QC - West Island, Southwest QC, Cornwall and Eastern ON - OTA - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2007-01-08, 06:21 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 23
Ettisl, what antenna do you have? Do you use a rotor to get these channels?
Frelo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2007-01-08, 06:35 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Frelo see post #115-117 in this thread for your answer.



stampeder is offline  
post #18 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2007-02-22, 09:49 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 15
Kirkland

I have a dishnet receiver and I am able to get Off Air locals. I searched the forum an found a DIY antenna that I built today. I hooked it up and was able to get Vermont and Plattsburgh channels. I was not able to get any Montreal channels.

Is there a place to find out what channels are available in my area and were the antenna needs to be pointed to? Also, I was looking into the CM 4228($102.00CDN) but also noticed talk about rotors. Is a rotor needed to get the most channels?

I should also add that I was able to get some analog channels but only 2 channels where clear. The rest of the channels showed snow.

Also, what is the difference between UHF and VHF antenna's? Does one get more channels then the other?

Here is the antenna that I built today...

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show...2&postcount=76

Thanks,

Dante1
Dante1 is offline  
 
post #19 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2007-02-22, 10:18 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Hi Dante1, I've moved your post into the West Island thread. If you read through this thread and all the other Montreal-area threads you will get excellent information about all the things you need to know for OTA.

Before we go further please click on the link in this post that takes you to the OTA Forum Knowledge Base & FAQ, which will provide you with lots of info.



stampeder is offline  
post #20 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2007-02-26, 11:33 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Beaconsfield

Hi does anybody in the west island Beaconsfield area get WVNY channel 13? if so how strong is the signal? I would like to know before getting another antenna. Right now I have a cm4221 in the attic with no preamp Thanks.
shade69 is offline  
post #21 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2007-03-31, 11:12 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Reception from the west island

Just got Zenith SS locally for $20. Initial results show the analog stations (TVA, CTV, TQS) super clear, CBC/Radio-Canada went down in quality, no luck with any HDTV, either Canadian or U.S. I've heard that the problem for the Ville St-Laurent and West Island region (mostly Pierrefonds East, Roxboro, DDO and Pointe Claire) is due to the tower on Mont Royal. Has anyone heard about any actions planned to resolve the issue? Or does anyone have other suggestions for me to pick up some HD stations? Thanks.
laoloup is offline  
post #22 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2007-07-18, 12:39 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 142
Been reading thorough this info a bit and I like what I'm seeing for results! I'm in Ile Perrot and ready to jump right in to OTA. I figure a CM 4221 would be good but where can I get a VHF unit in and around Montreal or online in Canada? Would I be able to mount the 2 antenna's on the same mast? I'm surrounded by maple trees but that's about it. I more or less site up on a hill in Ile Perrot so do I have a good chance regardless of my tree cover?
Chaseme is offline  
post #23 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2007-07-18, 01:44 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Chaseme here is the thread about OTA vendors in Quebec:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=51078

You might want to consider a good Combo antenna like a Delhi VU935 or 936 for getting VHF and UHF channels and FM Radio stations with a single antenna. There are also posts in the Montreal-area threads about people who use single-channel VHF antennas to get channel 13 while using a Delhi 4BT-1483 or CM4221 for UHF.



stampeder is offline  
post #24 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2007-10-16, 06:03 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Equipment need to receive US Channels in Beaconsfield

I am considering installing an OTA antenna in my second story attic in Beaconsfield. The antenna would be used for two TVs. I have decided on acquiring the Wade-Delhi 5Y13S yagi antenna for ABC. My question is what would be the best UHF antenna. I would like to avoid a preamp as I will be piggy backing the signal on to my satellite feed.

Would the CM4221 be fine for picking up the US HD channels for two TVs or should I go with the CM4228 since it will be in the attic and the signal is split for two tvs?
DCL7 is offline  
post #25 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2007-10-17, 09:46 AM
Kro
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St-Eustache, UFH=CM-4221, VHF=10y13s, CM-7778
Posts: 390
Quote:
Would the CM4221 be fine for picking up the US HD channels for two TVs or should I go with the CM4228 since it will be in the attic and the signal is split for two tvs?
You would be better with the CM4228 and a Good splitter. But will you be able to bring the 4228 into the attic? (The CM4228 is big)
Kro is offline  
post #26 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2007-10-17, 10:16 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Quote:
But will you be able to bring the 4228 into the attic? (The CM4228 is big)
I assumed the CM4228 came disassembled. Does the CM4228 come already assembled?
DCL7 is offline  
post #27 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2007-10-17, 11:10 AM
Kro
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St-Eustache, UFH=CM-4221, VHF=10y13s, CM-7778
Posts: 390
Quote:
I assumed the CM4228 came disassembled. Does the CM4228 come already assembled?
It's already assemble. I have a CM4221 for that reason and it's doing fine in the attic.
Kro is offline  
post #28 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2007-10-17, 11:21 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 172
I know that the 8bay from Winegard HD-8800 comes in de-asembled. Il fit in the attic door!!
yipikyer is offline  
post #29 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2007-10-17, 12:14 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
DCL7, there are some instructions for getting a CM4228 into an attic in this thread:

http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=41990



stampeder is offline  
post #30 of 1110 (permalink) Old 2007-10-17, 05:58 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Beaconsfield North of the 20

I live in Beaconsfield North of the 20 (see Post #159) and have a CM4221 inside my house and can catch NBC,CBS,FOX and the PBS HD channels no problem. If you decide to go with the CM4228 you might not need the yagi.
shade69 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome