The DPP44 switch - Page 6 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #76 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-02-14, 10:09 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
PRoblem with one feed

Have the DPP twin and DPP44 set-up (swapping out dual LNB's and SW44) and have 3 of the 4 receivers - the 9292 with seperator even working with both tuners :-) but am having the line with the power injector (output 1) receiving only 1 sat (91). It is a 3100.

Check Switch (doing 1 of 1 test) finds:
Dish Input 1
Sat 91
Transp ALL
Device FEED
..with a warning only 1 satellite was found.

All others (including another 3100) all work fne and check switch finds both satellites. Replaced the line between the injector and the DPP44 with the line from the injector the originial that had no problems previous.

Any ideas as to what to look at or suggestion?
Openspace is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #77 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-02-15, 12:03 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Forget my question - figured it out. Replaced two screw on connections with a few compression fittings at the grounding block, and everthing is now fine. Guess the DPP LNB and DPP44 are more sensistive to loss than the old SW44 with legacy LNB's.
Openspace is offline  
post #78 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-03-20, 11:13 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
DPP44 and Bell 9242

I've got a working system with 2 LNBFs (82/91) with dual RG6 for both. These feed to an SW44. From the SW44 I have a single RG6 each to 2 x 3100s and a 9242. The 9242 works OK as long as the family doesn't spark up a conflicting PVR schedule.

My question.

Can I swap out the SW44 with a DPP44 and a separator to serve my 9242?

Thanks guys!
northsatuser is offline  
 
post #79 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-03-21, 03:36 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,302
You will need to get dishpro lnbs, (2) duals with one line from each going to the dpp44 or a dp/dpp twin lnb with one line from each out put going to the dpp44.
barter is offline  
post #80 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-03-22, 05:46 PM Thread Starter
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
northsatuser,

Please read the very first post for your options with the DPP44 switch.

Q
Q is offline  
post #81 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-04-05, 10:58 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 102
moving

Couple of questions for you guys.



Can I run 3-3100's and 1-9242 on 1 dish? If so can someone point me to the correct diagram please...I have been looking through all the diagrams and Iam a little confused.

Should I be buying a legacy LNB or going with the sw44 switch....I would like to use whatever is easier to install. Cost is no biggie just want the ease of the install.

Thanks
Glenn
Glenn3 is offline  
post #82 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-04-05, 02:29 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
If cost is not an issue I would use a DPP Dual LNBF feeding a DPP44.

This will mean 2 lines from Dish to the Switch and then 1 line to each receiver. You would need a DPP Seperator behind the 9242 to split the feed for the 2 Tuners.

You can run many dozens of receivers from a single Dish, with the correct switch's.

Caveat: DPP equipment is NOT officially supported by bell TV.
Pinza is offline  
post #83 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-04-05, 04:44 PM
QCK
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,161
I agree 100% with Pinza. I ran this setup on my 5900, 6141, and 9242. It is a little more money but a far cleaner cabling setup for what you have and any future additions.
QCK is offline  
post #84 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-04-05, 08:20 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 102
thanks guys
Glenn3 is offline  
post #85 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-04-06, 04:26 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Minot, North Dakota
Posts: 1,598
Im wanting to take down my 2 dish & SW44 set up and go with one dish 500 with a DPP quad LNB. If im reading correctly the DPP quad lnb should replace the sw44. Now if I could only find out where to get the equipment from other than e-bay.
Blackloz is offline  
post #86 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-04-06, 08:27 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
I do not believe a DPP Quad exists.

If you are running 2 x Dual Tuner Receivers you can use a DPP Twin, LNBF and 2 x seperators.
Pinza is offline  
post #87 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-04-06, 07:05 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinza View Post
If cost is not an issue I would use a DPP Dual LNBF feeding a DPP44.

This will mean 2 lines from Dish to the Switch and then 1 line to each receiver. You would need a DPP Seperator behind the 9242 to split the feed for the 2 Tuners.

You can run many dozens of receivers from a single Dish, with the correct switch's.

Caveat: DPP equipment is NOT officially supported by bell TV.
Pinza

So the DDP DUAL LNBF would have to lines comming from it...1 for the 91 sat and 1 for the 82 (hd) sat.

Then the 2 lines would run to the DPP44 switch. this switch has 4 outputs.

I would run 3 of the lines from the DPP44 switch to 3-3100 recievers witch will give me only 91 sat to these recievers? right?

The 4th line comming from the DPP44 switch would then need a seperator before I connect it to the 9242 receiver...thus giving me 91 and 82 sat..for my dual tuner.

lol is this correct...Iam learning

Glenn
Glenn3 is offline  
post #88 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-04-06, 07:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Not quite....lol

The LNBF will indeed have 2 lines from it and as they are connected to a DPP44 they would each carry just 1 bird. If a line is used to feed a receiver (Not via a Switch) it will have both birds on it.

Then ALL outputs of the DPP44 have both birds 91 & 82.
Pinza is offline  
post #89 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-04-06, 08:21 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 102
Pinza

The switch has four outputs so I will run 3-3100's and the run another line from the switch to a seperator.....that will give me the dual turner for my 9242..is that right now LOL ?

Just want be sure I know what Iam doing before I purchase all this stuff...as you can tell iam a little confused, but think iam on the right track now LOL.
Glenn3 is offline  
post #90 of 381 (permalink) Old 2009-04-06, 10:55 PM
QCK
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenn3 View Post
Pinza

The switch has four outputs so I will run 3-3100's and the run another line from the switch to a seperator.....that will give me the dual turner for my 9242..is that right now LOL ?
That is correct, you will need one seperator for the 9242. The seperator will then give you the split you need for the two tuners at the 9242.

Also, remember that the DPP44 switch can be cascaded so if you ever need more feeds at a later time you can just add another one. Just to keep in mind before you decide where you mount your first DPP44 switch.
QCK is offline  
Reply

Tags
dpp , dpp44 , separator

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome