ON - Barrie, Muskoka, Sault Ste. Marie, Northern Ontario - OTA - Page 49 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 5Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #721 of 763 (permalink) Old 2018-10-02, 09:00 PM
s40
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 459
My Terk HDTVa amplified antenna has both the UHF and the rabbit ears built in (it is a silver sensor clone with the rabbit ears). It works quite well with VHF high and UHF for an indoor antenna.
s40 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 763 (permalink) Old 2018-10-05, 02:44 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,195
I emailed another online retailer my TV Fool Report which appears in post Number 715 and they emailed me back saying they would recommend the Channel Master CM-3000HD Smartenna. I looked it up online and it say its only good for VHF High and it doesn't mention anything about VHF Low.
cyclist44 is offline  
post #723 of 763 (permalink) Old 2018-10-05, 05:29 PM
DHC Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 1,027
That is another bad answer.

You are getting bad answers because your situation is very unusual. The techs that you ask don't have the experience to give a good answer for your location, which requires an indoor antenna for VHF-Low channels 2 and 4.

The only antenna that you can buy for your reception problem is the Winegard HD7000R. It comes with extensions to make the elements longer for VHF-Low channels if needed.

https://www.google.com/search?biw=91...60.WFAU50aqY6A

I have finished making a DIY indoor channel 3 antenna and will post the photos soon. Maybe you can make one too.

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
rabbit73 is offline  
 
post #724 of 763 (permalink) Old 2018-10-05, 07:36 PM
DHC Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 1,027
Here are some photos of the Channel 3 antenna that I made. I bought the wire and 1 x 2 select pine boards at Home Depot. I already had the yardsticks, terminal block, and balun.



I clamped the 6' mast to my platform cart:




If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
rabbit73 is offline  
post #725 of 763 (permalink) Old 2018-10-05, 07:46 PM
DHC Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 1,027
Here is a closeup of the terminal block:



This shows how the wire goes around the end. I used masking tape instead of nylon clamps to hold the wire:



The antenna can be taken apart for storage:


If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
rabbit73 is offline  
post #726 of 763 (permalink) Old 2018-10-05, 08:06 PM
DHC Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 1,027
I next made some measurements of the electrical noise level to find out how strong a signal would need to be for good reception with my indoor antennas.

Noise level on channel 3 with channel 3 folded dipole: -67 dBm
Signal would need to be at least -52 dBm to allow for the minimum required SNR of 15 dB
Your report lists your signals at about -33 dBm, 19 dB stronger; looks possible

The tuner noise is irrelevant because it is buried in the ambient noise at -100 dBm

Electrical noise on VHF can come from CFL lamps, LED lamps, electric motors, switchmode AC adapters like for laptops and battery chargers, hair dryers, and ignition noise.

Noise on channel 10 using folded dipole of GE 34792 indoor/attic antenna: -91 dBm
Signal would need to be at least -76 dBm to allow for the minimum required SNR of 15 dB

Again, the tuner noise is irrelevant because it is buried in the ambient noise at -100 dBm

Noise on channel 36 using UHF yagi of GE 34792 antenna: -106 dBm, which is the thermal noise floor for a 6 MHz TV signal
Signal would need to be at least -85 dBm to allow for the tuner noise at -100 dBm and the minimum required SNR of 15 dB

So, you can see why there aren't many TV channels on VHF-Low 2-6, because of the high noise level from electrical interference. There are three advantages to VHF-Low: Not much transmitter power is needed for the same coverage area, the signals can make it over rough terrain easier, and the building penetration signal loss is low.

There aren't any VHF-Low channels in my area, but I will try to make a simulated reception test with the channel 3 indoor folded dipole antenna.

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883

Last edited by rabbit73; 2018-10-06 at 08:05 AM.
rabbit73 is offline  
post #727 of 763 (permalink) Old 2018-10-06, 08:41 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,195
Earlier post mentioned a FM Dipole Indoor Antenna. I found this one on Amazon it is 72 inches wide and 60 inches high. It looks similar to what rabbit73 built. Here is the link: https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B00...k_ql_qh_dp_hza
cyclist44 is offline  
post #728 of 763 (permalink) Old 2018-10-06, 10:46 PM
DHC Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 1,027
72 inches isn't quite wide enough, but it might work; give it a test.

You will also need a 300 ohm to 75 ohm matching transformer balun.

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883

Last edited by rabbit73; 2018-10-06 at 11:08 PM.
rabbit73 is offline  
post #729 of 763 (permalink) Old 2018-10-08, 11:18 PM
DHC Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 1,027
This chart shows why it is more difficult to receive VHF-Low channels because of the higher noise levels on VHF. Stronger signals are needed to overcome the noise:


If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
rabbit73 is offline  
post #730 of 763 (permalink) Old 2018-10-12, 07:59 PM
DHC Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclist44 View Post
Earlier post mentioned a FM Dipole Indoor Antenna. I found this one on Amazon it is 72 inches wide and 60 inches high. It looks similar to what rabbit73 built. Here is the link: https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B00...k_ql_qh_dp_hza
The description on Amazon (and Walmart) is not correct. Amazon says:
Quote:
5-Ft Center Lead With 6-Ft Span
but it is really about 5 ft wide with a 6 ft downlead.







Half of the dipole is 29"; the dipole is 58" wide

Width in inches = 5540/freq in MHZ
so
freq in MHz = 5540/Width in inches

5540/58 = 95.5 MHz

The FM band is 88 to 108 MHz, so the PET10-8110 antenna is cut for the center of the FM band.

I measured the DC resistance of the antenna, because it is a continuous loop of wire. It measured 7.8 ohms with my Fluke 115 DMM. The resistance is higher than expected because they used very thin wire.

You still need to try it to see if it will work for you on CH2 and CH4. It might even work on CH9; mine worked on 7 and 13.

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883

Last edited by rabbit73; 2018-10-12 at 08:33 PM.
rabbit73 is offline  
post #731 of 763 (permalink) Old 2018-10-12, 08:35 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,195
I have purchased the above antenna from amazon Canada. It has been shipped but I have not received it yet. I will be happy with channel 2 and 4. We have been getting a lot of rain lately and my Bell Satellite dish has been going down a lot lately.
cyclist44 is offline  
post #732 of 763 (permalink) Old 2018-10-14, 11:03 AM
DHC Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 1,027
I made some measurements to compare the gain of my channel 3 folded dipole to the gain of the PET10-8110 FM Dipole on a channel 3 analog signal.

I don't have any VHF-Low transmitters in my area and I don't have an 8VSB modulator. i used the channel 3 output of a Channel Master 7004 converter box as a test signal and measured the strength of the video carrier with my Sadelco signal level meter.

I set up one of my channel 3 folded dipoles and connected it to the output of the 7004. Then, I setup another one of my channel 3 folded dipoles about 8 feet away and measured the strength of the received signal. It was +14 dBmV (-35 dBm).

Next, I substituted the PET10-8110 FM Dipole as the receiving antenna. The received signal measured +2.5 dBmV (-46.5 dBm).

My channel 3 folded dipole has 11.5 dB more gain than the PET10-8110 FM Dipole on channel 3. I don't know how much difference that would make at your location as far as being able to receive 2 and 4.

I inspected the center and end connections of the PET10-8110 FM Dipole.





The solid copper wire for the PET FM Dipole is very thin and fragile. Usually, the twin lead wires of a folded dipole are twisted together and then soldered for greater strength. The wires of the PET FM Dipole were just touched together and then soldered.

Besides making the PET dipole fragile, the thin wires reduce the effective bandwidth, making it more difficult to cover from 2 to 4.

If you have any doubts about the wires in your PET FM dipole, you can check for continuity with an inexpensive ohmmeter like the Elenco M-1000 DMM.
https://www.amazon.com/Elenco-M1000E.../dp/B0015126L4

or the GB GMT-318 analog meter.
https://www.amazon.com/Gardner-Bende.../dp/B00291X79O

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Gardner-...-318/202867892

My PET FM Dipole measured about 8 ohms between the two terminals that connect to the balun.

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883

Last edited by rabbit73; 2018-10-14 at 12:06 PM.
rabbit73 is offline  
post #733 of 763 (permalink) Old 2018-10-18, 11:51 AM
DHC Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclist44 View Post
I have purchased the above antenna from amazon Canada. It has been shipped but I have not received it yet. I will be happy with channel 2 and 4. We have been getting a lot of rain lately and my Bell Satellite dish has been going down a lot lately.
Please let me know the results of your test with the FM Dipole antenna. If it doesn't work for channels 2 and 4, I can suggest something else to try.

Best regards,
rabbit

If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
rabbit73 is offline  
post #734 of 763 (permalink) Old 2018-10-18, 08:18 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,195
Still waiting for FM Dipole antenna to arrive.
cyclist44 is offline  
post #735 of 763 (permalink) Old 2018-10-19, 03:09 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Craig Henry (Greenbank/Hunt Club), Nepean, ON
Posts: 3,223
The Source sells FM Ribbon antennas for $16.99. A bit pricey, but they appear to be in stock in Thunder Bay.
tvlurker is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome