QC - Montreal (Eastern areas), Laval, Laurentides, Lanaudire - OTA - Page 16 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #226 of 1048 (permalink) Old 2008-01-21, 10:52 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ste-Rose, Laval, Canada
Posts: 220
Updgate to #254

I installed a homemade antenna in the attic, inspired my many posts here about that.

The antenna consists of 8 pairs of bowties stacked vertically. I used an aluminum-wrapped carboard 18 x 36" located 4" behind the antenna. The whole thing is vertical and points towards Mount Mansfield where I have most trouble getting the signal. The balun is located at the center of the antenna. I have about 90 ft of RG-6 from the attic to my dvd recorder equipped with an ATSC tuner (model Philips 3575/37). I am using a 10$ preamp bought at Addison in Montreal. The pre-amp is located at the receiver end. I dont have 120VAC outlet in the attic so I cannot plug the preamp in the attic, which is preferable.

I tried with and without the preamp. This is my results:

2.1 SRC
3.1 CBS (visible only if using preamp)
3.2 CBS (visible only if using preamp)
5.1 NBC
5.2 NBC
6.1 CBC
33.1 VPT/PBS
33.2 VPT/PBS
33.3 Vermont Create
35.1 TQS2
57.1 PBS
57.2 PBS
57.3 PBS

I am Missing Fox and ABC. However, I can see the analog ABC on channel 22 pretty clear. I have no clue where FOX is. Where is their analog channel?

I would like to eventually get ABC and FOX. What should I do to also get those?
hungt1999 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #227 of 1048 (permalink) Old 2008-01-21, 11:47 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Prevost, Quebec Canada
Posts: 266
Prevost, Quebec

using a CM4221 and a pre-amp pointed solar-south

2.1 SRC

5.1 NBC
5.2 NBC
6.1 CBC
22.1 ABC ( this is VHF-13 )
33.1 VPT/PBS
33.2 VPT/PBS
33.3 Vermont Create
35.1 TQS2
44.1 FOX ( this is UHF-45 )
44.2 CW ( this is UHF-45 )
57.1 PBS
57.2 PBS
57.3 PBS

Last edited by Smog; 2008-01-21 at 12:10 PM.
Smog is offline  
post #228 of 1048 (permalink) Old 2008-01-21, 11:53 AM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Shore of Montreal
Posts: 132
ABC is on the VHF band (Ch.13) and has been difficult to get for most of us in the Montreal area without a Channel13 specific antenna. Some have been lucky enough to be able to get it with the CM4228/CM4221 but that is exceptionnal.

FOX is being broadcast at the same location as CBC/BNC/PBS(33) but at lower power.

If you have to plug the Addisson Amp, its not a PreAmp, its a distribution amp. At 90 feet of cable, your signal would really benefit from having the amp at the antenna before all that cabling. FYI, in a PreAmp configuration, the power source can be near your DVR/TV injecting power into the coax with the PreAmp unit located near antenna receiving that power to amp the signal that travel down the same coax.

EDIT: Smog, CM3221 (he means CM4221)? FOX is UHF-43. Maybe you need an extra coffee this morning to start your week!
TheIceMaster is offline  
 
post #229 of 1048 (permalink) Old 2008-01-21, 12:09 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Prevost, Quebec Canada
Posts: 266
yup the antenna is a CM4221

about FOX, this is where I got the info :

http://www.fox44.com/about

and I can get 22.1 easy but can't pick 3.1 or 3.2 (UHF something)
Smog is offline  
post #230 of 1048 (permalink) Old 2008-01-21, 03:33 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ste-Rose, Laval, Canada
Posts: 220
In the next couple of days, I intend to build a Yagi antenna specifically for VHF channel 13 in order to catch ABC.

I am currently searching the internet for a simple design that can be realized at home. I have read about a couple of good design ideas. However they talked about using a "hairpin match loop" near the balun connector. I am a bit confused about that.

If anyone of you have any idea about Yagi design or that hairpin loop, please help.

I will test the Yagi separately and eventually will install it at a distance further than one wavelength (more than 4.4 ft) beside my existing bowtie antenna. The two antennas will be fed down the same coax line using a UHF/VHF combiner.

thanks
hungt1999 is offline  
post #231 of 1048 (permalink) Old 2008-01-21, 07:11 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: St-Hubert QC, Attic CM4221 clone, CM7777, WMC 8.1, 4 HDHomerun tuners, 2 XBox 360 as receivers
Posts: 287
hungt1999, you can find how to make a home made Yagi for ABC on this thread, plans and video included.
DjiPi is offline  
post #232 of 1048 (permalink) Old 2008-01-21, 10:54 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Laval, Quebec
Posts: 145
I have a channel master 4221 and a Wade Delphi 5Y13s (Channel 13 5 element) plugged into a channel master 7777 pre-amp and I receive all digital channels available in our area.

The total investment was around 250$ and well worth it IMO. I can now watch the SuperBowl and Lost in beautifull HD without the IMO illegal SimSubs from Bell EV.

My elevation is around 150 ft, and I am very west in Laval, St.Dorothee adjacent Laval-sur-le-Lac.

I hope everyone in the area can achieve similar results as I have thanks to this very helpful forum!
post #233 of 1048 (permalink) Old 2008-01-22, 12:52 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ste-Rose, Laval, Canada
Posts: 220
Smog,

so in addition to all the UHF channels, you sucessfully catch ABC on VHF 13 with your CM4221 without a dedicated VHF antenna?
hungt1999 is offline  
post #234 of 1048 (permalink) Old 2008-01-23, 10:35 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Prevost, Quebec Canada
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by hungt1999 View Post
Smog,

so in addition to all the UHF channels, you sucessfully catch ABC on VHF 13 with your CM4221 without a dedicated VHF antenna?
Yup, the CM4221 and CM4228 will pick some VHF channels even if it's sold as a UHF only antenna
Smog is offline  
post #235 of 1048 (permalink) Old 2008-01-23, 03:14 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ste-Rose, Laval, Canada
Posts: 220
I am going to give the $29.95 antenna from Radio Shack a try to catch ABC 22.1

that antenna is not easy to find, on their website it is advertised as a clearance item and most stores I called don't have them anymore.
hungt1999 is offline  
post #236 of 1048 (permalink) Old 2008-01-23, 03:22 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 19
The source on Ontario and the one on Mont Royal had them. Remember, mine is outside.
MandrakeDar is offline  
post #237 of 1048 (permalink) Old 2008-01-23, 03:33 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ste-Rose, Laval, Canada
Posts: 220
Yesterday I went to Addison and bought a $10 in-line amplifier made by General Electric. It came in two parts: the amplifier goes to the antenna and the power supply goes near the TV. The power is sent to the amplifier via the coax cable.

I took out my distributor amp that I was using previously at the TV.

I tried the GE in-line amplifier with my current homemade bowtie array in the attic and was please to see that I can now catch FOX 44.1 and 44.2.

I am still missing ABC 22.1

My question is: with the goal of increasing the overall gain, can I use the distributor amp in combination with the in-line amp without causing any damage or signal conflicts?
hungt1999 is offline  
post #238 of 1048 (permalink) Old 2008-01-23, 04:14 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Craig Henry (Greenbank/Hunt Club), Nepean, ON
Posts: 3,222
No, the improvement in reception is governed by the improvement in the Signal to Noise Ratio that was achieved by using a preamp with a lower noise figure than your distribution amp or your TV receiver. The distribution amp would only help if you plan on splitting the signal for several TVs.
tvlurker is online now  
post #239 of 1048 (permalink) Old 2008-01-28, 11:56 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Deux-Montagnes, QC; Channel Master 4228; Cheap RCA pre-amp (x2)
Posts: 8
Question Ottawa stations in Deux-Montagnes?

After reading posts on this board, I have decided to purchase a Channel Master 4228 and 7777 or 7778 preamp. I live in Deux-Montagnes, and judging by results others have had in St-Eustache and Laval Ouest, this set up should allow me to get the local Montreal and Plattsburgh/Burlington HD stations (with the exception of ABC, perhaps).

What I'd like to know is whether anyone in this area has had luck with getting Ottawa stations. I don't want to set up a rotor unless there's a reasonable chance of picking some of these up. I haven't seen any mention of this, so I assume this is really not possible.
hommegrenouille is offline  
post #240 of 1048 (permalink) Old 2008-01-29, 10:02 AM
Kro
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St-Eustache, UFH=CM-4221, VHF=10y13s, CM-7778
Posts: 390
Quote:
What I'd like to know is whether anyone in this area has had luck with getting Ottawa stations.
With a rotor you probably could get WNPI-DT. You might be able to get TVO and TFO analog (They are not DT yet) I get a very snowy picture but I do not have rotor.
Kro is offline  
Reply

Tags
montreal , pbs

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome