Comwave Launches TV - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 2017-09-25, 04:19 PM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 1
Comwave Launches TV

Hello,

I just noticed that Comwave just launched their TV service. Does anyone know what equipment (e.g. Android box, adaptors) is required? I see on their website lots of tv channels (good job Comwave) and competitive pricing, but not so much on deployment details (e.g. do they need to do a truck roll if I have DSL already).

Would be good to hear any experiences from anyone who has signed up. Comwave are known for aggressive pricing, but sometimes their customer service is not perfect.

Thanks
DarksideDan likes this.
TV_Watcher_123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 2017-09-25, 09:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,579
There is very little in the way of technical details on the Comwave site. There are absolutely no details about TV hardware except for a reference to a "Whole Home PVR" to "Record up to 500 hours of programming." That suggests something a bit better than a standard Android box such as those offered by Vmedia and Zazeen.

It looks like Comwave is a TPIA with a US and Canadian presence. In Canada the TV service will be tied to also buying internet from Comwave. The TV packages look to be somewhere between Vmedia and Zazeen in value. The internet plans appear to be offered in DSL or cable and are comparable to Vmedia and Zazeen in value as well. The telephone service appears to be standard VoIP based.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 2017-09-25, 11:03 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4,721
Yes I agree, there is very little info on their site about their TV equipment, etc. I was able to find the channel number listings page, however the channel numbers are not in-line with rogers or bell channel number placements so I could not tell you who is supplying them with the channels. Idunno.
17671 is offline  
 
post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 2017-09-26, 08:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 6
TCM isn't in the service so i am not switching anytime soon
WuTang4Ever is offline  
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 2017-09-26, 09:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,579
Some US stations like TCM and AMC can be difficult to negotiate with since they want to be in basic packages. They were missing from Bell satellite for years because Bell refused to do so. They eventually caved in and got put in Bell's premium movie packages. Other BDUs like Shaw put them in the basic service. Not sure what's going on with Comwave but I suspect negotiations are ongoing. TCM and AMC have the upper hand when it comes to startup BDUs since they need the channels more than the channels need them.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #6 of 23 (permalink) Old 2017-09-27, 08:03 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 1
Comwave is using Abox42’s M30-Series smart set-top box for Comwave TV

per...
Canada?s Comwave selects Abox42 set-top box » Digital TV Europe


Specs...
https://www.abox42.com/ibc-2016-abox...home-services/
telcoguy is offline  
post #7 of 23 (permalink) Old 2017-09-27, 09:34 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,579
Interesting piece of hardware. In theory, this box is capable of OTT as well as IPTV and a whole lot more. All Comwave needs to do now is get some market share and deliver a full range of content. Their bundle pricing is fairly aggressive but nothing earth shattering. The big deciding factors will be scope and reliability of service, as well as hardware capabilities as delivered. They have some work to do on forging agreements for channel carriage and OTT offerings like Netflix and CraveTV.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #8 of 23 (permalink) Old 2017-09-28, 06:39 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 1,867
Since you have to buy their Internet, my interest level in the TV service relates directly to how competitive their Internet is against the fiber line coming into my house right now. Assuming it's even available here, of course.

Would be a game changer if people could offer TV service OTT.B
Tridus is offline  
post #9 of 23 (permalink) Old 2017-09-28, 09:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,579
The fastest internet Comcast offers is 250Mbps/20/unlimited for $95, $115 after 12 months. That doesn't seem like a good price. Rogers offers 500/20/unlimited for $120 and Bell offers 300/100/unlimited for $85/110. Comcast's lower speed plans seem more competitive until you realize that the incumbents will price match TPIAs as soon as they sense they are losing a customer. Comcast's slowest plans won't be any good for families who want TV + OTT + internet at the same time. Considering that Comwave is essentially unproven and has a lackluster TV offering, I see them going nowhere fast. The new IPTV providers are offering nothing like the deals satellite distributors did when they first launched.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #10 of 23 (permalink) Old 2017-09-29, 01:13 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 1,867
Yeah that's how I see it too. I have 300/100/unlimited right now, and even if Comwave was offered here, I don't see how it's an improvement at all.

If someone like Teksavvy came out here to Nb over the fiber lines I'd be really interested, but there's nothing like that out here.
Tridus is offline  
post #11 of 23 (permalink) Old 2017-09-30, 12:40 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,579
I'm surprised at that. There are dozens of TPIA providers here and across Canada. ISPs serving cities across New Brunswick. It shows 5 ISPs serving Fredericton, including TSI. Fibre is not listed but I think the CRTC recently expanded TPIA access to include it.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #12 of 23 (permalink) Old 2017-09-30, 06:20 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 1,867
According to Teksavvy's website, they offer 7/0.64 DSL in Fredericton and don't offer cable at all. The cable thing may be wrong, as the website claims it isn't in my postal code, without asking for my postal code. Getus, Focus, and Montreal DSL are the same (in fact, Focus and Montreal have identical websites to the point that they look like exactly the same company with two names). Citywide offers up to 100Mbps cable, but *ONLY* in Sackville, likely due to its proximity to Nova Scotia.

None of them offer higher than 7Mbps DSL service anywhere in NB outside of Sackville. Obviously, those DSL speeds are going to prove limiting while I'm trying to game and my wife is trying to watch Crunchyroll, and they're in no way even remotely competitive with the FTTH that Bell Aliant is offering. Probably why none of those companies advertise here that I've seen. Xplornet does, but that's aimed at rural users that might be able to get DSL but nothing else.

I think you're right about TPIA, but if that is in force at this point, nobody is taking advantage of it in NB. The lack of cable is probably due to the antiquated network Rogers inherited from Shaw out here, for such a small market it may not be worth dealing with (IIRC Sackville is covered by Eastlink).

The good news is that Bell Aliant is pretty good, service wise. The bad news is they were bought and are now controlled by Bell proper, so who knows how long that'll last.
Tridus is offline  
post #13 of 23 (permalink) Old 2017-09-30, 06:40 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Oxford, Nova Scotia
Posts: 930
Yes, Sackville (and Port Elgin) are covered by Eastlink, which is why Citywide can provide service there. Netfox also serves most Eastlink areas. I have no idea why none of the TPIAs use Rogers lines in NB. I agree that switching from Fibre to DSL would be terrible. So it looks like you are stuck with Bell Aliant for some time yet.

I looked on Comwave's site, and I can't find any info about areas that they serve.
smallmj is offline  
post #14 of 23 (permalink) Old 2017-09-30, 12:23 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,579
@Tridus , sorry to hear that. At least you have fibre, something we don't have here and doesn't seem imminent. If it weren't for Rogers, we would be on "up to" 6/.8 DSL. I suspect things will change there as the CRTC wants fibre customers to get TPIA. Don't know why Rogers internet isn't available but it may require a system upgrade.
ExDilbert is offline  
post #15 of 23 (permalink) Old 2019-02-02, 11:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 1
What is Comwave TV like?

Mom has Rogers TV and is paying a small fortune. She is considering changing to Comwave, she already has home phone with them, but I am having a hard time finding reviews about their TV service. Does anyone here have, or know of someone who has, or has read reviews of their TV service? Mom watches hockey, dramas like Law & Order SVU, nature channels, not a lot of movies but sometimes. She needs a PVR to record many shows and avoid commercials.

Any replies are greatly appreciated!!!
Linda

Last edited by Dr.Dave; 2019-02-03 at 10:57 AM. Reason: merged with existing thread
LindaJV is offline  
Reply

Tags
comwave , iptv

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome