if Fibe is as fast at activations, but a truck roll is no longer needed for digital services - one of the reasons for digital).

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #171 of 179 (permalink) Old 2016-02-03, 01:19 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 45
Forty Seven, count em, 47 VOD channels polluting the guide and you can't get rid of them.
BassLake is offline  
post #172 of 179 (permalink) Old 2016-02-03, 01:28 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,334
They really only need 1 VOD channel to give you access to all the content they provide, and they can easily do it this way if they want to. 47 channels of it is way inconvenient.
thenewdc is offline  
post #173 of 179 (permalink) Old 2016-02-03, 01:42 PM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 62
Okay thanks, figured as much. Recall it being almost immediate with Rogers and was wondering if Fibe has a different process.

They're upgrading our modem (15 > 25) on the weekend and are perhaps tying it in with that.
cabinboy is offline  
post #174 of 179 (permalink) Old 2016-02-03, 02:55 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,037
It is should be activated immediately with Bell as well, maybe agent did not do it properly.
bev fan is offline  
post #175 of 179 (permalink) Old 2016-02-03, 04:24 PM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 188
Yeah, normally you stay on the line and watch your TV as it's activated.

Something went wrong.
elyk is offline  
post #176 of 179 (permalink) Old 2016-02-04, 02:32 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Belleville ON
Posts: 1,865
Cogeco is the same way: almost immediate access, was that way when I had them, and in most cases, the CSR actually asked you to stick around to ensure the add "took".

As others have said, Bell should be almost immediate also. Someone didn't hit "submit" on the order screen it appears.

Cameron

DAB listener 12/2003-11/2011 (DAB Off-Air since 11/2011)
HD radio Listener since 06/2010
CamDAB is offline  
post #177 of 179 (permalink) Old 2016-02-04, 04:08 PM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 62
Quote:
Yeah, normally you stay on the line and watch your TV as it's activated.

Something went wrong.
You're right. Called Bell and their documentation had the TMN/HBO/Crave update scheduled as the same time as the modem upgrade (on the weekend). She apologized for the misunderstanding and had us up & running within a minute....have to stay on top of these folks.
cabinboy is offline  
post #178 of 179 (permalink) Old 2016-04-03, 01:50 PM
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 62
Hello Rogers

Back again!

Had our modem upgraded a month or so ago. Took a week with 3 technicians stopping by to finally get it working and we were without TV/internet for 2 days.

Now yesterday everything shut down again. Technician showed up and played around for nearly 2 hours before determining the problem was at the central office...something to do with a secondary line. So far 2 days without TV/internet and they're telling us it could be another day

Everything was fine with Bell for a couple years until the 'upgrade'....strongly considering going back to Rogers. Can live without television....more of an inconvenience than anything BUT we depend on the internet for so many things.
cabinboy is offline  
post #179 of 179 (permalink) Old 2016-04-03, 05:56 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 161
after having numerous issues; pixelation, recordings not being completed, intermittent internet access, having pvr changed and finally had another tech visit,

didnt find anything but to my surprise find out that family members were unable to view their shows since tech disconnected all receivers to do the certification test and forgot to reconnect!

what an issue, yikes!
ainyul is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome