ON - Scarborough, Pickering, Ajax, Whitby, Oshawa - OTA - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 2080 (permalink) Old 2006-02-03, 03:56 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkoz
Couple of days ago I got a Terk TV55 to try...
Number 1 priority, mkoz: return that Terk 55 to wherever you got it

http://www.digitalhomecanada.com/for...4&postcount=23

and get the bowtie antenna(s) you mentioned. The attic will ruin a lot of the potential performance. I sense you have some esthetic pressures facing you...



stampeder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 2080 (permalink) Old 2006-02-04, 08:51 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
I am aware of the less than positive reviews this antenna received, but I got it for free so the price was right . I managed to get it mounted flush on my chimney today (pointing pretty much south, slightly west). The signal strength increased on some buffalo channels, but the only local station I can pull in is the CBC (I guess it's pointing too far west). I will probably end up with a couple of bow-ties in the end, but this will do in the mean time. Aesthetics are definitely a factor I have to deal with although I can't say the Terk looks all that appealing on the chimney at the moment. I would like to try the bowties in the attic. According to a transmission engineer at work, if my attic is relatively metal free the signal penalty should be negligible.
mkoz is offline  
post #63 of 2080 (permalink) Old 2006-02-20, 03:26 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitby, Ont.
Posts: 954
Any Bad Weather Effects?

I would like an idea how outdoor antennas in this area handled the heavy rain and snowfall last Wednesday night, especially in regards to WGRZ. Sorry for the late post but I have been busy.
vmpv is offline  
 
post #64 of 2080 (permalink) Old 2006-02-21, 08:39 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Whitby, Ontario
Posts: 1,980
vmpv, good question. I still have good signal in bad weather. Last week with the snow, sleet, rain I lost my BEV sat signal but was still watching OTA. Even WGRZ still came in. (i watching 2-2 weather radar.) Last summer I lost WGRZ only in a really, really heavy downpour.
The day of the superbowl, everybody reported WGRZ problems ealry in the day but since it was eveybody here on DHC, we suspect it was a station or transmitter problem, even if they don't admit it.
I watch the OTA rather than BEV sat whenever I can. I hate bad simsubs and I hate the low bandwidth BEV dropouts.

Samsung TV, Pio-Elite AVR, OppoBD, Wharfedale Speakers, Kicker/Crown Subs, DB-4e OTA:)
Tom.F.1 is offline  
post #65 of 2080 (permalink) Old 2006-03-09, 01:03 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
I think with the warmer temps we have been having is resulting in a stonger signals.

Where are you located as you should be able to pull in those Buffalo stations properly.

Do you have the antenna mounted on the roof or in the attic ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Breaka
OK, now they're coming in at 30%

I wish they could stay good forever.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;
Yaamon is offline  
post #66 of 2080 (permalink) Old 2006-03-09, 09:36 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
With any install if you can, you should try and mounted the antenna so that it has a clear view towards Buffalo.

With a clear view you should not really have severe signal fluctuation that causes you to lose the picture.

Excessive cable runs over 65-70' can cause signal loss.

What I usually do on a installs is line up the antenna for the weakest signal like Nbc and then from there fine tune it for the other stations.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;
Yaamon is offline  
post #67 of 2080 (permalink) Old 2006-03-10, 08:29 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 43
Here are some maps of my antenna, and below is video footage of where I mounted my antenna. I believe the antenna is being pointed parallel to my house. You guys can check out the video.





and for the Video footage:


You need XviD to play it.
http://www.gcide.net/antenna.avi
Dark_Breaka is offline  
post #68 of 2080 (permalink) Old 2006-03-10, 09:49 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
If that is where your house is located then to optimize for Nbc I would say that you have to point it towards 170' on a compass.

At 180' south from your location its just a little west of Grand Island.

Hope that helps with Nbc.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;
Yaamon is offline  
post #69 of 2080 (permalink) Old 2006-03-10, 10:38 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 43
When it gets warm, i'll try to do that. But it might boost it just a little. Not to the 90% mark where I was getting it really nice .
Dark_Breaka is offline  
post #70 of 2080 (permalink) Old 2006-03-10, 10:56 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
90's signal, oh yes with warmer temp the signal might get a little stonger wait till summer arrives.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;
Yaamon is offline  
post #71 of 2080 (permalink) Old 2006-03-10, 11:02 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 43
Do you think my antenna is high enough in terms of elevation?
Dark_Breaka is offline  
post #72 of 2080 (permalink) Old 2006-03-10, 11:23 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
Sorry I would not be able to tell from the pictures you posted. I would have to be there to see how your antenna is mounted to comment.

If you were to stand behind the antenna would the south view 180-170' be clear no taller obstructions in front blocking the view?

If your view is clear then I would say that you are ok for elevation and all you might just need to move your antenna a little more east.

Where are you located, and how long is your cable run?

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;
Yaamon is offline  
post #73 of 2080 (permalink) Old 2006-03-10, 11:53 AM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Breaka
Do you think my antenna is high enough in terms of elevation?
Based on your video (thanks for that, BTW!) I would mount the CM4228 to the chimney stack with at least a 4 or 5 foot pole since roofing and roof truss materials contain metals and metallic particles that cause multipath interference. You'll notice an immediate difference.



stampeder is offline  
post #74 of 2080 (permalink) Old 2006-03-10, 05:43 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: 300 Steelcase Road W, #20 Markham,905470 9604 ext 230
Posts: 1,795
A suggestion for those who are installing their own antenna.

Depending on where you are located it seems most have trouble with Nbc.

What I normally do on my installs is line up the antenna for max signal from Nbc. With that reference signal from Nbc, move the antenna a little at a time depending on your location east or west of that current spot.

As soon as you notice the signal has drop off, stop there and scan your tuner to see if all other channels are fine.

It’s fine to let Sun or City signal strength drop lower than Nbc. The reason is that since the CN Tower is close by there will be minimal signal fluctuations.

CM4228/9521/7775;F.RmJvc70FH96/8300HDPvr/Dish 612;B.Rm LC52LE810UN/8642HD;Study LG50PK550/Xbox360;
Yaamon is offline  
post #75 of 2080 (permalink) Old 2006-03-11, 02:42 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mississauga and Toronto
Posts: 175
Correct me if im wrong, but i think the angle (up) might also have something to do with it, especially since nbc can be a pain to get.
dcorreia is offline  
Reply

Tags
ota hdtv

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome