92XX/94XX Installation 101 - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2005-06-27, 03:24 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oil Sands Capital of the World
Posts: 567
I'm a little confused if just 2 components...the DPP seperator and the DPP Dual LBNF are needed to take a single feed line and split it to the dual tuners of the 9200.

According to the Dishstore.net site....you also need the DPP 44 switch or the above setup will not work !

The below is quoted from that site.= :
"DO NOT ORDER THIS PART IF YOU DO NOT HAVE A DISH PRO PLUS 44 SWITCH. IT WILL NOT WORK WITH A STANDARD DISH PRO TWIN LNB

If you only have 1 receiver...a 9200...and only can get 1 cable to it...which setup is 100% sure to work..?....the LBNF+seperator or the DPP 44 switch+LBNF+seperator?

I need a definite answer ..as the DPP 44 switch is around $100..too much for my budget!

Thanks!
FortMacDude is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2005-06-27, 03:40 PM Thread Starter
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by FortMacDude
IT WILL NOT WORK WITH A STANDARD DISH PRO TWIN LNB
Right, and that's why we said to get a Dish Pro Plus, and not a standard Dish Pro LNB.

(and the reason for this thread, these different terms can be very confusing.)

"There are 10 types of people in this world; those who understand binary and those who don't."
ken0042 is offline  
post #33 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2005-06-27, 03:40 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Barrie
Posts: 202
FortMacDude,

You dont need the DPP-44 if and only if you you use the Dish Pro Plus Twin. The warning that is on the dishstore.net's website is saing that the seperator will not work with a Dish Pro lnb.

Dish Pro Plus:
Dish Pro Plus Twin
dish Pro Plus Seperator
Dish Pro Plus 44 Switch

Brad
bclaringbold is offline  
 
post #34 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2005-06-27, 03:40 PM
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
From there site.




Dishpro Plus Seperator $9.99



Click to enlarge

When used with the Dishpro Plus 44 Switch, or Dishpro Plus Twin this product will allow you to run a Duel Tuner Receiver such as a 322, 522, 721 or 921 with a single Coaxial Cable.

DO NOT ORDER THIS PART IF YOU DO NOT HAVE A DISH PRO PLUS 44 SWITCH. IT WILL NOT WORK WITH A STANDARD DISH PRO TWIN LNB.


It should say:

DO NOT ORDER THIS PART IF YOU DO NOT HAVE A DISH PRO PLUS 44 SWITCH or a Dish Pro Plus Twin LNB. IT WILL NOT WORK WITH A STANDARD DISH PRO TWIN LNB.
Q is offline  
post #35 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2005-06-27, 03:45 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oil Sands Capital of the World
Posts: 567
Thumbs up

HUGE THANK YOU GUYS ON A QUICK ANSWER...!

And as someone mentioned...the terms are confusing!..but my reading/comprehension skills need some work too!

Thanks again
FortMacDude is offline  
post #36 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2005-06-27, 04:34 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Grimsby, Ont.
Posts: 3,231
Okay, current starchoice customer here. I have a a quad LNB and 4 cables from that, two directly into my DSR530 and two into two separate single tuner STB's. Is there no similar configuration from BELL that would work the same way (i.e. no switch required?). I'm thinking about changing to EVU and need to firm up all the details of doing so.

-Mike
scrooloose is online now  
post #37 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2005-06-27, 04:36 PM
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
They have a Quad legacy and a Dish Pro Quad.
Q is offline  
post #38 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2005-06-27, 04:46 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sudbury ON, and Red Lake ON
Posts: 1,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken0042
Because the 9220 isn't out yet, I'm going on the assumption that Bell will give us 2 Dual LNB's, and 2 SW21's.
It is being shipped with 2 dual LNB's and an SW44 switch
Deckster is offline  
post #39 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2005-06-27, 06:27 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Calgary Area
Posts: 2,443
Quote:
Originally Posted by scrooloose
Okay, current starchoice customer here. I have a a quad LNB and 4 cables from that, two directly into my DSR530 and two into two separate single tuner STB's. Is there no similar configuration from BELL that would work the same way (i.e. no switch required?). I'm thinking about changing to EVU and need to firm up all the details of doing so.

-Mike
That's exactly what option #2 in post #2 is. The switch is built into the quad LNB - it's completely transparent to the end user. The average person wouldn't even know it's there if they had it installed for them. That's exactly the same as your StarChoice solution.
North_of_Calgary is offline  
post #40 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2005-06-27, 07:32 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Grimsby, Ont.
Posts: 3,231
Quote:
Originally Posted by North_of_Calgary
That's exactly what option #2 in post #2 is. The switch is built into the quad LNB - it's completely transparent to the end user. The average person wouldn't even know it's there if they had it installed for them. That's exactly the same as your StarChoice solution.
Ooh sorry, don't know how I missed that! I read through this thread with great interest too..

-Mike
scrooloose is online now  
post #41 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2005-06-27, 07:54 PM
Q
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 3,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deckster
It is being shipped with 2 dual LNB's and an SW44 switch
How do you know?
Q is offline  
post #42 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2005-06-27, 08:39 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 76
My setup is the folowing

1 DishPro Twin LNBF hooked to 1 DP34, this DP34 is hooked to another DP34 so I have 4 output left, can I take 2 output of the DP34 and put them into each input of the 9200? I think it will work since the 6100 is a Dishproplus receiver and it works fine now hooked the same way via a DP34
Haryi99Si is offline  
post #43 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2005-06-27, 09:42 PM Thread Starter
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,896
Yes, that will work Haryi99Si.

Anybody who has 2 outputs left on their switch and/or Quad LNB and is able to run 2 lines to the receiver will be fine. The main reason for this thread is for those who either cannot run 2 lines, or are running out of room on their switches.

Not that I am discouraging discussion or questions, of course.

"There are 10 types of people in this world; those who understand binary and those who don't."
ken0042 is offline  
post #44 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2005-06-27, 09:59 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oakville
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by ken0042
BD- the legacy hardware will work fine with the newer receivers as well as the older ones. Just to summarize:

Legacy- works will all recivers; Dish Pro and Lecacy- allows 100 foot cable runs
Dish Pro- works only with Dish Pro receivers- allows 200 foot cable runs
Dish Pro Plus- works with legacy as long as there is also a Dish Pro receiver in the mix- allows for 200 foot cable runs and allows for seperators.
Thanks Ken! Good to know that my little investment is not wasted.
BD_Present is offline  
post #45 of 1994 (permalink) Old 2005-06-28, 12:04 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 13
I currently have a pretty standard BEV setup with a 6100 and 3100 and 2 SW21 feeding 2 cables into the house. I picked up a RCA CVHD6520 multiswitch cheap. Can I run the 2 cables coming into the house into this, then run 2 cables into the 9200 and one each into the 6100 and 3100? Is there a limit to how far the CVHD6520 can be from the dish?

Thanks
Ed27 is offline  
Reply

Tags
9200 , 9242 , belltv , dpp33 , dpp44 , expressvu , installation , sw44

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome