No 'SMART TV' needed!! - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 2018-07-02, 10:58 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kingston, ON - Bell ES 9241, Onkyo TX808, Oppo93, AppleTV3, Vizio 55", PSB & Yamaha speakers for 7:1
Posts: 204
No 'SMART TV' needed!!

Although I'm sure I know the answer to this, I'll ask it anyway.

Is it possible to buy a 4K 50"+ TV without the 'Smart" part? I have an Apple TV box.

Failing that, might there be a way to 'dumb down' the 'Smart' icons etc.? I know every TV set would have different ways to do this.

Thanks.
ExRobotGuy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 2018-07-02, 11:14 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,028
It's doubtful you'll find a new TV today without the smart features. Even if you did, there would likely be no benefit to doing so.

If you're concerned about privacy, yes, you should check the settings to ensure that no signals are being "sent back" from the TV, and yes, each TV would likely do this slightly differently.

Also, some TVs are set up so they default to the "smart page" and you then need to click on the "TV" icon to watch TV. It's usually possible to defeat this and have the TV start on the "TV" (HDMI) input.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 2018-07-02, 12:31 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kingston, ON - Bell ES 9241, Onkyo TX808, Oppo93, AppleTV3, Vizio 55", PSB & Yamaha speakers for 7:1
Posts: 204
Thanks, 57.

Privacy is not the issue. I'm sure my info is in the hands of Nigerian princes and Russian criminal gangs [shout-out]. I hope that one day they make a mistake and pay my taxes!

Your second point about defaulting to the HDMI input will suit me just fine.
ExRobotGuy is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 2018-07-03, 10:35 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 7,832
It might be possible to find a commercial grade monitor that has no smart features. I doubt it would be cost effective.

If there is no other solution, it should be possible to send a direct HDMI input command after the TV is turned on.

If you don't want any info being sent back to the company, just don't connect the TV to the network.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Unread 2019-05-22, 05:27 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: S.W. Ontario
Posts: 1,035
Have a look at Roku Express.
oldyellr is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Unread 2019-05-22, 08:01 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 122
the real easy way to stop the apps from working at all is do not set up your tv through internet because without the internet your tv apps can't work
heans is online now  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Unread 2019-05-22, 08:42 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: St Catharines
Posts: 1,263
Costco has a Vizio that is not smart.
dsspredator is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Unread 2019-05-22, 09:11 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 7,832
Every TV I see on Costco.ca is labelled as smart. There are quite a few monitors but they max out at 34". The Samsung Electronics HG50NJ670UFXZA 50" Screen LED-Lit Monitor might be worth checking out. It sells for about $850.
ExDilbert is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome