ON - London, St. Thomas, Woodstock, Goderich - OTA - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 2330 (permalink) Old 2008-11-03, 12:22 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 21
Canada's pretty slow moving in the DTV world (like that's a real shocker). The only thing in our neck of the woods is CKXT-DT (Sun TV in London) on Channel 19. It's not very high powered, so I really doubt you'll get it except when there's some tropo maybe. There's a bunch of stuff in and around Toronto, but it's also low powered and much to far away from Leamington.

_Z
Zornblad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 2330 (permalink) Old 2008-11-03, 12:38 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 21
Re: WFXP-DT Fox, Erie Pa

More on WFXP-DT 22, Erie, Pa reception in St. Thomas, On. Average signal level on my Samsung tv's signal meter is 70 to 80%. As I said in my earlier post, it's in with full lock 99% of the time. In fact it's my regular OTA Fox station.

_Z
Zornblad is offline  
post #63 of 2330 (permalink) Old 2008-11-04, 12:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 17
So just one digital channel is able to be picked up in London it sounds like? Can anyone confirm this? I plan on picking up a basic indoor antenna from walmart or best buy to try it out
FTA_FTW is offline  
 
post #64 of 2330 (permalink) Old 2008-11-04, 02:15 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 1,950
That is correct. SunTV is the only digital channel on the air in London.
mr weather is offline  
post #65 of 2330 (permalink) Old 2008-11-04, 02:31 PM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
Nobody in London has replicated Zornblad's reception of FOX DT Erie in St. Thomas?



stampeder is offline  
post #66 of 2330 (permalink) Old 2008-11-18, 11:11 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
lngersoll: just 1 Digital tv station

I just get one digital channel in lngersoll ont and that is suntv
tim124 is offline  
post #67 of 2330 (permalink) Old 2008-11-30, 10:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Tillsonburg, Ontario

I currently have a little phillips "set top" indoor antenna and I get decent (some snow) reception on the TV channels that come in. I was wondering how much of a difference an outdoor antenna would make if I mounted it in my upstairs window. I live in a condo so I can't mount antenna outside. The window faces almost due south and I live in Ontario and would like to pick up the US stations from Buffalo etc.

I live in Tillsonburg Ontario. THe closest major intersection is Broadway and North Streeet

Last edited by stampeder; 2008-12-01 at 11:30 AM. Reason: location in title ;)
crowellsr is offline  
post #68 of 2330 (permalink) Old 2008-12-04, 01:46 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northern Windsor, ON
Posts: 261
You could try a larger outdoor antenna, mounted inside, behind furniture or in a closet, but TV reception is all trial and error. Good luck.
Ken H is offline  
post #69 of 2330 (permalink) Old 2008-12-07, 04:44 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: (SoHo area) London ON
Posts: 746
hi crowellsr

Your closest US stations are from Erie, PA. (80 miles)
Where as Buffalo is like 110 miles from you. (You may also want to check into Detroit/Cleveland channels).

Note: I pick up 9 clear + 3 not so clear channels in London (A, CTV, CTS, tvo, Sun (digital), Om2, global, city, CBC, E!, CBCf, Om1). And most of what the Canadian Network shows is the same thing as the US Networks.

Good Luck,
Alvaro.
Emerald_Boar is offline  
post #70 of 2330 (permalink) Old 2008-12-16, 07:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Tillsonburg, ON

Location: Tillsonburg Ontario
Elevation 265m (865ft)

I am looking to either buy or build an antenna to be able to get some of the HDTV channels and SD channels from our southern neighbors. The antenna needs to be at most 33"hx 23"w x 3 1/2" deep. Does anyone have a GH design thjat is smaller than this? Any suggestions on a purchased antenna that is smaller than this and will do the trick?

Thanks

Steve

Last edited by stampeder; 2009-09-01 at 04:02 PM. Reason: fixed spelling of town name
crowellsr is offline  
post #71 of 2330 (permalink) Old 2008-12-30, 05:39 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
London Area

Are there plans to add CBC OTA HD in the London area?

Also what antenna would i need to get CBC HD that is broadcast from Toronto area?
susudh is offline  
post #72 of 2330 (permalink) Old 2008-12-30, 08:02 PM
BCF
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 290
Unhappy OTA HD in the London area

Too bad the only OTA HD channel broadcasting in the London area at this time is SUN TV:
19.1 CKXT-DT SUN-HD
19.2 CKXT-DT SUN-SD
Hopefully other OTA channels in the London area will begin broadcasting in HD soon!

See the post by stampeder @ CRTC to hold public OTA Hearings in 2009. Hopefully more information for OTA HD will be available in April and September 2009.
BCF is offline  
post #73 of 2330 (permalink) Old 2008-12-30, 10:40 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCF View Post
Too bad the only OTA HD channel broadcasting in the London area at this time is SUN TV:
19.1 CKXT-DT SUN-HD
19.2 CKXT-DT SUN-SD
Hopefully other OTA channels in the London area will begin broadcasting in HD soon!
Thanks.
Curious, why can we pickup in London HD Sun TV yet not CBC since both are transmitted from Toronto?

Last edited by stampeder; 2008-12-31 at 01:29 AM. Reason: quoting fixed
susudh is offline  
post #74 of 2330 (permalink) Old 2008-12-31, 01:28 AM
OTA Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24,878
susudh, SUNTV broadcasts from London, not Toronto. You will not get any Toronto stations in London.

You can look up exact locations of stations in Ontario in the Industry Canada database of TV stations:

http://www.user.dccnet.com/jonleblan...a_TV_Stations/

And please read these links:



stampeder is offline  
post #75 of 2330 (permalink) Old 2009-01-26, 05:26 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zornblad View Post
Hi Guys,

WFXP-DT (Fox Erie, Pa channel 22) is now in 99% of the time here in St.Thomas, On (South of London) They're advertising that they're now available in HD at full power (860kw erp @ 720p). No sub channels at this time.

_Z
Hey, I live in st.thomas, what type of Antenna do I need to get myself free TV? I have a Bell 6141 that has an OTA Antenna Input and I have a Sony KDL-40S3000 that has

Channel Coverage: QAM, TV System (Digital) : ATSC & Tuner (Terrestrial) : ATSC
vuebots is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome