Installation Questions - See Links in Post 1. - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 81Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 2460 (permalink) Old 2006-12-18, 03:41 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,302
Read 9200 installion 101 in the 9200/6100 thread. A dp seprator only works with a dp plus lnb and a dual tuner receiver.
barter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 2460 (permalink) Old 2006-12-21, 05:35 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 33
Just to followup to my post for future reference for other users.

I have an 18" dish. I get 95-100% on 91.

I setup a bracket to attach a 2nd LNB and I am getting 50% signal on 82.
Riiioun is offline  
post #18 of 2460 (permalink) Old 2006-12-24, 11:31 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Welland, ON
Posts: 271
Install Question

I currently have a 9200. This is hooked up to my HDTV in the basement via HDMI and then via a coax to the upstairs tv.

I am looking at replacing the upstairs tv with an HDTV. I am planning on purchasing a 6100 for basic HD viewing but would also like to keep the access to the 9200. (my wife likes to watch her recorded shows on the other tv)

Sounds simple enough but I would like to avoid running another cable. I already have a third satellite feed to the tv downstairs that I don't need. Is there a way to combine the signal from the dish (sw44) and the output from the 9200? Once upstairs seperate I would then seperate the output from the 9200 into the tv and the one from the sat dish to the 6100?

Does this make sense? Is this possible? I know this would be very easy with cable tv just not sure how this would work with a dish.

Basically can the output from the 9200 (standard analogue signal), and a signal from a dish run over the same cable?

Thanks in advance...
HydrogenCyanide is offline  
 
post #19 of 2460 (permalink) Old 2006-12-26, 05:33 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ontario
Posts: 1,980
yes, there are combiners and separators for cable and satelite. Best buy or maybe even home depot or canadian tire.

Samsung TV, Pio-Elite AVR, OppoBD, Wharfedale Speakers, Kicker/Crown Subs, DB-4e OTA:)
Tom.F.1 is offline  
post #20 of 2460 (permalink) Old 2006-12-26, 09:03 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Welland, ON
Posts: 271
Sorry to be a pain but are they acutally called Satellite/Cable combiner's.

I just want to ensure that I get the right thing. To regular splitters work for this?

Yamaha 5660, Samsung 50" DLP, Paradigm Monitor Series, Bev 6000, Dishnet 501 PVR
HydrogenCyanide is offline  
post #21 of 2460 (permalink) Old 2006-12-27, 06:19 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
installation help needed!!!

sorry, mistake

Last edited by johnfastiroc; 2006-12-27 at 06:47 PM.
johnfastiroc is offline  
post #22 of 2460 (permalink) Old 2007-01-07, 12:12 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6
Installing Bell Dish 81/92

Hi long time not on the site, just busy with stuff. Happy New Year to all!!!!!!! Need some help with installing the dish, please. I have dish 500 with dual lnb and build in switch sw21. Can someone please tell me .........can this dish unit be used to get Bell Expressvu 82 sat and 91 sat? Also, what would be the proper settings. I got 91 with some playing around but just can't get 82. Can someone tell me what I am doing wrong. O, yes the tilt was around 36` and the turn - I don't know the proper term was at 90`. Still I got 91sat not 82sat. I thought once you have 91sat ( 82sat is a given since it has the dual lnb and built in switch 21 ). I don't know gave up HELP PLEASE!!!!!
kgroz is offline  
post #23 of 2460 (permalink) Old 2007-01-07, 05:52 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ontario
Posts: 1,980
kgroz,
when you say dual LNB, do you mean it is meant for 2 satelites, or is it a single pickup with dual outputs?
Usually, when you get 91 only, its coming from the pickup that should be getting 82. you have to move alignment slightly east till you get 82 and then you get 91 on the other pickup.
Good luck.

Samsung TV, Pio-Elite AVR, OppoBD, Wharfedale Speakers, Kicker/Crown Subs, DB-4e OTA:)
Tom.F.1 is offline  
post #24 of 2460 (permalink) Old 2007-01-11, 01:38 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Question BEV HD... are the cables from the dish different??

Hi! I am currently on rogers via a winback, however I am redoing my recroom and seeing as I already have the dish on my roof I thought it would be a good idea to run the wires for BEV just in case I decide to switch back. I had a 2700 receiver that I traded in and I still have the wires run from the dish to my tv. I was wondering if A) the HD dish is different, meaning I'd have to install a new one to get the HD and B) if the wires from the dish to the receiver are different from the standard ones I used with my 2700?? I want to makes sure that I have the right wires in place before I put up my new ceiling. Thanks
exgrungeboy is offline  
post #25 of 2460 (permalink) Old 2007-01-11, 01:57 PM
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,896
Yes and no.

Technically the wire used to run to the 2700 would be the same with an HD receiver. However that would require a switch to be installed at the dish, and would limit you with regards to what you put in for an HD receiver.

If you are thinking of running wires before closing in an area; I would run 4 RG6 cables at a minimum; in fact if it's a relatively short run I would be tempted to run 6 RG6 cables just in case Bell ends up doing something funky with new satellites.

"There are 10 types of people in this world; those who understand binary and those who don't."
ken0042 is offline  
post #26 of 2460 (permalink) Old 2007-01-15, 12:40 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1
Picture quality

I just installed a 9200 to improve my picture on a new hdtv i bought. The hd chanels are nice but the normal chanels are quite grainy i can see the pixels and it look quit bad, what can i do?
nitromoose is offline  
post #27 of 2460 (permalink) Old 2007-01-17, 12:56 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Question Where to aim my dish?

i just bought a new dish for my bev some one stoled my last one that was screwed to the side of my house.The new ones high up on my roof.So can someone Please tell me the way to point the dish (SW)
i have a 30$ satellite finder that takes 10 batters.im just north of toronto

thanks
bin1127 is offline  
post #28 of 2460 (permalink) Old 2007-01-17, 01:58 PM
Member #1
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 47,716
nitromoose, grainy pictures have nothing to do with installation problems. If you have inadequate signal strength you won't be seeing anything.

bin, the co-ordinates will be in your receiver manual



hugh is offline  
post #29 of 2460 (permalink) Old 2007-01-17, 02:09 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks ill check itout
bin1127 is offline  
post #30 of 2460 (permalink) Old 2007-01-17, 05:00 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ontario
Posts: 1,980
There are lots of threads dealing with Grainy SD on an HD set.

Some sets deal with upconversion better than others. I would try all available input/cabling options you can find and find out what works best.

Some TV's work better with the composite for SD, other work better with the component or S-vid.
There may even be cases where the RF works better.

In my case, the 1080i out of the 9200 HD or SD, works fine, because my TV has a native 1080i display.

Samsung TV, Pio-Elite AVR, OppoBD, Wharfedale Speakers, Kicker/Crown Subs, DB-4e OTA:)
Tom.F.1 is offline  
Reply

Tags
5900 , bell , bell 9242 , bell aliant , bell sat , dish , dpp , dual tuner , expressvu , hdpvr , satellite , satellite piracy , signal strength , sw44 , switch

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome