The DPP44 switch - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 381 (permalink) Old 2008-01-22, 12:35 PM Thread Starter
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
The DPP44 switch

A DPP44 switch will also give you four outputs however requires the lnb(s) to be DPP twin, DP singles, DP duals, DP twin or a DP quad. Just like the DP34 it only requires two lines into the switch to get 82 and 91.

This switch just like the DPP twin allows you to use a DPP separator(s) for dual tuner receivers. Therefore it is possible to have 4 receivers regardless if they are dual tuner. Another advantage of DPP technology is that legacy receivers work as long as you have one DP or DPP compliant receiver hooked up.

This receiver requires a power adaptor to be hooked up on port one. Unfortunatly the DPP44 is the most expensive switch and are very rare to find in Canada for sale. It will cost you around $100 or more after shipping, duty etc.

This switch has four inputs from four different orbital locations if that matters to you.

Last edited by hugh; 2008-01-23 at 10:09 AM.
Q is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 381 (permalink) Old 2008-01-22, 06:04 PM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
Administrators Note:
I want to thank Q for all his work setting these threads. All of the work below was done by him. I merely helped him post some of this information (hence why it appears to be posted by me). Please direct any thanks or questions to him - Hugh






Last edited by hugh; 2008-01-23 at 10:08 AM.
hugh is offline  
post #3 of 381 (permalink) Old 2008-01-23, 10:08 AM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716




hugh is offline  
 
post #4 of 381 (permalink) Old 2008-04-30, 03:47 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ontario
Posts: 62
Well I run this switch and its great. The really nice thing, it works with the older legacy equipment.
maddawg is offline  
post #5 of 381 (permalink) Old 2008-04-30, 03:56 PM Thread Starter
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
As noted in my original post.

Quote:
Another advantage of DPP technology is that legacy receivers work as long as you have one DP or DPP compliant receiver hooked up.
Q is offline  
post #6 of 381 (permalink) Old 2008-06-20, 01:56 PM
rdx
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St-Timothée
Posts: 67
can i use single tuner receiver like Bev 2700 or 4100 with DPP 44 ???
rdx is offline  
post #7 of 381 (permalink) Old 2008-06-20, 02:03 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,302
Yes you can.
barter is offline  
post #8 of 381 (permalink) Old 2008-07-07, 06:41 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Dual LNB

Hi All,

I'm sure this has been asked a million times but can you use a dish 500 with dual LNBF's (2 feeds of each sat) and plug all four into a DPP44? Reason I want to do this is to piggy back on the existing cabling in my new home and only one feed to each room.

Regs,

Chad J.
U2FanHFX is offline  
post #9 of 381 (permalink) Old 2008-07-07, 11:29 PM Thread Starter
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
You only need one line per satellite. If you have 4 wires........just plug in the two correct ones.
Q is offline  
post #10 of 381 (permalink) Old 2008-07-20, 08:12 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 7
8 feeds?

Is it possible to install two DPP44 switches to get 8 feeds?
Videoquest007 is offline  
post #11 of 381 (permalink) Old 2008-07-20, 11:41 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Grimsby, Ont.
Posts: 3,236
Yes, you can cascade a second DPP44 switch to the first, giving you another four ports.

-Mike

Sony XBR65X930D | Denon AVR-X1300W | BELL Fibe | Panasonic DMP-UB900 4K | XBOX One X
scrooloose is offline  
post #12 of 381 (permalink) Old 2008-07-31, 08:32 AM
rdx
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St-Timothée
Posts: 67
It is possible the DPP44 swich can decrease quality of picture.

Recentely i buy a DPP twin lnb and DPP44 switch

i'm not sure but i think the picture quality of HD as decreased after i change my sw44for DPP44
rdx is offline  
post #13 of 381 (permalink) Old 2008-07-31, 08:56 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Montreal QC
Posts: 480
The picture quality does not change with a DPP44 switch. The signal is digital. Either you get what you're suppose to get or you just don't get a signal. There's no degradation possible.
just_syl is offline  
post #14 of 381 (permalink) Old 2008-08-07, 06:27 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q View Post
You only need one line per satellite. If you have 4 wires........just plug in the two correct ones.
I tried this and it does not work, but i have dish network LNBs and not dish pro LNBs will I have to get the pros for the DPP 44 to work? probably a dumb question but I dont know
BIGD3167 is offline  
post #15 of 381 (permalink) Old 2008-08-07, 07:46 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGD3167 View Post
I tried this and it does not work, but i have dish network LNBs and not dish pro LNBs will I have to get the pros for the DPP 44 to work? probably a dumb question but I dont know
You need either Dish Pro or Dish Pro Plus LNBs for the DPP44 switch.
JB47 is offline  
Reply

Tags
dpp , dpp44 , separator

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome