92XX/94XX Installation 101 - Page 55 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #811 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2006-05-23, 05:03 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 22
5 Receivers - 4x8 Switch - Single Line to a 9200

OK...so lots to consider here. I am about to move into a new home in the Windsor area. I plan on taking all my Expressvu equipment with me. My question is this;

If I want to 5 receivers (including 2 x 9200's) can I use the combination of a 4x8 multiswitch and then splitters at the end of a single cable run that is going upstairs to where one of the 9200's is going to be located. I can get two cables to the 9200 in the basement...it's this upstairs unit that is causing me concern.

Any advise would be helpful.
adman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2006-05-24, 04:16 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by adman
OK...so lots to consider here. I am about to move into a new home in the Windsor area. I plan on taking all my Expressvu equipment with me. My question is this;

If I want to 5 receivers (including 2 x 9200's) can I use the combination of a 4x8 multiswitch and then splitters at the end of a single cable run that is going upstairs to where one of the 9200's is going to be located. I can get two cables to the 9200 in the basement...it's this upstairs unit that is causing me concern.

Any advise would be helpful.
The only way to run a single line to a 9200 is to use a Dish Pro Plus Separator. I have the exact same setup as you want. Five receivers with two 9200's run with single lines. I bought a Dish Pro Quad LNB and Dish Pro Plus 44 switch off of eBay to do it. Two lines off of the DP Quad LNB run to the DPP44 switch and the other two lines off of the LNB run straight into my 3100 and 4100 receivers. From the DPP44 switch I run one line to my 6100, and one line to each of my two 9200's. At the end of the single lines running to the 9200's I use the DPP separators to feed the dual tuners. There is one free remaining feed off the DPP44 if you want a sixth tuner some time later. You're looking at ~$100 - $150 for the DPP44 switch and ~$40 for the DP Quad LNB. It works great. Don't expect any help from Bell support though. They have no clue about Dish Pro technology. When I told them I had Dish Pro technology installed they told me I should remove it and use an SW44 switch and had no suggestion for how to hook up all my receivers. Whatever.... The following link descibes Dish Pro technology http://www.solidsignal.tv/dishpro_installation.asp


Hope this helps

Sam
Sam Squantch is offline  
post #813 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2006-05-24, 04:19 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 22
Perfect Sam...thank you.
adman is offline  
 
post #814 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2006-05-25, 08:06 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 76
Installation of 9200

Can anyone recommend a good installer for a BEV HD Disk and SW44. I am replacing my 18" with the 20" that comes with the 9200.
I will have a 9200 and a 5900. (Currently have two 5900's)
I am at Yonge and 401. Need someone to install dish, run extra cables into house.
If you have an individual or company you can reccommend that does this please send PM
Thanks
walldad is offline  
post #815 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2006-06-23, 10:02 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Switch 44 Concerns

Apprciate the help to this point folks but am having additional difficulties with this upgrade....

1. The suggested wiring for the 44 does not show whether outs 1 thru 4 must go to any specific recievers or not in one instructional diagram..however, on another it seems to show that outs 3 and 4 must be used to connect 9200? True or False?

2. With known signal alignment...disconnect all 4 inputs - then one at a time connect the two 91's to inputs 1a or 1b, not both at the same time, I do not get a tone if either coax in's go only to 1a. Is this normal? Switch defective?

Either coax in's on 1b give immediate tone.



Many thanks....

Bob
TKRS is offline  
post #816 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2006-06-28, 11:35 AM
ufo
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ottawa, ExpressVu 9200
Posts: 43
Is SW44 necessary?

Is it necessary to install SW44 switch to watch HDTV. I'm thinking of running 2 cables straight to 9200 ird , and then use SW21 swich to run 2 cables through this switch to 3100. Will this work?
ufo is offline  
post #817 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2006-06-28, 11:54 AM
.
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, ON
Posts: 6,296
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by ufo
Is it necessary to install SW44 switch to watch HDTV. I'm thinking of running 2 cables straight to 9200 ird , and then use SW21 swich to run 2 cables through this switch to 3100. Will this work?
No.........................................
I_Want_My_HDTV is offline  
post #818 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2006-06-28, 01:01 PM
ufo
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ottawa, ExpressVu 9200
Posts: 43
Sw44

Ok then... As I mentioned I have 3100 and a new 9200. I'll run 4 cables to the SW44 and from the switch 2 cables to 9200 , and 1 cable to power outlet and 3100. The 4th one will be empty. Does this sound ok and will it work?

Is there any difference if power is with the cable by 9200 or 3100?
ufo is offline  
post #819 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2006-06-28, 08:54 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: hamilton
Posts: 170
hdmi to hdmi

i guess i one of the lucky ones.my tv is hdmi.so i go from hdmi to hdmi and the picture and sound is fantastic.don't need to use those annoying rca jacks for the sound.even the weak sounding stations like tropolis comes in nice.don't need to change thesound up and down when i switch stations as all seam to be equally loud.and the picture quality isway better than my old 6100 on the plain digital channels that it makes them worth watching.so if u got hdmi tv i suggest u hook it up hdmi to hdmi cause u'll see a real difference.and if your looking to buy anew tv make sure it has hdmi input.
spoonky is offline  
post #820 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2006-07-12, 07:12 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Question Upgrade to 9200

sorry if this is a repeat question but it is not clear to me from user guide/cus support/ forum threads

I currently have 5800 and 3100 ( both pointing to 82 bird, I think ) I am pulling them out to install 9200 only, no addional recievers. I will be getting HD programming. Recieved 2 dual LBNF, dish and SW44 recently

1) Do I need to run 4 cables to the SW44 ? Can I just run the two existing cables to connector 3 & 4 on SW44 and then connect the two cables to the 9200 dual tuner inputs ?

I do not plan on making use of the two other outputs of the SW44

Does the SW44 require input from the 91 bird ?

I am not versed in the theory of purpose of the SW44 ? Any feedback on that ?
nfldson is offline  
post #821 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2006-07-12, 07:37 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 532
Check out the 9200 installation 101 thread at the top of the forum. It will answer all your questions.

http://www.digitalhomecanada.com/for...ad.php?t=26721

But to answer your question, the SW44 will take 2 inputs of 82 and and 2 inputs of 91 and make 4 outputs of 82/91 merged together. Yes you can only use 2 of the outputs if need be.
GusX is offline  
post #822 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2006-07-12, 07:59 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Do I need to run all 4 into the switch to get the 2 required for input to the 9200 ?

In the thread , all examples show 4 wires ( 2-82,2-91 ) conncted to SW44.

82 ----|SW44| --> 9200 ( #1 )
82 ----| | --> 9200 ( #2 )
nfldson is offline  
post #823 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2006-07-12, 12:37 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by nfldson

I currently have 5800 and 3100 ( both pointing to 82 bird, I think ) I am pulling them out to install 9200 only, no addional recievers. I will be getting HD programming. Recieved 2 dual LBNF, dish and SW44 recently
If you currently have a 5800 and 3100 receiving programming, but none of it HD, then you are pointing at 91. If you were pointing at 82, you would be getting very, very few channels right now. 82 has all the HD channels but few SD channels. 91 has the vast majority of the SD channels. So if you wish to receive both HD and non-HD channels you will have to run all 4 cables to the SW44 once you install the new dish (or re-aim your current one if it is already elliptical).
VuMax is offline  
post #824 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2006-07-13, 07:55 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by nfldson
Do I need to run all 4 into the switch to get the 2 required for input to the 9200 ?

In the thread , all examples show 4 wires ( 2-82,2-91 ) conncted to SW44.
Yes, The SW44 will require 4 cables. However, if you cant pass 2 more cables and only need the 2 inputs for your 9200, you might want to pick up 2 SW21 instead. The SW21 arent powered like the SW44 so you can keep it outdoors. So basically your setup would look like this:


82---SW21 --------------
91---|

82---SW21 --------------
91---|
GusX is offline  
post #825 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2006-07-13, 02:30 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by GusX
The SW21 arent powered like the SW44 so you can keep it outdoors.
The SW44 can be outdoors also. The power inserter can be anywhere between the SW44 and the receiver. My SW44 is out at the dish and the inserter is right at the receiver.
VuMax is offline  
Reply

Tags
9200 , 9242 , belltv , dpp33 , dpp44 , expressvu , installation , sw44

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome