QC - West Island, Southwest QC, Cornwall and Eastern ON - OTA - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2007-11-20, 12:35 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Beaconsfield: getting channel 13 with a CM4221!

Hi I recently mounted my cm 4221 on my roof I use to have inside the house. I am amazed that I can catch WVNY channel 13, how is that possible with just a UHF antenna? Thanks
shade69 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2007-12-11, 08:04 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
West Island in Les Cedres (near Dorion)

Hi,
Was wondering if anyone could give me an idea of what type of antenna I would need to receive HD transmissions? I live just west of the island of Montreal in Les Cedres (near Dorion). I'm going to purchase a HD LCD tv and want to know if anyone else has tried different models of antennas and what the results were. I have an antenna 2000 (blue model). I get good reception with this antenna. Most of the US stations like 3, 5, 22, 33, 57. Canadian stations 6, 12, 10, 44, 46. I have the antenna on a 10' outdoor mast pointing towards Montreal (due east). I've installed a 45' toward to mount the new antenna on. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
armchairpilot is offline  
post #33 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2007-12-11, 08:12 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Hello armchairpilot and welcome here. I've moved your post into this thread for your area, so please read through it from the beginning and also read through the other Montreal-area threads to get the information you need.



stampeder is offline  
 
post #34 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2007-12-28, 09:49 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario
Posts: 213
I am thinking of supplementing my satellite service with OTA. MY question is what type of antenna would I need and what would I be able to pick up in Cornwall ON?
morikaweb is offline  
post #35 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2007-12-28, 03:26 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
If you use the Search this Thread tool (to the upper right of the screen at the top of this thread) and input "Cornwall" you'll see a few other posters from your area, but we honestly haven't had many.

Check out these links too, for starters



stampeder is offline  
post #36 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2008-01-15, 08:13 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 19
Ile Perrot

I'm on Ile Perrot, in a very low lying section. I have a dinky antenna I picked up for 39.95$, installed it, and was able to tune into Mountain Lake:

PBS 57.1
VPT 33.1
CBS 3.1
NBC 5.1
FOX 44.1
and briefly had ABC.

If I install a deep fringe antenna maybe I could pick up a few more? I may try coupling two antennas.
MandrakeDar is offline  
post #37 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2008-01-16, 10:31 AM
Kro
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St-Eustache, UFH=CM-4221, VHF=10y13s, CM-7778
Posts: 390
Quote:
If I install a deep fringe antenna maybe I could pick up a few more? I may try coupling two antennas.
First install a CM-4221 or 4228 (But the 4221 will be enough). Then if you want abc22 you will need a VHF antenna 5y13s (Small about 2 feet long.) of 10y13s
Kro is offline  
post #38 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2008-01-16, 11:32 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 19
Thanks Kro.

I can't seem to get CBC, CTV, SRC, et al. Ideally I would like to pick up these channels as well as the US channels.(I don't want a rotor)
MandrakeDar is offline  
post #39 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2008-01-16, 11:50 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Prevost, Quebec Canada
Posts: 266
Quote:
Then if you want abc22 you will need a VHF antenna 5y13s (Small about 2 feet long.) of 10y13s
so far a CM4221 or CM4228 is proven to be good enough to cover VHF-13 even 120 miles away
Smog is offline  
post #40 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2008-01-16, 11:57 AM
Kro
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St-Eustache, UFH=CM-4221, VHF=10y13s, CM-7778
Posts: 390
Mandrake: Go for the CM-4221 it has a very large beam (So you won't need a rotor) and i'm confident that you will get good result with it.
Kro is offline  
post #41 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2008-01-17, 08:26 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 19
Update to Post #249

I inherited a radio shack antenna that looks a little like a CM 3020. I now get all the channels from the US. However, 22.1 and 44.1 are finicky. Would a preamp help and where can I find one in Montreal?

Are CBC and CTV on Mount Royal yet?

Mandrake.
MandrakeDar is offline  
post #42 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2008-01-21, 10:09 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 19
I get all the US channels(with subs) no problem. I can't seem to get 2.1 and 6.1.
MandrakeDar is offline  
post #43 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2008-01-22, 01:43 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 19
I do. I get all of them with 1 antenna. Cheap radio shack antenna. I think they now sell for 29.95. Fox and ABC are my lowest in signal strength, ABC - 58 and Fox - 64.

I spoke to CBC this morning and there is no way I can receive their signal in Ile Perrot, they are not yet broadcasting at full strength yet. Does this make sense?
MandrakeDar is offline  
post #44 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2008-01-22, 02:38 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ste-Rose, Laval, Canada
Posts: 220
Mandrakedar,

$29.95 is pretty hard to beat, it will probably cost me more in hardware to build it myself.

I saw one from TheSource website (radioshack), just type item 1508228 in their search engine.

which preamp are you using? where to buy it ?

About your 2.1 and 6.1, this is probably because MtRoyal is preventing their signal from reaching west of montreal. I have read that they are broadcasting from a temporary antenna on the roof of their building until the issue about the Antenna tower on the Mt Royal is resolved.
hungt1999 is offline  
post #45 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2008-01-22, 04:51 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 19
Hungt,

I spoke to CBC and TQS and you are absolutely right, they are broadcasting very low, TQS at 13kw + Mount Royal doesn't help, lol!

That is exactly the same one - 1508228.(actually didn't have to pay for it.) I'm not using a preamp, I went to DDO electronics and bought a cheap UHF/VHF amp installed it inside and I pick up everything except for cbc and tqs. 22.1 came in on this antenna but not on my previous bowtie antenna. No complaints here. (I'm on Ile Perrot(lowest part) if this helps. )

PS: They also mentioned that no new antennas can go on Mount Royal until the analog ones are removed.
MandrakeDar is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome