VMedia, IPTV Provider Discussions - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

 14Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 171 (permalink) Old 2013-04-06, 01:13 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kanata, Ontario.
Posts: 462
George and Alexei from VMedia were kind enough to give me a tour of the VMedia facilities in Toronto last weekend and talk to me about their business.

I've posted some of my observations on their technology and the challenges they face on my blog. Hopefully it will be helpful for those thinking of subscribing to their IPTV service.

Article link: VMedia Launches IPTV Service

Adventures in Canadian Cord Cutting: http://www.canadiancordcutting.com/
rosenqui is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 171 (permalink) Old 2013-04-10, 12:25 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 19
Thanks for looking into this,interesting article.I tried to get them on the phone last week but kept getting cut off mid-conversation from their call centre.
I would potentially be interested in their sports only package,but would want TSN included in this, which seems to be in the basic package which I DONT want.
prattsd is offline  
post #18 of 171 (permalink) Old 2013-04-10, 01:40 AM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 14,798
prattsd, Basic is a required package for all TV customers.
Dr.Dave is offline  
 
post #19 of 171 (permalink) Old 2013-04-10, 07:09 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fredericton, NB
Posts: 1,784
The unfortunate problem in the end is that this is still structured a lot like a standard BDU. You need to get the basic package before you can get what you actually want.

Until the CRTC modernizes the regulations, we're going to be stuck with the same old same old.
Tridus is offline  
post #20 of 171 (permalink) Old 2013-04-18, 07:46 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kanata, Ontario.
Posts: 462
VMedia just got a license amendment approved to allow them to serve all of Ontario.

See here for the CRTC decision: http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/archive/2013/2013-193.htm

or here for something with less CRTC-speak: http://www.canadiancordcutting.com/2...-to-cover.html

Adventures in Canadian Cord Cutting: http://www.canadiancordcutting.com/
rosenqui is offline  
post #21 of 171 (permalink) Old 2013-04-25, 01:58 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 19
@drdave
that's too bad. If I am required to pay $25 a month plus another $18 for a sports only package (which is all I want) why on earth wouldn't I just get rogers or bell? This model doesn't make sense without alacarte options.
prattsd is offline  
post #22 of 171 (permalink) Old 2013-04-25, 12:36 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kanata, Ontario.
Posts: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by prattsd View Post
@drdave
that's too bad. If I am required to pay $25 a month plus another $18 for a sports only package (which is all I want) why on earth wouldn't I just get rogers or bell? This model doesn't make sense without alacarte options.
If you just want the sports channels, VMedia would be $25 + $13/$14/$18 depending on which sports package minimally suits your needs.

With Bell Satellite, the cheapest you can get TSN, TSN2, Sportsnet, and The Score is in the $78.77/month "Better" package. Even in a Bell bundle, that package is $68.95 once the 6 month promo price of $50.95 is gone.

With Rogers you have to get their $73.71 VIP package, or if you want TSN & TSN2 in HD you have to get their HD VIP at $83.76. If you can live with just TSN, TSN2, & Sportsnet (in HD), it looks like Rogers lets you get Digital Basic and then add the HD Specialty Pack for a total of $45.44. Still, that's more than the $39 you'd pay VMedia for their closest equivalent package, and you'd have The Score, Golf Channel, RDS, NHL Network, and CBS Sports Network too.

Adventures in Canadian Cord Cutting: http://www.canadiancordcutting.com/
rosenqui is offline  
post #23 of 171 (permalink) Old 2013-04-25, 08:41 PM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: London ON
Posts: 103
Congrats and a welcome addition.

Suggestion : get out of the hardware business , all you need to be is a service a la Netflix
There are millions of streaming boxes out there that you can provide your service to.
It should at least be an option for potential customers.
Good luck!
stucatz is offline  
post #24 of 171 (permalink) Old 2013-04-26, 03:43 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 27
VMedia internet provider

Hi,

does anyone have VMedia cable internet (the 45/4 service)? How is it working for you?

Thanks.

Last edited by 57; 2013-04-26 at 04:08 PM. Reason: Moved to existing thread.
yronnen is offline  
post #25 of 171 (permalink) Old 2013-06-22, 11:13 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 18
Preview VMedia's UChoose channels

I know that DH prefers to keep promotional posts to a minimum, but there has been a lot of interest in what VMedia's UChoose standalone and pick a pack options look like. Their launch has been delayed for about six weeks, but we are pretty confident they will be operational by July 2.

We were planning on announcing a preview of the UChoose options on Monday, but it looks like the cat is out of the bag based on posts elsewhere. One of our erstwhile followers figured out the back entry so now we want everyone to know.

The channels, and their package options, can be seen by going to our site and hitting the grey Get Started button in the upper right corner. Then hit button No. 2, which will take you to our TV options. You'll see the new UChoose button, hit that for the various options.

Please remember it is not live yet, hitting any logo will take you to a dead link, but everything seems good to go as previously discussed by July 2. Thanks very much for your continued interest.
GeorgeBurger is offline  
post #26 of 171 (permalink) Old 2013-06-22, 12:19 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Oxford, Nova Scotia
Posts: 923
Pricing looks good. Here's what you need to do.

(1) Drop TSN, Much, YTV, CBCNews, CTVNews, and any other non mandatory channel from the basic package and make them Uchoose as well. That should make the basic package even cheaper. Make basic just the locals, US nets, and other mandatory stuff. I've heard that Bell and the boys price things to make this unattractive. That TSN is pretty cheap as part of basic, and crazy expensive in a package or option. I'd still like to see this happen anyway. Let the sports fans pay for the sports.

(2) Come to Nova Scotia, so that there is real competition here. Prices are still nuts with BTV/SD/Eastlink as the only choices.

Mark
smallmj is online now  
post #27 of 171 (permalink) Old 2013-06-22, 02:52 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,460
Step in the right direction. If my family didn't watch sports or multicultural, I'd probably make the switch, but as of right now Vmedia is still more expensive then the incumbents unless you only want a few channels.
yyzlhr is offline  
post #28 of 171 (permalink) Old 2013-07-05, 09:57 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 18
VMedia launches Premium Basic Plus. Finally!

I am very pleased to let you know that VMedia has launched our Premium Basic Plus package. It includes all of our over 40 Basic channels as well as an additional 16 must-have channels including SportsnetHD, SportsnetOneHD, DiscoveryHD, AMCHD, CNN, A&EHD, Turner Classic Movies(TCM), BravoHD, SHOWCASEHD and MUCHMUsicHD. In all, our Premium Basic Plus includes over 40 HD channels - no equipment upgrades or upcharges at all.

More details are available on our blog at www.vmedia.ca/blog.

Our UCHoose Store will be open for business next week, details to follow.
GeorgeBurger is offline  
post #29 of 171 (permalink) Old 2013-07-05, 02:27 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,987
Where's the link to see the channel packages,prices and all the channels available?

1,2,3 Come Party With Me 3,4,5 Kept The Spirit Alive 1,2,3 I'm Feeling So Free 3,4,5 Keep The Party Alive
MCIBUS is offline  
post #30 of 171 (permalink) Old 2013-08-19, 10:30 AM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Amherstburg, Ontario
Posts: 449
I think the competition is a great thing! I am waiting for Vmedia to offer "on-demand" programming for services such as CTV, Global, and other channels. George did tell me that TMN on demand will be offered soon.

I live in an area where I only get slow 3mbps DSL and no cable or Fibre. Cogeco, which is the cable provider in my area is supposed to be dropping lines in the next year which will allow me to bump up my internet speed and hopefully subscribe to Vmedia. I just hope VMedia adds other channels fairly quickly as there are some that are missing from their line-up.
cptcarter is offline  
Reply

Tags
hugh thompson , iptv , ott video , vmedia

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome