ON - Barrie, Muskoka, Sault Ste. Marie, Northern Ontario - OTA - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 5Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 763 (permalink) Old 2007-11-15, 10:26 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
marvel

marvel, the customer live well north of Toronto. Looking up the distance to south Buffalo is a little over a 100 miles.

He is around Woodbine Ave and Aurora Side Road.

With his old setup the Yagi Uhf/Channel master preamp he was not able to pull in all the HD Buffalo stations properly. Nbc, Pbs, and Sun on one of his Sony tv was about 14-15db s/n, not enough for a stable lock. The Sony can lock at 16db stable.

After the swap Nbc and Pbs was btween 20-24db and Sun around 20-22db with other Buffalo channels improving oin signal strength.

The customer existing preamp was quite old not sure what channel master model it was. It was a 300 ohn connections. Rather use the balun as the 300ohm wires were showing age.

The amount of cable run I did not want to take a change of swapping the antenna and then change the preamp after. We did everything at once.

Results was excellent.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;

Last edited by Yaamon; 2007-11-15 at 10:35 AM.
Yaamon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 763 (permalink) Old 2007-11-15, 10:32 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
hsplrguy

The spartan preamp is good and if its working no need to change it.

I would definately run new 300ohm wires as they break down over time outdoor especially exposed to the sun.

Clean the contacts on the antenna if you are going to reuse your existing setup.

Definately as stampeder suggested ditch the RG59 cable for RG6. Stampeder the Yagi that I replaced was a uhf.

Where the customer had RG59 I replaced it with RG6.

The customer was suprised the results was more than he was expecting. I knew there would be a big difference in signal strength on the digital channels and better analog reception too.

I had to rewire his in home distribution.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;

Last edited by Yaamon; 2007-11-15 at 10:45 AM.
Yaamon is offline  
post #63 of 763 (permalink) Old 2007-11-15, 10:52 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hespeler
Posts: 134
Awesome thanks Yaamon and Stampeder. Yes my UHF yagi is about 12-15 yrs old we figure after reasearching. Maybe will leave my older amp it seems to be ok and I can pull in Buffalo' HD pretty good here. Would like to switch over my RG59 and maybe replace the 300 ohm wires at the top. Yaamon do you make house calls west of Toronto?

Last edited by hsplrguy; 2007-11-15 at 11:47 AM.
hsplrguy is offline  
 
post #64 of 763 (permalink) Old 2007-11-15, 11:10 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
hsplrguy, house call west yes, buyt not that far west.

The only time I pass by your area is when I'm going away for the weekend to Michigan like next week for shopping.

Sorry won't have time to stop then. I'm sure you have good local installers that can do the job.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;
Yaamon is offline  
post #65 of 763 (permalink) Old 2007-11-15, 11:16 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Caledon East, ON
Posts: 30
Hmm, I always thought the yagi ones were better for pulling in far distant stations?

I'm 109 miles away from the Buffalo stations, and I'm still deciding on what antenna to get. Any suggestions?
marvel is offline  
post #66 of 763 (permalink) Old 2007-11-15, 11:23 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
marvel

Not really, yagi when they were developed were a better antenna than what was available. They are a more directional antenna resulting in better gain.

Example take channel master 4248 Yagi it's only rated for 45miles same as the newer 4221 design. The 4248 is huge 80.5" in length.

The 4228 a 8 bay is rated from channel master at 60 miles. No other channel master master antenna is rated better on uhf compared to a 4228.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;

Last edited by Yaamon; 2007-11-15 at 11:57 AM.
Yaamon is offline  
post #67 of 763 (permalink) Old 2007-11-15, 11:31 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hespeler
Posts: 134
Thanks Yaamon not a problem we did have a really good local installer but he's into big communication stuff and he never got back to me after he came out once. He gave lots of insite on ideas and we chatted for over an hour but I guess he is busy on the bigger towers. I know of a guy in Brantford who is also good so maybe have to get him down. He suggested to me go to 4228 as well and it will out do my old yagi in wonders he said its actually quite suprising as it suprised him in an install. Have fun on your trip I wouldn't want you to stop while leaving for a vacation anyhow.
hsplrguy is offline  
post #68 of 763 (permalink) Old 2007-11-15, 02:46 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Stouffville
Posts: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by marvel View Post
Hmm, I always thought the yagi ones were better for pulling in far distant stations?

I'm 109 miles away from the Buffalo stations, and I'm still deciding on what antenna to get. Any suggestions?
marvel,
Those are pics of my house. Although I was getting some Buffalo stuff with the Yagi (as listed above) I was missing quite a few and others were not stable. The Yagi is less forgiving than the 4228 as far as aiming (in my case). They way I looked at it, if someone is going to climb all the way the tower and hang out for awhile up there, might as well put a new 4228, pre-amp and cabling. The results were astonishing!
Maxwedge is offline  
post #69 of 763 (permalink) Old 2007-11-15, 06:01 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hespeler
Posts: 134
awesome thanks for all the help everyone I am now convinced to go the 4228 and new RG6, I agree the yagi is not very forgiving its got to be almost dead on or nothing at all. hope we have given others good helpful info.
hsplrguy is offline  
post #70 of 763 (permalink) Old 2007-12-06, 06:55 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
North East of Killarney, ON

Hello ,

I am located about 15KM inland from Georgian Bay ( North East of Killarney ). With an old analog tv and old bent up UHF/VHF yagi, I can receive about 15 channels although most are not watchable.

Ordered a 4228 8 bow tie antenna and a 7778 amp to try with my new HDTV LCD this wekend.

This will be my first kick at the can for OTA HDTV. I'll post some results next week.

Any comments on OTA HDTV reception over water? Any tricks with going over long water? Should you aim above horizon or level?

Regards,
Tom
statestreet is offline  
post #71 of 763 (permalink) Old 2007-12-06, 07:56 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Hi Tom, and welcome here!

Are you near French River off Hwy 69? Which way is your antenna pointing at present that gives you 15 or so analogue channels? Do Sudbury stations come in clearly? How about Barrie?

I cannot say for sure whether any digital stations will carry to your location, but I highly doubt it. If any do, they'd more than likely be from Michigan but that would be reeeeeeeally stretching it.

Large bodies of water can have odd effects on OTA, so if your antenna is pointed out over Georgian Bay then its possible there might be some adverse effects but I cannot say for sure whether you'll notice any.



stampeder is offline  
post #72 of 763 (permalink) Old 2007-12-06, 10:42 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
Stampeder,

Thanks for the reply.

I am on Hwy 637 which runs from Hwy 69 to Killarney ( 70Kms ) . 20KMs in off Hwy 69 and then another KM into the forest. The channels I get are a lot of repeat ones mostly from Barrie ( New VR etc ),Toronto ( Global and a few others) and Sudbury ( Global, MCTV, CBC TFO )if I turn the array around. The UHF channels are mostly just a lot of noise but you can see there are channels there, but not stong enough to ID. There seems to be a lot of them. It was summer when I last tried as I have been busy building the new cabin most of this year. Just now getting to down time to relax and play a bit. I am mostly interested in the UHF stations as the VHF ones are just run of the mill stations.
I'll have news on Monday provided my new gear shows up tommorow as expected.

Regards,
Tom
statestreet is offline  
post #73 of 763 (permalink) Old 2007-12-06, 10:47 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
Oh sorry, I fogot to explain the antenna!
I have an old yagi that I can manually turn to aim where I want. SE to get Barrie, Toronto etc, and NW to get Sudbury stations which are all watchable!
statestreet is offline  
post #74 of 763 (permalink) Old 2007-12-09, 08:53 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
Hello again,

Back from the cabin, with good and bad news. Using the 4228 and 7778 amp I could easily pick up CH 19 TVO, 25TFO and 41 CHCH but all these signals were from Sudbury. This , of course, was with the antenna pointed NNW. They are all very clear and make the antenna purchase worthwhile just to get Sat. Night at The Movies on TVO.
My television , as it turns out, is a poor choice fro DX'ing as it blacks out the screen if no strong signal is present. I also don't belive it has an ATSC tuner, only the NTSC type ( Rats!). Anyway, anyone have a brand and model number for a good set top atsc HD tuner? One that will not blank out the screen with faint signals.
I have an Advantest EMC Spectrum Analyzer good to 3GHZ and so I may just have a peek at the antenna output for any signals in the UHF range with the antenna pointed SSE ( Toronto)

I also intend to add a VHF antenna to pick up the many VHF channels available in the Killarney area. ( Sudbury, Barrie TO )

Thanks for your help.
Will post further results.
statestreet is offline  
post #75 of 763 (permalink) Old 2007-12-09, 08:59 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
I hope you can hook up the spectrum analyzer to the CM4228 and do a 360deg. sweep. It is good to know that you get the Sudbury analogues well but I'm sure you won't get any ATSC digital stations from Toronto and it is doubtful from Michigan either at this point in time.

Have a look in this forum for several threads on ATSC tuners on the market: http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=130

If you still want to get an ATSC tuner, the general consensus is that the Samsung DTB-H260F is the best ATSC STB on the market now ever since LG discontinued the LST-4200A for some very strange reason. You can read up on it and ask any questions about it in its own thread in that forum.



stampeder is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome