ON/MI - Windsor, Detroit, Sarnia, Leamington, Chatham - OTA - Page 4 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 25Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #46 of 1446 (permalink) Old 2006-02-23, 10:32 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bazooka Joe
On Friday, I ordered a CM7777 from the U.S. I'm hoping this improves the signal for me.
So how did the CM7777 work out for you?

What channels are you getting now?
teenie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #47 of 1446 (permalink) Old 2006-04-09, 07:12 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Windsor ,Ont (Area)
Posts: 360
Anyone in Windsor area using a CM4228 ?

Just wondering if anyone in the Windsor / Essex Conty area is using this antenna. If so, what reception are you getting besides the Detroit locals ?
I'm using a roof mounted uhf / vhf combo now and also get a couple Cleaveland stations. wondering if anyone picks up Canadian broadcasts East of us as well.
probak118 is offline  
post #48 of 1446 (permalink) Old 2006-04-12, 08:22 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Windsor, Ont.
Posts: 91
Indoor antenna

This is for Windsor, has anyone had much success with an Indoor Antenna, if so which one ????
crockett18 is offline  
 
post #49 of 1446 (permalink) Old 2006-04-12, 08:48 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by probak118
wondering if anyone picks up Canadian broadcasts East of us as well.
The only programming you would gain would be the NTSC CTV ch 42 (which they call a Chatham signal, but whose tower is only 5 km away from the Global Oil Springs repeater).

There is nothing to watch except Hamilton local news on the other Global simsub channel - CH repeater ch 51 north of Glencoe.
987654321 is offline  
post #50 of 1446 (permalink) Old 2006-06-06, 03:42 PM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 11
Sarnia OTA Reception of Detroit DTV Stations.

I just got a new Panasonic 42PV60 TV with built in ATSC tuner. Using my old Channel Master dual head antenna and rotor I get all the Detroit digitals fine except 62.1 CBS. It keeps dropping out and the signal strength is poor compared to the others. The other stations are anywhere from 75 to 98% signal strength. CBS is jumping around from 0 to 50%.

Is anyone else having this problem?

The Detroit towers are about 55 to 60 miles from Sarnia.
vvgopher is offline  
post #51 of 1446 (permalink) Old 2006-06-06, 03:46 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
That's great to get results from Sarnia. Which CM antenna are you using? Is it fixed-mounted towards Detroit or do you have a rotor for trying some of the other Michigan areas?



stampeder is offline  
post #52 of 1446 (permalink) Old 2006-06-07, 09:38 AM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 11
I do have a rotor but haven't tried any other locations in Michigan yet. Some people here at work say they can a few Toledo stations. I will check my old receipt tonight to see if the CM model is on there. I had it installed in 1991 and even though I stopped using it seven years ago or so I always kept it in working order. I'm glad I did for the new digital age.
vvgopher is offline  
post #53 of 1446 (permalink) Old 2006-06-07, 10:34 AM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
I've heard before that Toledo works around there with the right gear so good luck. During the high summer you should be able to occasionally get tropo skips from Indianapolis and other US Midwest locations too. Check the Tropo thread in the main OTA Forum.



stampeder is offline  
post #54 of 1446 (permalink) Old 2006-06-08, 10:58 AM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 11
I'm not familiar with the term Tropo but I will look into it. I don't have my antenna receipt so I have no idea what model of Channel Master antenna is. I know it is a dual head but that is all. I have a CM amplifier model 0264C but I can't find any details on it online or on the case. It has one input and one output.
vvgopher is offline  
post #55 of 1446 (permalink) Old 2006-06-08, 02:14 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by vvgopher
I have a CM amplifier model 0264C but I can't find any details on it online or on the case. It has one input and one output.
That is an old Channel Master Spartan preamp, and does it have screw-tabs for connecting twin-lead cable? I'm pretty sure it does and therefore is a 300 ohm model. They haven't made that line in quite awhile. I wonder if its anything like the CM0064:

http://www.solidsignal.com/prod_disp...&PROD=S0064DSB



stampeder is offline  
post #56 of 1446 (permalink) Old 2006-07-18, 02:05 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: saint john NB
Posts: 10
Best antenna for Windsor?

hi,

im moving to windsor - anyone used an indoor zenith antenna, or the Winegard square shooter ss1000 or ss2000 or channelmaster 3010a-stealth? are either adequate for detroit HDTV? i ask because i will be moving into an apartment for approx 9 months...thx

oh BIG thankx to stampeder for a wealth of information and help he has provided - cheers to u!! (i read all the info u requested...)
jonnyyaa is offline  
post #57 of 1446 (permalink) Old 2006-09-25, 09:35 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
Question no wdiv 2.001 ??

Hey all newbie here,just got my 32" aquos that is connected to an old(at least20 yrs) channel master for all my detroit locals including hd channels.It works great except for wdiv channel 4.001 and 4.002. I breifly get them once in a while but mostly not.

Any ideas to strengthen signal??

thanks................go
gosharpie97 is offline  
post #58 of 1446 (permalink) Old 2006-09-26, 01:09 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Welcome here, Please put your location into your user profile so that we can offer you better advice. Where are you trying to receive WDIV-DT from?



stampeder is offline  
post #59 of 1446 (permalink) Old 2006-11-09, 12:23 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Sarnia HD?

Anyone have any luck in Sarnia. I'm looking at getting an ATSC LCD and trying to find the cheapest setup possible.

Judging from reading the FAQ. I looks like an INDOOR Antenna is out of the question. Is that right?

Anyone else from this area?
klingo is offline  
post #60 of 1446 (permalink) Old 2006-11-09, 12:44 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Sarnia has always been able to get Detroit VHF stations well, so I'm guessing that there should not be any problems with UHF either, which is where most of the DTV stations are. Let us know what you find out!



stampeder is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome