The DPP44 switch - Page 7 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #91 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-04-07, 10:18 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,302
You can also use 2 dual DP lnbs (one line from each) with the dpp34, or a regular DP twin lnb, it don't necessary have to be a dpp twin. Either will work.
Maybe a bit cheaper.

When a DPP twin is attached to a dpp34 it is seen and functions as a dp twin
barter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-04-07, 01:29 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by barter View Post
You can also use 2 dual DP lnbs (one line from each) with the dpp34, or a regular DP twin lnb, it don't necessary have to be a dpp twin. Either will work.
Maybe a bit cheaper.

When a DPP twin is attached to a dpp34 it is seen and functions as a dp twin
Can't use a separator with a DPP34, which is why I have two used ones collecting dust

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinza View Post
Then ALL outputs of the DPP44 have both birds 91 & 82.
All outputs of the DPP44 have both birds, but the 3100 will only play programming from the 91 bird (and, I suppose, SD programming from 82, although I think there's only one or two SD channels on 82).
taxtwit is offline  
post #93 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-04-07, 03:44 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 102
Anyone know where I could purchase a DPP44 switch in the Hamilton Ontario area?

I went to a sat store but they do not carry that switch....eBay a better bet?

Also....The DPP Dual LNBF is only a single head with two outputs, and that picks up both 91/82 sats?

Thanks again guys for all your help
Glenn
Glenn3 is offline  
 
post #94 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-04-07, 05:53 PM
QCK
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,161
You will get your best price for DP/DPP equipment off of ebay.

The DP Dual LNBF single LNBF is for one satellite only. Buy two of them to replace the two Legacy LNBFs Bell gives you. Then you just send one line from each of the DP LNBs to the DPP44 switch The second port on each of the LNBs is not needed, consider it a spare. The rest of the cabling has already be covered, and yes the DP LNBs work fine with the DPP44 switch.
QCK is offline  
post #95 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-04-07, 08:13 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 102
Thanks

Ok.....all this great info, I know what iam doing now!

My purchase will be as follows.....for my 3-3100's and 1-9242 recievers

20" dish
2- dual DPP LNBF
1- DPP44 switch
1- seperator

Plus my cables.

Did I miss anything?

Thanks
Glenn
Glenn3 is offline  
post #96 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-04-07, 08:31 PM
QCK
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,161
Looks good to me except that on Ebay they will sell DPP44 switches without the power inserter, I recommend that you buy one that includes the power inserter.
QCK is offline  
post #97 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-04-07, 08:42 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 102
Thank-you

I would rather not purchase from eBay, but if I have no choice...I will

[deleted]

Thank-you
Glenn

Last edited by dosborne; 2009-04-08 at 08:12 AM. Reason: Please read the forum rules about buying and selling
Glenn3 is offline  
post #98 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-04-08, 06:39 PM Thread Starter
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
There is NO such thing as a DPP dual or DPP34. These only come as DP dual and a DP34.

There is however a DPP33 and DPP44

One ebay person I dealt with lives or lived in hamilton. Pm me if still looking and I can send you his email.
Q is offline  
post #99 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-04-08, 08:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
You are correct "Q".

Glenn, every reference I have made to a DPP Dual LNBF, was a typo, I meant a DPP Twin LNBF.

The DPP Twin LNBF, has 2 outputs and 1 input (not used at this time). It will work EXACTLY as I suggested, I just called it a Dual when it is really a Twin....

Hope that makes sense.
Pinza is offline  
post #100 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-04-08, 10:07 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 102
gotcha now Pinza....I really was confused there lol

thanks
Glenn3 is offline  
post #101 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-04-08, 10:12 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
You and me both.....lol

I think this is how it works;

A Single LNBF - Has 1 Output Port
A Dual LNBF - Has 2 Output Ports
A Twin LNBF - Has 2 Output Ports and is double the width, fitting into BOTH openings in the "Y" Yolk.
A Quad LNBF - Has 4 Output Ports and is double the width, fitting into BOTH openings in the "Y" Yolk.


Is this correct "Q".?
Pinza is offline  
post #102 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-04-09, 08:37 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Can't use a separator with a DPP34, which is why I have two used ones collecting dust
Yes that was a typo on my part, there is no dishpro plus 34 only a dishproplus 44. any dish pro lnbs will work with it.
barter is offline  
post #103 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-04-23, 01:09 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
After reading up on this thread, and others, and looking at all the ways split the incoming lines, I think I have a handle on this, but would like some advise to double check before I buy the equipment.

my problem is that i only have 2 lines coming into my house,
do I go with to the dpp twin lnbf, one cable goes to an fta, and one cable goes to a separator and then to the bev dual tuner 9200.
or
go with 2 single dp lnbf's, one line each into a dpp44 switch, then one output to a separator for the 9200, and one output into the fta, this leaves a couple of spares for future.
correct me if im wrong, but i think both will work.

Do I need a dp - legacy adaptor? or is the 9200 considered dp compatible?
and will the dp or dpp lbnf's work with fta's?
thanks
lizzy3324 is offline  
post #104 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-04-23, 08:31 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
The 9200 is DP compatible.
Pinza is offline  
post #105 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-04-24, 04:47 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 102
Power inserted

Hi guys

Will it matter if the cable from the power inserter to the switch is say 20' feet long? I want to install the DPP44 in the basement but power it from the main floor.

Also I read my 9242 should be plugged into the power inserter instead of the switch.....dose this port put out more power... Is that why?

Thanks guys
Glenn
Glenn3 is offline  
Reply

Tags
dpp , dpp44 , separator

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome