QC - Montreal (Eastern areas), Laval, Laurentides, Lanaudire - OTA - Page 53 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #781 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2012-02-01, 12:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Haven't received the 4221 antenna yet...but I have a few questions:

Out of curiosity, what are your thoughts on the Antennas Direct DB4e antenna? (It has a range of 65+ miles...don't know if this would make a difference in my case.)

Will removing the plastic clips on the 4221 make a difference? (read that this is a hack for the antenna)

What should I do with the old DB2...is it worth connecting it to the 4221? If yes, how?

Thanks.
silvercity is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #782 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2012-02-02, 12:13 AM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vimont, Laval, Qc.
Posts: 1,112
OTA near Rawdon

Quote:
Out of curiosity, what are your thoughts on the Antennas Direct DB4e antenna?
No thoughts yet, it's on the market only since a few months and it shouldn't be any better than the CM4221HD.
Quote:
Will removing the plastic clips on the 4221 make a difference?
Yes, but the main hack is flipping the balun.
Quote:
What should I do with the old DB2...is it worth connecting it to the 4221?
No, don't connect anything to the CM4221HD. The DB2 would be good for someone living around 25 miles from Montreal.

_____________
BOUVAL is offline  
post #783 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2012-02-03, 05:45 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Boisbriand, Quebec
Posts: 38
preamp lower noise figure might help

"Amplifiers do not improve the signal-to-noise ratio of signals"

This is true in most case, the only exception is when the noise figure (NF) of the preamp is lower than NF of the tuner, but do not except miracle.

In a digital world you might be lucky and get an additional channel or get some that are more stable if they where just below the threshold
informel is offline  
 
post #784 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2012-02-12, 09:56 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Hi everyone, i'm living sainte-marguerite in Laurentides and i'm receving CFTM HD 10.1 and CBFT analogue 11....and that's it !
What can i do to catch SRC in HD ? thanks for your help
Izaz is offline  
post #785 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2012-02-13, 12:05 AM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vimont, Laval, Qc.
Posts: 1,112
OTA Ste-Marguerite

Izaz,

It's hard to tell in your situation. Do you live much higher than 414 rue du Baron-Louis-Empain ?

This is how it looks for rue Baron-Empain: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...0b86bca5ca8334

Reviens en français ici: http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/show...106002&page=38
.
BOUVAL is offline  
post #786 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2012-02-14, 01:50 AM
Premium Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Calgary
Posts: 3,741
@Izaz: Welcome to the forum!
We'll need a little more info from you to be able to answer your question.
Have you gone through our note for newcomers?
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=125161
If you prefer, we have a French OTA forum also.
http://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/showthread.php?t=140196
Cheers!
downbeat is offline  
post #787 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2012-02-16, 09:34 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Hi Bouval yes i'm higher , at the lac croche..what antenna are you using ?
je vais essayer de te rejoindre dans le groupe francais merci !
Izaz is offline  
post #788 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2012-02-28, 12:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Did Global 15.1 make any recent changes..was having difficulty receiving it this weekend...practically no signal. I'm still using the DB2 hopefully next week I'll get a chance to put up the CM4221...maybe then I'll catch it again.

Thx.
silvercity is offline  
post #789 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2012-02-28, 03:24 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: (1)montréal/Mile End (2)Ste-Marguerite-Lac Masson
Posts: 1,099
izaz

Hi Izaz

i have a cottage in Ste-Marguerite, ch. d'Entrelacs, near Lac Charlebois.
I have two antennas
one arrow type for UHF <-----, the other for VHF-FM,+ pre-amp CM7777
and i can catch src hd on channel 19 (2.1) , and on channel 9.1 (Sherbrooke), and also of course on ch.11 analog

my UHF antenna is aimed to a mountain where the UHF channels are bouncing
(14 NBC, 15 Global, 19 CBFT, 21 CBMT, 22 CBS, 26 CIVM, 32 PBS and 38 PBS are available this way only , and not always with a stable picture ..)

My VHF antenna is aimed to Mt-Royal, and i catch 7.1 TVA, 9.1 SRC, 10.1 TVA, 12.1 CTV....with usually a strong signal....

you must have a pre-amp. and probably two antennas, one for VHF, and one for UHF, because ( my experience) the signals come in different ways..
mille is offline  
post #790 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2012-03-02, 05:12 PM
EdT
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 312
"My VHF antenna is aimed to Mt-Royal, and i catch 7.1 TVA, 9.1 SRC, 10.1 TVA, 12.1 CTV....with usually a strong signal...."

TVA is on 7.1 and SRC on 9.1 ?, thats news to me ! ...LoL

OTA CM4228HD CM3410 CM4040
EdT is offline  
post #791 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2012-04-08, 08:58 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 21
Getting ABC OTA...

Well the CM-4221HD is a UHF only antenna as far as I know so I was wondering, is there a tiny antenna I could add to the VHF input of my CM7778 PreAmp that would allow me to get ABC? Don't want anything too big just for 1 channel.


Thanks
the.importer is offline  
post #792 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2012-04-08, 09:36 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 121
I looked at the same thing here in Montreal but then it occurred to me that the only shows I was interested in on ABC are also broadcast on the Canadian channels so it really doesn't matter.
If a show ever comes along that I can't get OTA because of not recieving ABC I'll just find another source. (streaming, download etc...)
johnvan is offline  
post #793 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2012-04-08, 10:04 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 21
@johnvan

True, it's just that if there was a way for$40 or less to get ABC, I would have paid for it.
the.importer is offline  
post #794 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2012-04-08, 10:38 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 121
Contact Balm, another poster on here in the Montreal area. He had a custom antenna for sale that would be perfect for that, I almost bought it but didn't feel like going to all the trouble of mounting it to my roof just for one channel.
johnvan is offline  
post #795 of 1046 (permalink) Old 2012-04-08, 12:40 PM
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vimont, Laval, Qc.
Posts: 1,112
Quote:
Contact Balm, another poster on here in the Montreal area
But the thing is that Balm is in Pointe-Claire and The Importer is in Laval. It's easyer to get ABC from the West Island than Laval.

It's a waste of time and money to get that ABC channel as all their best shows are transmitted by CTV, Global and even Metro 14 (RF49).
.
BOUVAL is offline  
Reply

Tags
montreal , pbs

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome