QC - Montreal (Eastern areas), Laval, Laurentides, Lanaudire - OTA - Page 56 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #826 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2013-01-09, 12:38 AM
EdT
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 312
You should not go for the amp yet. 3.1 and 5.1 are the strongest channels to catch, if you can't catch those without an amp, no amp will help. Did you try aiming your antenna squarely at Mount-Mansfield ?, you should be able to catch 3.1, 5.1 and 33.1 with ease.

OTA CM4228HD CM3410 CM4040
EdT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #827 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2013-01-09, 08:53 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 34
Well, my yard faces south and mt mansfield is south of me. I couldn't catch any other channels for that matter without pointing it in the exact same direction towards mt royal. You can draw a straight line from my house to mt royal to mt mansfield.

That saiid, The Source says the 4228 has a range of 60 miles, which only reaches the border from my house.

The 2020 goes halfway to NYC according to it's 190km range.
mcfilmmakers is offline  
post #828 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2013-01-11, 02:56 AM
EdT
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 312
The 4228HD is also a directional antenna, but I just noticed you are 40km north away from Montreal which makes it quite a stretch. You might have better luck with a more directional antenna, but you will have to sacrifice that by having to aim it directly at Mont-Royal or Mont-Mansfield hence requiring a rotor.

OTA CM4228HD CM3410 CM4040
EdT is offline  
 
post #829 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2013-01-11, 08:44 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal QC
Posts: 416
Hi EdT,

Perhaps I've missed something but I don't understand your statement
Quote:
"if you can't catch those without an amp, no amp will help"
for CBS and NBC

I've done setups in St-Jerome and St-Hippolyte (about same distance from the transmitters as St-Lin) and can only pull in the US stations with an amp... heck in some cases even some Montreal stations will only come in with an amp up there if you're lower down in elevation in those areas.

In any case at this point I would recommend that mcfilmmakers at least experiment with an amp that can be easily returned (Source, Canadian Tire). You never know - the American signals may be just borderline without the amp and the tuner can't pick them up, a little boost may help bring them in... might as well try as your 4228HD already is installed.
interdit_450 is offline  
post #830 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2013-01-11, 12:29 PM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vimont, Laval, Qc.
Posts: 1,112
OTA reception St-Lin

Quote:
hence requiring a rotor
Another statement that doesn't make sense, Mcfilmmakers got the best antenna for his situation and no rotor is required.

And as Interdit_450 wrote, the guy needs a pre-amp. I my case, without a pre-amp, there are some american channels I would not get at all.

Mcfilmmakers, I've got a portable set-up mounted on a photograph's tripod with a CM7777 pre-amp and the best 4 bay antenna. I'd be glad to try it over your place. If you're interested, simply PM me.
.
BOUVAL is online now  
post #831 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2013-01-11, 08:00 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 34
I appreciate the offer but I think I'll try out the pre-amp before making you go out of your way, wouldn't hurt to try at this point anyway.
mcfilmmakers is offline  
post #832 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2013-01-14, 05:42 PM
EdT
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 312
"the American signals may be just borderline without the amp and the tuner can't pick them up, a little boost may help bring them in... might as well try as your 4228HD already is installed."

If it is borderline, meaning you get a weak pixelated signal or a even PSID lock, than an pre or drop amp will definitely help. As far as I know Cdn Tire does not carry pre-amps just the el-cheapo noisy drop amps that they sell for an exuberant cost you can pick-up for $3.99 elsewhere. Pre-amps are considerably more expensive and available at specialty shops that do not accept refunds once plugged-in, yes I know the Source can special order them too, but they might have a different return policy for special ordered items.

"Another statement that doesn't make sense, Mcfilmmakers got the best antenna for his situation and no rotor is required."

The CM4228HD is not the "highest gain" directional antenna and is borderline for his situation, a higher gain Yagi type antenna with rotor is more suited for higher gains for the distance where he is at. Even if plays around with the CM4228HD and gets a borderline signal lock, it would be very finicky to get a stable signal for the strongest channels and the weaker ones like FOX 44.1 or ABC 22.1 would be a challenge.

Higher-gain like Yagi antennas always have "narrower and deeper" beams then "wider and shallower" bow-tie types, hence a rotor is needed to point the antenna at point blank range to the transmitter tower.

OTA CM4228HD CM3410 CM4040
EdT is offline  
post #833 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2013-01-14, 08:17 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 34
The pre-amp was a failure, I couldn't even lock onto a faint signal. While St-Jerome might catch some signals being the same KM away from the broadcast tower, St-Jerome is actually closer in a straight line (North-west). I am located 100% bee-line north of Mt Royal and Mt Mansfield.

I've decided that my last resort is to test the CM2020 and hope for the best. This is going to wait until spring however.
mcfilmmakers is offline  
post #834 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2013-01-14, 09:30 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal QC
Posts: 416
Hello EdT,

Quote:
"the American signals may be just borderline without the amp and the tuner can't pick them up, a little boost may help bring them in... might as well try as your 4228HD already is installed."

If it is borderline, meaning you get a weak pixelated signal or a even PSID lock, than an pre or drop amp will definitely help. As far as I know Cdn Tire does not carry pre-amps just the el-cheapo noisy drop amps that they sell for an exuberant cost you can pick-up for $3.99 elsewhere. Pre-amps are considerably more expensive and available at specialty shops that do not accept refunds once plugged-in, yes I know the Source can special order them too, but they might have a different return policy for special ordered items.
With "borderline" I meant to say that perhaps it was just below what the tuner could detect. All I know is in St-Hippolyte if I unplug the amp and connect my antenna straight to my TV, I get zero American channels. I reconnect the amp and I get CBS, NBC and both PBS stations, and with some warmer weather Fox comes in. The amp used is the GE amp that retails for about $20 at Canadian Tire.

Just saying that in some cases that amp is enough to get you over the top, and it is easily procurable and easily returnable.

mcfilmmakers, sorry the setup didn't work. Just out of curiosity, did you try contacting professional antenna installers in your area? St-Jerome/St-Hippolyte is also higher elevation than St-Lin if my geography is correct (but don't quote me on it) so maybe someone who is more experienced in your particular area can be of better help.
interdit_450 is offline  
post #835 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2013-01-14, 10:08 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 34
Yes it is. In fact, st-jerome is 60m higher in elevation.
mcfilmmakers is offline  
post #836 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2013-01-15, 03:13 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal QC
Posts: 416
Hello mcfilmmakers,

Ah I see ... and after looking at Google St-Hippolyte seems even higher up.

Just out of curiosity, when driving around in your area do you see that the houses that have antennas have them up on towers? If that's the case you may need to contact a professional installer if you want to take a serious stab at going OTA from your particular location. An experienced installer can tell you what is feasible to pull in for the setups they have done for people in your area.

Unfortunately it will be a bit more pricey but at least it's a one-time cost and may be your only option for solid OTA reception if the CM2020 experiment does not go to your liking.
interdit_450 is offline  
post #837 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2013-01-15, 08:10 PM
EdT
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 312
"I am located 100% bee-line north of Mt Royal and Mt Mansfield."

That could be the problem, because of your location and borderline limits in dB of your antenna, the stronger signals from Mont-Royal could drown out the weaker US stations on Mont-Mansfield. With the preamp, did the signal strength of the local channels on Mont-Royal increase as well ?

OTA CM4228HD CM3410 CM4040
EdT is offline  
post #838 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2013-01-15, 09:12 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 34
@EdT: To be honest, I didn't care to notice. I'll pay attention to it with my CM2020 experiment.

@interdit_450: I have yet to find any houses that even have an antenna. My neighborhood is a new development so I don't expect to spot any around my house. The older homes are either in forested areas or on the north side of the river behind a huge church.
mcfilmmakers is offline  
post #839 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2013-01-16, 08:05 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Prevost, Quebec Canada
Posts: 266
Just to let you know, the only VT channel not coming in here in Prevost (bordering Saint-Hippolyte), is ABC rf13 when I use the classic 30 years old CM4221 without a pre-amp (it's my back up antenna when we go out of electric power for the new-old-stock Classic CM4228 with the CM7777)

My parents in Notre-dame des Prairies / Joliette are using an old but large yagi type combo antenna and pick everything from MtMansfiels exception made for CBS.

My digital setup: OTA tv, VOiP.ms+cisco spa2102, AEI.ca adsl, Koodo 45$ unlimited+1Gb, XBMC on hdmi dongle ( dx.com )
Smog is offline  
post #840 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2013-01-16, 02:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: couronne nord MTL, Quebec
Posts: 8
Greetings, knowledgeable folks !
I have decided to go OTA, I am booting Videotron out

I am in Saint-Colomban, 10 km west of Saint-Jerome, and read the last few pages with lots of interest (almost neighbours).

I have done my homeworks, did a lot of reading, and already purchased an Antennas Direct DB8 (similar to 8-bay CM4228) with an Antennas Direct CPA19 17dB low noise preamp (1.8-2.2 dB noise figure). The preamp purchase may have been a bit premature though. Final setup will have 6 to 8 loads (TVs + a few HDHomerun networked TV tuners)

Here's my TVFool : http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...1dda92140d9e28
And a google map view of the area: http://maps.google.ca/?ll=45.761213,...05311&t=h&z=18

As you can see, there are so many trees it is almost a forest area
Luckily, I am at the onset of the laurentian hills, elevation 164m, and according to TVFool I am LOS of all stations that interest me (Mt Royal and Mt Mansfield).

Yesterday evening (fairly clear sky), I have put up the antenna (and preamp) at the end of a 20' telescopic rod (used to remove snow off low roofs) and attached it to my patio ramps, so the antenna would have been about 20' above ground (and the house 16' on the side so probably not a detrimental factor).

I was glad to see all Montreal stations, and NBC, PBS and some Vermont educational channels. Did not get ABC, CBS nor FOX. I was using a small Haier 7" LCD TV, that unfortunately gave no power readings.

My worries are with the trees. I am well aware that people setting up antennas in winter can have pretty bad surprises comes summer, due to leaves growth. The question is : how bad is it ?

Am I better off to wait till July before doing the roof installation ? It is a 2 story home and I should easily gain an additional 10 feet. I think that waiting for full leaves growth ensure the correctness of location.

Also, are my chances of getting those 3 US channels pretty good with somewhat higher elevation and possibly with a higher gain pre-amp (CM7777, 30dB vs 17dB) ?

Last question, as I am subject to vertigo, I will pay to have the final installation done on the roof. Any good installer recommendations ? Ones that will not cut corners on quality !

Thank you !
Rudy
rudyrednose is offline  
Reply

Tags
montreal , pbs

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome