Rookie Builder SBGH Element Questions - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

1Likes
  • 1 Post By majortom

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 2018-08-01, 10:43 AM Thread Starter
Rookie

Rookie Builder SBGH Element Questions

Gents, just registered and have to say, this is one impressive web site. The scope of the forums and subjects is enough to keep a guy busy for a good while!

Okay, to hand. I have built one antenna before. A bow tie model using copper wire straightened out for the elements and phase wires. Mounted to a 1" square tube on plastic insulators. Set in my mum's living room and it works pretty well. I have also wanted to try the GH model since it looks to be a bit less tedious to build. I am an electrician by trade so bending things to precise angles and measurements comes easy to me. The GH looks to be a good design for my area. About 35-40 miles from towers to my direct east and west. Mostly a straight LOS to each city. Strong broadcast towers. All channels run mid to upper range UHF save for one PBS at channel 18, and two VHF hi stations at 11 and 13.

Okay, the question(s). I have looked at this design for awhile and understand it was originally for the larger spectrum of 14-83. I also understand the FCC reduced the spectrum to channels 14-51 starting in 2009 which would necessitate a bit of a change in design. I have looked at the links to designs like GH0, GH6, GH10, etc. One thing I am not completely sure of is the element sizing. The original had I believe 8 equal length bends of about 7"/180mm. I have also seen some that keep the 7" bends but shortened the top and bottom horizontal elements to around 5"/127mm in an effort get the antenna more in line with the new frequency range.