CTV Kitchener Channel 12 Waterloo Region - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 3Likes
  • 1 Post By ExDilbert
  • 1 Post By ExDilbert
  • 1 Post By mr.eous
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 2019-04-15, 01:42 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 56
CTV Kitchener Channel 12 Waterloo Region

Hello, CTV Kitchener on channel 12 in Waterloo Region has no Dolby Digital 5.1 for over a month! I get Pro Logic on all shows and commercials. Any solutions? Thank you.
Square1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 2019-04-15, 01:53 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,988
If you're getting DD5.1 on other channels, then I suggest you contact CTV Kitchener. If people don't complain, they may not have noticed that something was amiss. I assume you're getting this OTA or are you getting it through Rogers?

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 2019-04-15, 02:11 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 56
Thank you. I sent a message to Rogers on Twitter, got a text today saying unable to find a problem. Sent a message to Bell via Twitter, sent to this e-mail [email protected]?, doesn't sound like the right place to send the message. No OTA, on Rogers Cable.
Square1 is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 2019-04-15, 03:03 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 55,988
Rogers usually passes whatever comes into them, unless, as in some instances, they pick up the incorrect feed. For example, they have occasionally picked up the descriptive video feed from some stations. I suggest you try contacting CTV Kitchener.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 2019-04-15, 08:25 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 56
So I got a reply from Rogers tech support saying that CTV Kitchener is in stereo only!? News to me since I was seeing DD 5.1 recently and CTV Kitchener has not replied to my inquiry on Twitter or E-mail.
Square1 is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 2019-04-15, 09:32 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 7,775
If that is the case then I suggest you file a complaint with Rogers, CTV and the CRTC to stop simsubs. The original US signal is in DD 5.1 and Canadian stations cannot request a simsub if it reduces the quality of the signal, including audio. Preventing simsubs will motivate them to correct the signal issues regardless of the cause.
DarksideDan likes this.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 2019-04-16, 11:20 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 56
I have sent complaints to Rogers, Bell Media and CTV Kitchener. Nothing from Rogers, nothing from Bell Media, CTV Kitchener asks me to e-mail them if I have a news story? They keep treating CTV Kitchener as a news channel, not as a 24 hour broadcaster! Don't know what else to do, would a tweet to CRTC work?
Square1 is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 2019-04-17, 10:07 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 7,775
How to make a broadcasting complaint

My experience is that broadcasters are more likely to address issues once the CRTC gets involved. I've seen simsubs stopped over things like audio issues in the past.
Square1 likes this.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 2019-04-17, 02:51 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 56
Thank you, I have sent a complaint to CCTS.
Square1 is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 2019-04-18, 01:36 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 140
The over the air channel 13 is definitely 5.1

Contacting CTV Kitchener directly won't do much good as they don't have control over the signal sent to rogers. You would need to contact the engineering dept at CTV Toronto as all signals originate from there.
frubsen is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 2019-04-19, 05:17 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 390
Maybe try emailing [email protected] -- an interesting address I found by accident, as described in the UHF "repack" thread, here.
Square1 likes this.
mr.eous is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome