SW44 switch discussion - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 5Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-02-22, 05:34 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
sw44 with one LNB

Hello all, I bought a sw44 powered switch for my Bell system with two receivers.
It has one LNB (91) with two lines coming off it.Each line goes directly to a receiver. I wanted to add a third receiver so I bought an sw44 switch.My question is about the sw44 , is it the right switch for a single LNB with two lines coming off it.
Or is there a specific way to hook up this application.
Thank You for your help

Gary
panel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-02-22, 09:09 PM Thread Starter
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
Sw44 installations here

You need 2 lines from 2 satellites for it to work.


edited Feb25/08

**It looks like you actually can use the SW44 switch with only one satellite with 2 lines to output 4 lines.**
For anyone looking to futureproof but with no need of 82 programming at present this may be important.

Last edited by Q; 2008-02-25 at 02:13 PM. Reason: Incorrectly stated SW44 could not run from one sat
Q is offline  
post #18 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-03-03, 11:10 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Sw44 Power inserter question!!!

Need help finding what type of adapter do I need to power the inserter, need to know what voltage and polarity configuration etc it is, any help would be greatly appreciated as I cant find any info on the net, bought the switch on craigslist but didn't realize u need power adapter!
reynal is offline  
 
post #19 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-03-04, 12:35 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 1
Sw44 Power inserter question!!!

The label on my Bell provided transformer for the SW44 power inserter says it is a Class 2 power supply manufactured by Ault

input 120 VAC 60 HZ 31W
output 24 VDC 1000 mA
the label indicates the outer shell of the plug to the inserter is negative and the center pin is positive
djnyhof is offline  
post #20 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-03-09, 12:11 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ottawa (East)
Posts: 135
I know this maybe a little late, but, you don’t need a SW44. (Unless you want to add a second LNB some day). You need a SW24 (or SW34). This will allow you to drive upto 4 receivers with your current 2 inputs from the LNB. They are cheap, and do not need an external power supply. Look on eBay.
impeyr is offline  
post #21 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-03-26, 02:23 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 5
On the picture on one of the earlier posts, it shows 2 specific outputs on the SW44 going to the dual tuner. Does it have to be set this way, or can you pick any 2 outputs to go to the dual tuner? I have 1 HD PVR, 1 HD receiver, and 1 SD receiver. Thanks.
slik_1967 is offline  
post #22 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-03-26, 02:30 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: West Vancouver
Posts: 376
Any pair of SW44 outputs can be used to feed a dual-tuner receiver.
Stan Dev is offline  
post #23 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-03-26, 03:12 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON - Sharp Aquos 52" LCD - Bell 9200, 4x5900, 3x3100, E50 DVD-R, Harmony 880, Garmin C550
Posts: 2,814
The only important item is to ensure the power inserter is connected to the proper port for the switch (usually port #1, but some models use a different port). Other than that, an output is an output and it makes no difference what type or model IRD you have connected.
dosborne is offline  
post #24 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-03-26, 04:57 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 46
Last week I had a new SW44 not work properly with my 9242, it was always acting up and showing switch errors, so while in warranty an installer came and he stated:

91 MUST go to 1a and 1b.
82 MUST go to 2a and 2b.

and NOT:

82 to 1a and 1b
91 to 2a and 2b

Is this true? is it just for some receivers like my 9242?

The instructions I have do not specify this at all. The icon on the label at least gives the impression to not put 91 in 1a and 82 in 1b etc.


Also I'm tired of the CHECKSWITCH error showing when the satellite isn't seen due to wet snow on the dish. Someone would think that the switch is the problem before finally clearing the snow on the dish.

Last edited by kingston; 2008-03-26 at 11:08 PM.
kingston is offline  
post #25 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-03-27, 07:26 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON - Sharp Aquos 52" LCD - Bell 9200, 4x5900, 3x3100, E50 DVD-R, Harmony 880, Garmin C550
Posts: 2,814
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingston View Post
Is this true? is it just for some receivers like my 9242?
As long as both even and odd from one sat feed into the "1" and odd and even from the other sat feed into "2" and the power inserter is on the correct port then that is all you need. It does not HAVE to be 91 on 1 and 82 on 2 but there is no reason it can't be.

If for some reason yours works better that way, then go with it.
dosborne is offline  
post #26 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-03-27, 09:23 AM Thread Starter
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
I agree with dosborne. Usually check switch errors are in order: a connector, the line, the lnb, the switch, the receiver.
Q is offline  
post #27 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-03-31, 10:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Question How to: SW44 with 9242+4100 without HD subscription

A moderator previously said on Feb 22 2008:

citation/
**It looks like you actually can use the SW44 switch with only one satellite with 2 lines to output 4 lines.**
For anyone looking to futureproof but with no need of 82 programming at present this may be important.
/citation

Can someone give more details on this kind of setup. I have a standard single dual output LNBF dish and would like to feed my 9242 and 4100 receivers. Is it just basically sending the 2 outputs from the single LNBF into the SW44 on inputs 1A+1B. Than connect the 9242 via the SW44 output #1+#2 and the 4100 on output #3? Is that all? Or must I use splitters to have the 2 outputs of the LNBF feed the 4 inputs of the SW44?
Will the dual tuner function work in this setup? I really don’t want to install 2 LNBF for having an extra Sat82 signal I will not use and also have 4 wires come out of the dish feeding the switch.

Right now I have both receivers directly connected to an output of the dish. However, because of this, the 9242 does not have a cable connected on Sat2 and I presume this is why the 2nd tuner does not work. All I want is to have both receivers working on Sat91 and use the dual tuner function of the 9242.
pvr5100 is offline  
post #28 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-03-31, 11:05 PM Thread Starter
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
pvr5100 ,

yes thats it. 2 lines into the SW44 switch and then you will have 4 outputs. It will work the same as a SW24/34 switch.
Q is offline  
post #29 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-04-02, 01:48 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Thumbs up Thanks Q

Thanks Q, after searching and searching, you confirmed what i needed to know. You saved me from buying at least 100 feet of cabling plus the hassle of changing the dish from a dual LNBF to 2 dual LNBF I now can use my 9242 with dual tuner function without problems.
When the time comes, THEN I will add the 2 other cables and the extra LNBF to get the HD programming. Thank you so much Q.
pvr5100 is offline  
post #30 of 982 (permalink) Old 2008-04-11, 08:02 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 980
Couldnt panel just get 2 Powerpass splitters and hook up his 2 outputs from the lnb and feed four lines to the sw44?? Doesnt quite sound right to me.. but hey you never know what might work.

Samsung UN65MU8000|Elite VSX-43|PolkAudio RC80i|Velodyne VDR-12
Samsung UN55KU6290
LG 55LE5500
merve04 is offline  
Reply

Tags
belltv , multiswitch , newbie , sw44

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome