Odd Audio Issues on HD Channels. - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 2005-12-08, 06:15 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: montreal
Posts: 333
Odd Audio Issues on HD Channels.

Here's a new one for you guys.

Last night I was flipping through the channels and stopped on Discovery HD. The audio was from CTV's Law & Order which aired the PREVIOUS hour.

Never seen anything like this before. Anyone else notice this?
dynot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old 2005-12-09, 12:52 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,280
Audio and Video do travel separately. Interesting.

The other day I was watching "Mayday-HD" on Discovery (DHL plane in Iraq) and a major portion or the programme had no voice-over, only background sounds...

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 35 (permalink) Old 2005-12-09, 02:58 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 1,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by dynot
The audio was from CTV's Law & Order which aired the PREVIOUS hour.
Clearly you were caught in some kind of temporal rift. Congrats on escaping from it.

Mike / technut
technut is offline  
 
post #4 of 35 (permalink) Old 2005-12-09, 07:55 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 138
Yeah. One of those nasty subspace worm holes..
jfdube is offline  
post #5 of 35 (permalink) Old 2005-12-10, 01:59 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 367
I was watching Mayday on Discovery HD (Japan Airlines crash of 747) and the narration track was missing. I've emailed Discovery though god knows what good that might do.

Part of my email :".................I guess 5.1 surround sound, which is part of the HD signal, is beyond your capabilities. Before promoting
anymore HD programs get your technical system sorted out, otherwise it's a total waste of time, plus I'm having to pay Rogers Cable extra in order to receive Discovery HD. "
Harl is offline  
post #6 of 35 (permalink) Old 2005-12-10, 02:51 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,280
I haven't seen the Japan Airlines one yet.. Recorded it yesterday. Hmmm.

Here's my string of recent E-mails to Discovery. No response to any. I have received responses before...

Quote:
During the past few weeks, I have sent several e-mails regarding issues with your HD channel (copies of the e-mails below). I have not received any reply or comment. Is this normal?

Thanks, 57.


On 2005.11.15 11:03 PM, 57 wrote:

Hello:

I recorded the "William Shatner" programme earlier this week on Monday morning I believe, Rogers channel 505 (HD).

There appears to have been a weird issue with the sound. After each
commercial, the sound format would be different. First it was DD5.1, then DD2.0 and it switched after each commercial - DD2.0, DD5.1, DD2.0, DD5.1, etc. Do you have some sort of sound switching issues?

I was pleased to see the programme in HD.

Thanks, 57


2005.11.08.

Please see the e-mail below for background on this newest e-mail.

Last week you managed to show the programme (Worst Drivers) properly, filling the HD screen, however, this week (Tuesday 1AM) you again showed the programme "windowboxed". I don't understand how you can be so inconsistent. This is not rocket science.

Regards, 57


On 2005.10.25 10:40 PM, 57 wrote:

Hello:

I've been watching your HD channel for quite a while and I've recorded and watched the recent HD episodes of Canada's Worst Driver.

On Tuesday at 1AM, you showed the most recent episode, however, it was "windowboxed" with black bars all around the image, instead of filling my 16:9 HDTV screen. It was 16:9, but it was only a small "postage stamp" image which some people call "windowboxing"

Just wanted you to know, so that you could show the remaining episodes properly on your HD channel. I receive your HD channel on Rogers 505.
I moved and retitled this thread.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #7 of 35 (permalink) Old 2005-12-10, 03:02 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 367
I guess one shouldn't record any HD shows on Discovery! What a great way of killing HD - it's bad enough trying to convince friends to get HD without the stupidity of DiscoveryHD being an issue. From what you say 57, it sounds like the technical department just isn't ready for prime time when it comes to transmitting HD. I wonder who's in charge? Is it an offshoot of Alliance Atlantis?
Harl is offline  
post #8 of 35 (permalink) Old 2005-12-10, 03:20 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,280
Just scanned it. Two segments near the start and the last segment had no voice-over/dialogue.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #9 of 35 (permalink) Old 2005-12-10, 05:14 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 104
I recorded the Mayday DHL/Iraq episode several times at different time slots. Each one had the center channel (dialog) missing in different parts. I managed to watch the whole eipisode by playing different parts from each recording.

The episode about the Japanese crash just had the beginning and the end with dialog.

I've emailed discovery about it as well.

I'm on ExpressVu so it's not just their feed to rogers.
Avernar is offline  
post #10 of 35 (permalink) Old 2005-12-10, 06:28 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,280
If the problem exists on different segments on each airing, then there is something amiss in their switching mechanism. See the problem I indicated in my earlier post (6) on the Bill Shatner programme, where it switched between DD5.1 and DD2.0 after each commercial...

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #11 of 35 (permalink) Old 2005-12-10, 07:05 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 104
Yeah. I figured it was a sound switching problem. The broadcast was DD 2.0 and I assume that the show's native format was 5.1 and that the commercials were just stereo.

Since the sound loss coincides with coming back from a commercial I'm guessing their equipment didn't go from "stero straight through 2.0" to "5.1 downmix to 2.0" mode.

Now another question is: if the source is 5.1 why don't they broadcast 5.1?

BTW, on rogers what was Mayday broadcast as, 2.0 or 5.1?
Avernar is offline  
post #12 of 35 (permalink) Old 2005-12-10, 07:32 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,056
I recorded MayDay, checked in around 15+ spots and all were in stereo instead of the necessary 5.1. It was interesting to see how music is used in the program to set ambience, but useless just the same.

It's another indication of the slipshod quality that permeates the whole HD landscape. It's the same with the constant audio dropouts, bad SD-subbing and low-def subs whenever on-screen graphics are used.

You'd think somewhere along the delivery chain someone would catch this stuff but they don't.
Neild is offline  
post #13 of 35 (permalink) Old 2005-12-10, 09:01 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 104
I just hope that these audio shenanigans don't cary over to the new Discovery HD channel.
Avernar is offline  
post #14 of 35 (permalink) Old 2005-12-10, 09:10 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avernar
I just hope that these audio shenanigans don't cary over to the new Discovery HD channel.

Ummm isn't that what we're discussing here? As far as I'm aware, there is only one Discovery HD channel.
Harl is offline  
post #15 of 35 (permalink) Old 2005-12-10, 10:43 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 104
We are talking about the existing channel. The current Discovery HD channel just carries the SD Discovery channel content with a few shows broadcast in HD.

The new Discovery HD is going to be a seperate channel with 24/7 HD content. From what I've read on the forums it's going to replace the existing HD channel.

For more details see this thread: Official: Discovery HD Canada to launch by end of 2005
Avernar is offline  
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome