Back Lighting and Bias Lighting - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 74 (permalink) Old 2007-11-14, 04:06 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Burlington, On
Posts: 56
Back Lighting update

Is there anything new anyone can add? What is the current best back lighting available here in Canada?

Bill
DBC944 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 74 (permalink) Old 2007-11-15, 01:56 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parksville, BC
Posts: 548
DIY Tip for backlighting

I found this when I googled backlighting:


http://www.cnet.com.au/tvs/0,239035250,240054843,00.htm

The replies to the article also talk about the "Trettioen" light strips.
It really sucks to live in the Winnipeg area. Nearest IKEA is Calgary I think...
Chumley is offline  
post #63 of 74 (permalink) Old 2007-11-15, 07:27 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Parksville, BC
Posts: 548
TRETTIOEN Lighting strip Discontinued

I've been looking into the Trettioen strip lighting, and found out that it has been discontinued.

Apparently, the replacement name is DIODER.
They sell both plain white and multi-colored units. Have to do a bit more looking into this...
Chumley is offline  
 
post #64 of 74 (permalink) Old 2007-11-15, 08:23 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Gatineau and Ottawa
Posts: 11,116
I purchased the DIODER set for a non-HT environment. The lights are very small and configurable. The four segments can be linked together to form a 1 m bar of light or you can create a 4 radial arms. I was surprised by the intensity of the light. The actual light track is thin. I would say about 4mm thick.
Jake is offline  
post #65 of 74 (permalink) Old 2007-11-16, 08:13 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Burlington, On
Posts: 56
Thanks for the link Chumley. Are the DIODER lights 6500 K? Has anyone used them for back lighting?

Bill
DBC944 is offline  
post #66 of 74 (permalink) Old 2008-02-29, 07:41 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 137
Wallmount backlight

I am planning to install a plasma display with a wallmount and have a variable backlight, ie: indirect lighting from the back of the plasma hooked on a variable switch..

Any suggestions on lighting or switcht's..

Thks
james57 is offline  
post #67 of 74 (permalink) Old 2008-02-29, 08:16 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2
I would suggest going to your local hardware store. They will have alot of options and some will come with remotes.
Pimptorious is offline  
post #68 of 74 (permalink) Old 2008-02-29, 08:58 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 137
Thks .. no remote, not another one PLS ... I was more thinking about a wall potentio-meter (ie: variable switch) ..

Sug: single spot, light bar, xmas light. etc...???
james57 is offline  
post #69 of 74 (permalink) Old 2013-04-10, 05:18 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,898
I found this. It is used for work stall illumination.

It has a magnetic mount and rated for a 14W tube with a pivotal lens/bulb section.

The stock bulb is 4700K, but I will replace it with a 6500K bulb even though it looks great at night.

It is stuck to the back of my 50" Panasonic plasma.

simplicity is genius...
filper is offline  
post #70 of 74 (permalink) Old 2013-04-10, 06:10 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,898
This may give you an idea of the relative illumination.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bias long.jpg (32.9 KB, 80 views)

simplicity is genius...
filper is offline  
post #71 of 74 (permalink) Old 2014-02-15, 12:39 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: York, Ontario
Posts: 2,404
filper where did you get your light and is it 6500K?\\
bolmsted is offline  
post #72 of 74 (permalink) Old 2014-02-15, 01:01 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,375
In post 69 he stated that the stock tube will be replaced. The posts are almost a year old (filper was last at DH over a month ago...). BTW, I recommend the following for bias lighting during my optimization travels. Depending on the size of the TV and the colour of the wall, you can use 2, 3 or 4 of the LED strips. The strips use very little power and I simply leave it on all the time, so it acts as a "night light" and I don't need to touch any light switches in my home theatre. It uses less than a Watt per strip, to a max of 3.5W.

http://www.ikea.com/ca/en/catalog/products/20119418/

I used it for my HT - see link in my sig, as well as posts in page 1 of this thread.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #73 of 74 (permalink) Old 2014-02-23, 03:21 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,898
I sent you a PM bolmsted.

simplicity is genius...
filper is offline  
post #74 of 74 (permalink) Old 2014-02-28, 05:00 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,898
I just switched to the Dioder to wall mount the plasma.

Very versatile system. Under $30.

Thanks 57.

simplicity is genius...
filper is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome