Installation Questions - See Links in Post 1. - Page 162 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 79Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #2416 of 2449 (permalink) Old 2019-03-25, 05:48 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 820
The problem is that your Dish is only made to see one Orbital Slot, either 82 or 91, the 51cm Dish, which will be too small for you is slightly oval and focuses signals from ywo Orbital slots onto the Twin or Qual LNBF's. THese Twin or Quads will not fit on your Dish.

A (DPP) Seperator can ONLY be used on a system with DP or5 DPP LNBF's it cannot be used on your Legacy Dual LNBF.

LNBF, naming conventions are not as easy as you might think....lol Your LNBF is a Dual Legacy one, 2 outputs and is only about 3" wide, the Twin and Quad LNBF's are double the width. The Twin has 2 OUTputs and 1 INput, the Quad has 4 OUTputs. Dual's are available as Legacy or DP (not DPP). Twin's are available as Legacy, DP or DPP, Quads are either Lagacy or DPP.

Using DPP type LNBF's give you the option of using a DPP Separator behind a Dual Tuner Receiver. NOTE that DPP LNBF's ONLY come as double the size and get signals from 82 and 91 from one Dish. DP LNBF signals cannot be split by a DPP Separator. In order to split a DP signal, it MUST pass through a DPP Switch, which works the magic to allow for splitting.

Therefore, if you swap the Dual Legacy for a Dual DP LNBF and feed the signals into a DPP44 Switch, you can then use a DPP Separator behind the 9400. It will at this time only be seeing 91 degree signals but will work just fine. Adding in another Dish, aimed at 82, with a DP LNBF and feeding its signal into the DPP44 in the future will add the HD Channels to your system...

Hope that long winded reply helps.....
Allan B is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2417 of 2449 (permalink) Old 2019-08-10, 04:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 13
Thanks to help from this forum and Allan B in particular, I was able to solve my problem at my cottage last year. I have two dishes with DPP Twins (one for 82 and one for 91) and connected them using a DPP44 switch. I had to do this because there are many trees around the cottage and try as I might, I could not find a location where both I could get both satellites on one dish.

Solution worked fine for almost a year but now I’m having a problem with the switch. I have two switches and two power supplies and have tried different combinations but either the switch is not recognized at all or if it is recognized, i get “reception error”.

Both dishes work when connected directly to the receiver.

Very perplexing problem. Anybody had this before? Thx
Burdav is offline  
post #2418 of 2449 (permalink) Old 2019-08-11, 11:57 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 820
Why two switch's....??
Allan B is offline  
 
post #2419 of 2449 (permalink) Old 2019-08-12, 04:58 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 13
Sorry, wasn’t clear. Only using one switch, but I have an extra one as well. At first I thought the switch went bad but then tried the other one and it still didn’t work.
Burdav is offline  
post #2420 of 2449 (permalink) Old 2019-08-16, 08:13 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 13
Any ideas? Any way to test if a switch is bad? Thx
Burdav is offline  
post #2421 of 2449 (permalink) Old 2019-08-19, 12:27 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 820
I take it you have run a Check Switch with NO coax connected at the rear? It has to fail, when it does, save the resulting error, then re-connect Coax, run again. Hopefully that might clear it's head.

In extreme cases, I have had to remove a receiver from an account and add it back later.
Allan B is offline  
post #2422 of 2449 (permalink) Old 2019-08-19, 03:22 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,123
The issue may be due to using Dish Pro Twin LNBs. For this application the use of Single Dish Pro LNBs with round dishes would be better.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #2423 of 2449 (permalink) Old 2019-08-21, 09:24 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 13
Thanks guys. I’ll try what you suggest Allan B. I also have an extra receiver with me, model 6400. Should I try this? The one that is currently connected is a 9242.

Exdilbert, Not sure what you mean. I’m using DPP Twins. Is there such a thing as a DPP Single? Both LNBs work when connected to the receiver. Thx
Burdav is offline  
post #2424 of 2449 (permalink) Old 2019-08-23, 10:04 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 820
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExDilbert View Post
The issue may be due to using Dish Pro Twin LNBs. For this application the use of Single Dish Pro LNBs with round dishes would be better.
The use of Dish Pro Dual LNB's is certainly simpler and will cost a bit less too, unless you are having to lay out for the round Dish's for them.

There is no reason DPP Twin or Quad will not work, the only thing that might be confusing the Switch and or receiver is if at one location, it does actually capture some signal from the other side of the LNBF. Might be worth throwing a small bit of Foil on it, see if that helps.
Allan B is offline  
post #2425 of 2449 (permalink) Old 2019-08-24, 08:26 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 13
Thx Allan B. That’s an interesting thought. I wonder if that’s what’s happening because the switch worked perfectly for a year and then it stopped. And my backup switch wouldn’t work either.

I wonder if the tree line has grown enough that it’s created some gaps giving me limited access to the other satellite from one of the dishes.


I’m going to retest each line again by running it directly the receiver.

By foil, do you mean taping aluminum foil over half the DPP LNB? Which side is the 82 and 91?

Thx again
Burdav is offline  
post #2426 of 2449 (permalink) Old 2019-08-25, 03:40 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 820
Yes Aluminum Foil, the 91 & 82 are marked on the Y Yolk.
Allan B is offline  
post #2427 of 2449 (permalink) Old 2019-08-26, 05:11 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 23
9400 PVR does not recognize Sat 82

I ran two 9241 PVR'S off of an sw44 switch. I ran two of the tuner outputs from the switch to each PVR (one cable for each tuner). Worked like a charm. I had to replace one of the 9241 PVR's (dead drive) and Bell replaced it with a 9400 PVR. The 9400 PVR will not recognize Sat 82. Bell sent another PVR as they thought that the first replacement PVR had an issue. Same problem with the second 9400. I attached my other 9241 to the input cables that won't work with the 9400, and the 9241 recognizes Sat 82. So there's a signal coming in, just not bring recognized by the 9400. Any suggestions?
Spectre is offline  
post #2428 of 2449 (permalink) Old 2019-08-26, 06:12 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wainfleet
Posts: 1,310
I don't think the 9400 works with legacy equipment. You need to upgrade your dish to Dish PRO Plus.
jdevlin is online now  
post #2429 of 2449 (permalink) Old 2019-08-26, 07:35 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 23
Thanks jdevlin. I would think that my setup should work as I am running discrete cables from the sw44 for each of the tuners. And I know that the sat 82 signal is there since it is recognized when a 9241 PVR is attached to the same input cables. I also tried hooking up the 9400 to another location in my house (to the cables that are running to my existing 9241) and the 9400 doesn't work there either.

Incidentally, the Bell tech support people are sending another Smart Card to replace the one that came with the 9400. Apparently that change will sometimes fix unusual technical issues.
Spectre is offline  
post #2430 of 2449 (permalink) Old 2019-08-26, 11:46 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,581
have you tried a check switch with no coax connected and save the results then run another check switch with the cables connected and save the results? hopefully this helps
17671 is offline  
Reply

Tags
5900 , bell , bell 9242 , bell aliant , bell sat , dish , dpp , dual tuner , expressvu , hdpvr , satellite , satellite piracy , signal strength , sw44 , switch

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome