Bell announces new fibre to the home plans - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-02-04, 12:09 PM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
hugh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-02-04, 01:19 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Uxbridge, ON
Posts: 3,601
Well, that's interesting. Sounds like they're starting to clue in that FTTH is where they have to go.
travisc is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-02-04, 01:38 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Grimsby, Ont.
Posts: 3,234
It's good to see the fibre roll out begin, but I wonder how many years it will be before I have access to it!

-Mike

Sony XBR65X930D | Denon AVR-X1300W | BELL Fibe | Panasonic DMP-UB900 4K | XBOX One X
scrooloose is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-02-04, 01:45 PM Thread Starter
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
It's new subdivisions and MDU's. I doubt you'll see it in established neighbourhoods for a long long time.



hugh is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-02-04, 03:13 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 225
FTTH will be rolling out later this year in new subdivisions in Ontario. Now that FTTN has been completed in Toronto and Montreal Bell has fiber to every existing subdivision. The most expensive part is replacing the distribution copper with fiber. But if there is an aerial solution available (existing Bell and Hydro poles) in older neighborhoods then the cost to place fiber is significantly less. So Bell will be rolling out to existing areas with pole distribution (see the Quebec City program) sooner than later. Existing buried areas will be done later.

John

BEV 6131, 9242
DishPro LNB/Multiswitch
johnny_marin is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-02-04, 03:19 PM
U
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,491
I like the upload speeds... This is something that the cable guys won't be able to match I believe due to limitations of their technology. This being said, my neighborhood has buried cables so I suppose it will take a long while until I have access to it.
U is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 2010-02-05, 10:40 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto - FibeTV: VIP1232HD PVR, VIP1200, Sharp Aquos 37" 1080p (LC37D62U), Yamaha RX-V757 Receiver
Posts: 48
Great upload speeds - so why the slowdown with BES?

So - they can offer 7mbit upload speeds for this service, yet felt the need to reduce BES speed to 4.5mbit? GRR!

I am told that the FIBE service syncs at 8mbit upstream ... annoying!!

-- Phob
Phobia is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome