Bell new wires - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-10-27, 07:39 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 469
Bell new wires

Bell is currently installing new wires in my neighborough apparently for TV service.
What is that TV service?
Bob_Mtl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-10-27, 07:59 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Dandelion City
Posts: 7,131
Probably IPTV. Maybe you will be lucky and get DSL2 as well. If you are really, really lucky it will be fiber optic service. In any event, your TV choices will increase by one and your DSL speeds will likely go up.

At 20 I had a good mind. At 40 I had money. At 60 I've lost my mind and my money. Oh, to be 20 again. --Scary
ScaryBob is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-10-28, 11:19 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6
Yup, I think IPTV entails VSDL which should also bump up access speeds. I think the circuit is split so that 30Mb/s is allocated to support up to for IPTV terminals (aka tuners). The other side, also 30Mb/s is used for Internet service.

But this has and can change. It's still beta or pilot stage...

Also, I could be mostly wrong. That's why there is no cost to you for reading my post.
random.meme is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-10-28, 11:25 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Bell are no longer installing VDSL, in fact they are replacing VDSL installations with iPTV, throughout the GTA.

For information about iPTV, have a look at the Bell Entertainment website.
Pinza is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-10-28, 01:22 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 469
Thank for infos.

I am not located in GTA area but in central Montreal. I think the service will be available in my area early next year.
I was a cable customer but I canceled the service when I did find out that the HD service that they were selling me was of lesser quality than a simple antenna. I now have OTA gear.
Will this IPTV service gives as good image quality than OTA?
Will it be possible to use a HTPC to record TV or only the proprietary PVR will do?
Bob_Mtl is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 2009-10-28, 01:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
I realise you are in Montreal but I was just telling you waht is happening in the GTA. I cannot imagine it is anydifferent in Montreal, VDSL is very old technology, so I am sure they will be replacing those that currently have VDSL, which has no PVR or HD service, with iPTV, which is mindblowing in comparison.

PQ is fantastic, all receivers are HD, with the first one being the PVR, these recordings can be accessed from any of the receivers. It can programmed over an internet connection as well.
Pinza is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome