Netflix app coming to Optik TV - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 59 (permalink) Old 2015-02-08, 09:17 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 130
There has been a delay of the launch due to a bug.
macdzich is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 59 (permalink) Old 2015-02-11, 02:18 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 422
Telus announced the launch of this feature today. Per their Twitter, it's available today in Quebec and Calgary, with others to launch very soon.
Gilles is offline  
post #18 of 59 (permalink) Old 2015-02-11, 02:43 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,826
Launching Netflix on Optik TV

You can launch the Netflix app by:
  • Pressing the apps/interactive button on your remote control and selecting Netflix, or
  • Tuning to channel 422 and pressing OK to launch

Accessing Netflix

A Netflix account is required to access the app.
  • Existing Netflix subscribers: Simply launch the app and enter your Netflix credentials to begin.
  • New to Netflix: You may sign up for Netflix by visiting www.netflix.ca/telus or simply launch the app on Optik TV and sign up directly from your TV screen.

Exiting Netflix

To exit the Netflix app without signing out:
Press the “back” or “back/exit” button, navigate to "Exit Netflix" and press “OK”. This will return you to the channel you were previously watching.
To exit and sign out of Netflix:
When in the Netflix app and browsing through the Netflix library, press the “back” or “back/exit” button on your remote, then select the gear icon. Navigate to "sign out" and press “OK”.

Data consumption when using Netflix

Watching Netflix uses about 1 GB of data per hour for each stream of standard definition (SD) video, and up to 3 GB per hour for each stream of high definition (HD) video.

Adjusting the data usage settings within your Netflix account is the easiest way to control the amount of data used while watching Netflix. Data usage settings may only be changed from a computer, and will apply to all devices currently attached to your Netflix account. To adjust your data settings, please go to Netflix.ca.

For more information on Internet Usage and monthly allocations for your plan, please see Understanding your Internet usage.

Setting Parental Controls (maturity levels)

You can control which profiles have access to certain maturity levels of Netflix content. Parental control settings may only be changed from a computer, and will apply to all devices currently attached to your Netflix account.

To set parental controls, go to Netflix.ca.

Setting language preference

Setting your Netflix language preference for Optik TV can only be done on a computer, and on the Netflix website.

To change the language preference for Netflix, please go to Netflix.ca and do so there. Once you sign back into the Netflix app on Optik TV, the newly-selected language preference will appear.

Please note that the language preference for Netflix is independent of the language that has been selected for your digital box.

Subtitles and alternate audio tracks

To enable subtitles (or to select a different audio track) while watching Netflix, press the down arrow button on your Optik TV remote. Then select “audio/subtitles” and press “enter” when you have chosen the desired audio or subtitles.

Source: http://www.telus.com/en/ab/get-help/...app/support.do

Last edited by Dr.Dave; 2015-11-29 at 10:20 AM. Reason: Fixed formatting
Dr.Dave is offline  
 
post #19 of 59 (permalink) Old 2015-02-11, 04:50 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 106
The website does not make it clear. Will HD streaming require an Internet plan with faster speeds than Internet 15?
mdmenzel is offline  
post #20 of 59 (permalink) Old 2015-02-11, 05:07 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 422
It's exactly the same requirements as if you were watching on a PC or another TV device. Netflix recommends 5Mbps for their HD quality, so you should be fine on Internet 15.
Gilles is offline  
post #21 of 59 (permalink) Old 2015-02-14, 11:34 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 10
NETFLIX is showing on my guide now as Channel 422. It's also available under the TV apps section.

The interface is virtually indistinguishable from what I was seeing on my Roku device. Navigation seems a little slower though. Hopefully that will be improved with subsequent updates.

A huge thanks to Telus for adding this.

(I had no idea this was coming. Definitely a nice surprise to see it suddenly appear).
rkd2999 is offline  
post #22 of 59 (permalink) Old 2015-02-14, 04:10 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Airdrie, AB
Posts: 4,260
Is it hard set to Netflix Canada or does it rely on the DNS settings set in the router? We use Unlocator to get Neflix US on our bluray player.
MarcP is offline  
post #23 of 59 (permalink) Old 2015-02-14, 04:53 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 101
If it's coming through the box, you're probably stuck with Netflix Canada.
giantbrownguy is offline  
post #24 of 59 (permalink) Old 2015-02-15, 01:21 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Downtown Vancouver
Posts: 1,490
Nothing here. Looks like AB only now.

Optik PVR, Pioneer 1528-K, 58" Panasonic 3D TV, Xbox360, PS3, Panasonic 3D Bluray Player, Definitive Speakers, SVS Sub
stationg is offline  
post #25 of 59 (permalink) Old 2015-02-16, 04:47 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 422
As I said earlier, their Twitter said Quebec and Calgary for now, others very soon.
Gilles is offline  
post #26 of 59 (permalink) Old 2015-02-17, 07:53 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 106
It showed up in Edmonton today. With the STB app, can one set up combined billing (ie your NetFlix monthly charge shows up as a line-item on your telus bill)?
mdmenzel is offline  
post #27 of 59 (permalink) Old 2015-02-17, 09:20 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 4,199
Nope, all billing is handled by Netflix.
BGY11 is offline  
post #28 of 59 (permalink) Old 2015-02-20, 01:37 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 54
..........

Last edited by DP Ames; 2015-02-20 at 11:07 PM.
DP Ames is offline  
post #29 of 59 (permalink) Old 2015-02-20, 02:10 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,040
I found the latest (average) speeds and posted in the Netflix ISP thread:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show...09#post2431809

It appears most (non-DSL) ISPs are now between 3-3.5 mbps

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #30 of 59 (permalink) Old 2015-02-20, 10:56 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 68
Quote:
My question is whether Netflix is available to Optik TV users without Telus internet, since Telus stated in their press release that it's avaialble to ALL Optik TV customers.
You need to subscribe to TELUS internet to use Netflix on the Optik STB.

A TELUS Tech. trying to help when I can.
slimpack is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome