SW44 switch discussion - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 5Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-09-18, 10:28 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q View Post
It is probably a connector or the cable. When you say the cable is good how have you come to that determination and did you test it on output #1?

One of the most common reasons is the center pin is too short and doesn't engage the switch.
Hey thanks for the Assistance the Centre Pin was too short I went and got one specially cut today put in on and ran a check switch test and it read the SW44 Switch right away! Thanks again for everyones help!
kanukzfan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-09-19, 12:37 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 25
This is a very helpful thread!

Here's what I want to do but I haven't been able to find an example for it yet.

I want to connect 2 dual LNBs (91 and 82), and combine them with a digital cable feed to feed 3 receivers in the house. I want to avoid running a 2nd coax to the receivers since all my connctions are in the basement. I know I can run one coax combining sat and cable with a couple of diplexers, but I'm throwing anther LNB into the mix and not sure if it can be done. One coax carrying 91, 82 and cable?


Here's what I think I need....

-two SW34 - giving me four 91 and four 82 outputs
-SW21s to combine 1 output from each sw34
-diplexer to split the sat and cable signals. <--this is where I get stuck. Where does the diplexer go?

Every sketch I make I seem to think I need to run another coax line for the cable.
cordoba002 is offline  
post #63 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-09-19, 07:14 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Couldn't you just Diplex in before the SW44 on any cable, then pull out the Cable feed via a Diplexer at any of the receivers.? Never tried this but I think it makes sense.
Pinza is offline  
 
post #64 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-09-19, 09:15 AM Thread Starter
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
cordoba002,

As suggested above I would use a SW44 switch if you are using more than 2 satellite receivers.

Link from a knowledgeable member about OTA passthrough being no problem through the SW44 switch.
Q is offline  
post #65 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-09-19, 01:43 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 25
Thanks guys. Is this what you mean? I drew it up.

cordoba002 is offline  
post #66 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-09-24, 02:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Multi Switch and Modulated Channel

I'm new to the satellite thing but some what familiar with A/V distribution but with regular cable. I have a bell dish running to a SW44 to four receivers. What I'm wondering is can I swap the switch to something that I can "inject" a modulated signal in. Such as a Leviton 5x8 Multi-Switch
pennertrator322 is offline  
post #67 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-09-24, 04:08 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Why not use the drawing above and Diplex in the modulated signals.?

I do not believe there is a 5 x 8 switch that works with Bell TV.
Pinza is offline  
post #68 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-09-27, 03:16 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 980
sw44 supplied with 9242

So just moved into my house.. .. and I took the time to make a super of a install job with my dish.. maybe ill post couple photos.. so the point is.. the supplied sw44 with the dish.. its the first time i use it as before i was using a DP Quad LNB,, so I decided to go with 2 dual lnbs,, run 4 coax into the basement and terminate them on the SW44. Problem is when I hooked the 4 lines and ran 2 to the 9242.. only Tuner 1 would work.. Tuner 2 was dead.. I flipped the connections on the sw44,, then it was tuner 2 that worked,, 1 was dead. I tried pluggin the 9242 on the port 3,4 insteas of 1,2 and now both dead. I installed the power insterter and it fixed my issues. MY question is,, well, i guess its not a queston anymore as i found the solution,, but i thought that newer receivers suchs as 3100, 4100, 5x00, 6xxx, 9xxx supplied the power to the switch?

Samsung UN65MU8000|Elite VSX-43|PolkAudio RC80i|Velodyne VDR-12
Samsung UN55KU6290
LG 55LE5500
merve04 is offline  
post #69 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-09-27, 04:22 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
No, there is NO receiver that supplies power to an SW44 or SW64 for that matter, that is why these switch's all ship with a Power Supply and a Power Inserter.

Dish Pro is a totally different kettle of Fish.
Pinza is offline  
post #70 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-09-27, 12:03 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 980
Ic.. so because of DP Quad was DP, the internal switch in the lnb worked just fine. Bassically if I went on ebay and picked up a DP or DPP 44.. would it be the same isuse?

Samsung UN65MU8000|Elite VSX-43|PolkAudio RC80i|Velodyne VDR-12
Samsung UN55KU6290
LG 55LE5500
merve04 is offline  
post #71 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-09-27, 12:09 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
DP & DPP LNBF's get power from the receivers if connected directly without switch's.

I believe that a DP34 also gets it's power from the receivers.

DPP44's also require a power inserter.
Pinza is offline  
post #72 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-09-27, 01:31 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
It is too bad the bell only supplies sw44 switch made by echostar I wish it used the dishpro plus sw44 model would be awesome and make installations a lot less complicated when using more than 4 recievers. The way the installers install them is mind boggling and time consuming but it does work the way they do it. With the upgraded dishpro equipment would make their jobs much easier. Maybe echostar does not want to sell or share its stuff?
CharbHD is offline  
post #73 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-09-27, 04:34 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Think about it logically;

Dish Pro LNBF's, would cost way more.
Dish Pro Plus LNBF's, would cost way more.
Dish Pro switch's, would cost way more.
Dish Pro Plus Switch's, would cost way more.
Dish Pro Plus Seperators would be required, therefore extra costs.
Obtaining a licence to use DP & DPP, would incur extra costs.

Who picks up the extra costs involved. Bell TV.


Whereas with Legacy Equipment;

LNBF's cost pennies.
SW21's are cheap.
SW44's are cheap. (Lots are refurbs).
Extra Cable is required.
Extra Connectors are required.

Who save money, Bell TV.

It is the Installer or Installation Company that has to pay for the extra Cable and Connectors.

It is Win Win for Bell TV, it costs them less and the fact it costs the Installers more is not their problem, they get a fixed price per job anyway.

Most Installers would love to see Dish Pro (Plus) but I think if it happens it will be a long way away. They talked about implementing DP/DPP 4 years ago, the Techs are still waiting.

If they ever bring in DP/DPP, you can be almost gauranteed that the rates to the installers will drop, again.
Pinza is offline  
post #74 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-09-28, 12:29 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 980
well if Nimiq 5 @ 72 comes online in a couple years.. they will need to consider it.. unless theres a way to do it legacy?? would it be using a SW21 to combine the signal from 72 with 82\91 comming out of the SW44??

If it is that.. I'll be picking up a DPP34 on ebay.. no way ill have that much crap installed on the backboard to feed some receivers..

Samsung UN65MU8000|Elite VSX-43|PolkAudio RC80i|Velodyne VDR-12
Samsung UN55KU6290
LG 55LE5500
merve04 is offline  
post #75 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-09-28, 12:34 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 980
Quote:
Originally Posted by cordoba002 View Post
Thanks guys. Is this what you mean? I drew it up.

you should put the diplexer after output 1 on the sw44,, not before the input of the dish.

Samsung UN65MU8000|Elite VSX-43|PolkAudio RC80i|Velodyne VDR-12
Samsung UN55KU6290
LG 55LE5500
merve04 is offline  
Reply

Tags
belltv , multiswitch , newbie , sw44

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome