VHF / UHF integrated antenna anyone? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 2020-01-07, 05:52 PM Thread Starter
Rookie

VHF / UHF integrated antenna anyone?

I've been doing DIY antennas for about 4 yrs now and still in pursuit of a really good antenna that integrates both VHF and UHF capability and remains relatively small and not to complicated to build. The hoverman design doesn't quite have the gain I'm looking for and I just haven't found a way to integrate VHF into a butterfly design. Has anybody had any success or am I going to be stuck with two antennas??
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 2020-01-07, 07:03 PM
DHC Supporter

Quote:
Originally Posted by paxplant View Post
I've been doing DIY antennas for about 4 yrs now and still in pursuit of a really good antenna that integrates both VHF and UHF capability and remains relatively small and not to complicated to build.
Hello, paxplant; welcome to the forum.
Quote:
The hoverman design doesn't quite have the gain I'm looking for and I just haven't found a way to integrate VHF into a butterfly design.
Can I assume you mean it doesn't have enough VHF gain?

What does your butterfly design look like? Where is it located, outside or in the attic?
Quote:
Has anybody had any success or am I going to be stuck with two antennas??
There are a few different ways to combine a VHF antenna with a UHF antenna. The best way for you depends upon the signals at your location.
1. Add NARODS to a Gray-Hoverman
2. Use a UVSJ (UHF-VHF Separator-Joiner) as in the Antennas Direct C2V