Telus TV 2011 New Channels Discussion - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 299 (permalink) Old 2010-12-31, 03:04 PM Thread Starter
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,148
Telus TV 2011 New Channels Discussion

New Channels always generate a lot of discussion so this thread is for discussing new channels in 2011.

You're welcome to speculate and discuss new channels coming to Telus in 2011 but PLEASE unless it's been confirmed by an official press release, be clear about what is speculation and what is fact.

A post saying "a CSR said it was coming" is NOT official, however, it does put it in the "highly" likely category.

If its posted on the CRTC site that its been approved by the CRTC but Telus has not said anything, I would consider that in the "not very likely at this time" category.

Replaces 2010: http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=131831

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)

Last edited by Dr.Dave; 2011-01-02 at 09:50 AM. Reason: Fixed typo
57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 299 (permalink) Old 2011-01-28, 04:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 24
More HD!

I want to get more HD channels, and I want em now! Fox News and Encore Avenue for starters. I think telus should able to offer more HD than shaw since shaw has to broadcast all the hd at once, dont they?
White Out is offline  
post #3 of 299 (permalink) Old 2011-02-01, 02:15 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Okotoks, AB
Posts: 130
CBC HD east feed

I can't understand why TELUS doesn't offer an East feed for CBC HD. I have 4 HD feeds for CTV, CityTV and Global, but only one for CBC. It makes no sense...
digao is offline  
 
post #4 of 299 (permalink) Old 2011-02-07, 03:07 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 42
Smile HGTV and WildHD

New Channels? Was browsing this morning.

680 HGTV

654 WildHD

Seems like there are a few additional French HD channels as well.

Cheers

Pain
pain is offline  
post #5 of 299 (permalink) Old 2011-02-07, 05:09 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 27
Pain, thx for the heads up
Finally get RDS-HD wooooooooo
sheldon23 is offline  
post #6 of 299 (permalink) Old 2011-02-07, 09:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kelowna
Posts: 15
Been wondering when Hgtv hd was coming, it looks great!
shoua is offline  
post #7 of 299 (permalink) Old 2011-02-07, 10:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8
OK I see we have some new HD channels. I can view them all except HGTV HD. I was wondering if I am the only one who can't see HGTV HD.It shows up in the guide but says I have to call Telus to order when the channel is selected. I can watch the SD HGTV channel. Right now I am on a free preview of all channels. Anyone else experience this?
ssmith7 is offline  
post #8 of 299 (permalink) Old 2011-02-07, 11:26 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 328
Same, this happened before when they added some channels to me. I had to call and get them to turn them on even though I was suppose to get them. Last time however the new channels (Oasis et al) were in a new HD pack and I had to pay for it (I declined), is HGTV HD part of the regular packs or a newer add-on package?
Hilman is offline  
post #9 of 299 (permalink) Old 2011-02-08, 02:11 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 598
14 new French channels in HD. HGTV in HD isn't working for me either but I don't have anything except basic cable.

Just did a count and Telus only have some 14 free slots between 600 (1st HD channel) and 697 (first radio channel) so some realignment is going to have to happen if more than 14 HD channels are added soon.
Cockroach is offline  
post #10 of 299 (permalink) Old 2011-02-08, 03:04 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 27
I wonder if those french hd channels will cost extra from the french package of channels or not...
and I too can't get HGTV in HD despite having the lifestyle package.
sheldon23 is offline  
post #11 of 299 (permalink) Old 2011-02-08, 01:29 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 458
nice to see they added 14 more French channels..more channels to uncheck from my guide

i am same boat as others with HGTV. I have the lifestyle package with the SD HGTV. anyone know if the HD HGtv is extra? i would have thought it was included. Just wondering if its just a case of having to call in? Dont want to have to go thru that whole phone CSR thing just to find out i cant get it.
Blintok is offline  
post #12 of 299 (permalink) Old 2011-02-08, 02:00 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Fraser Valley, BC
Posts: 491
HGTV wasn't active in my programming guide as well. I called Telus and they added the HD feed for lifestyle.

Thanks for the heads up on the new channels guys
FrostyButters is offline  
post #13 of 299 (permalink) Old 2011-02-11, 01:06 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 131
HGTV 680

Why is there different programming on the SD version (142) of HGTV? I thought it would broadcast the same programming. This is first time i am seeing different programming between the SD and HD channels.
aj55 is offline  
post #14 of 299 (permalink) Old 2011-02-11, 03:47 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by aj55 View Post
Why is there different programming on the SD version (142) of HGTV? I thought it would broadcast the same programming. This is first time i am seeing different programming between the SD and HD channels.
Pretty sure History Television has different programming as well between SD and HD. Probably to take advantage of different content available in HD. Cheers!
joudbren is offline  
post #15 of 299 (permalink) Old 2011-02-14, 06:38 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 9
I'm getting hooked up later this week with YourPickHD, and want HD HGTV. Which pack will I need to get the HD HGTV - Lifestyle, or Lifestyle Extra?
chmilz is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome