Blu-Ray connects to internet but can't ping - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 2013-08-05, 07:21 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitby, Ont.
Posts: 951
Blu-Ray connects to internet but can't ping

Throwing this out there to see if any gurus have any idea what is going on.
I installed dd-wrt on a Linksys WRT54G and set it up as an access point. Ran one lan cable to the main router (not from WAN port) and have three devices plugged into the remaining ports. TV, Receiver and a Sony BDP-S360.

The TV connects to the internet just fine and I can ping the TV and the receiver without problem which suggests the access point is doing it's job

If I set up the Blu-ray either for auto acquisition or set a static ip, the Blu-ray passes the network diagnostic test and also verifies my firmware version as being up to date if I try to update it suggesting that it is seeing the internet just fine.

But I can't ping it (either set up static or auto acquisition) although trace-route works just fine. Has me stumped...
vmpv is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 2013-08-06, 08:35 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Thornhill
Posts: 1,027
I have the same router (but running Tomato) and same BDP-S360. Network test from the player works fine but it does not respond to either ping or tracert. I think it has very limited ip smarts. It's not you.
Bplayer is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 2013-08-06, 08:36 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitby, Ont.
Posts: 951
It's not an AP problem. Even hooked up at the main router the same problem exists. I'm going to conclude it's just something screwy with the player and not worry about it too much. Perhaps next firmware update (if there ever is one) will fix this "problem". Works fine in every other respect.

(Sorry Bplayer, just saw your reply as I posted this. I have pretty much concluded the same thing but it's great to have confirmation!)
vmpv is offline  
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 2013-08-06, 11:37 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Whitby, ON
Posts: 274
There's probably nothing screwy at all and the manufacturer has simply disabled ICMP echo (ping reply). Some might see that as a security feature.
NineBall is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 2013-08-06, 08:16 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitby, Ont.
Posts: 951
Thanks Nineball. You may likely be correct but I can ping my newer Sony player no problem so I never considered that what you suggest would be the case. First time I have encountered not being able to ping a properly set up device as that used to be one of the first steps when I was a field tech facing network TCP/IP problems.
Anyway the unit works so I'm not going to worry about this little anomaly.
vmpv is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome