Previously Activated Reciever + New Dish = ? - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 22 (permalink) Old 2008-10-28, 09:45 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinza View Post
My understanding of the StarChoice system is that as long as the exact same type of Dish/LNBF is used it will work immediately. If the Dish/LNBF is not identical, then a call to StarChoice will be required to get the receiver working.
Can anyone else confirm this...if the dish has to be identical then I'll have to be careful when buying a used dish...on a side note, does anyone have a preffered dealer for (standalone) dishes?
awilke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 22 (permalink) Old 2008-10-28, 10:31 PM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 21
Question

Well big deal!! hahaha you are hilarious. I'm just stating a point and an answer to the question that was being asked, you don't have to get upset!!! I also take offence to what you said to me about justifying what I do?? What do I do?? I have an account with starchoice and pay my monthly bill just like you do! Oh and by the way it is illegal to buy stolen goods.
piecowyr is offline  
post #18 of 22 (permalink) Old 2008-10-29, 08:14 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North of the GTA
Posts: 10,006
Quote:
Originally Posted by awilke View Post
Can anyone else confirm this...if the dish has to be identical then I'll have to be careful when buying a used dish...on a side note, does anyone have a preffered dealer for (standalone) dishes?
There is a code number on the LNBF, this MUST match the Code on the LNBF where the main account is being held.
Pinza is offline  
 
post #19 of 22 (permalink) Old 2008-10-29, 09:26 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by piecowyr View Post
Well big deal!! hahaha you are hilarious. I'm just stating a point and an answer to the question that was being asked, you don't have to get upset!!! I also take offence to what you said to me about justifying what I do?? What do I do?? I have an account with starchoice and pay my monthly bill just like you do! Oh and by the way it is illegal to buy stolen goods.
Glad you got a chuckle. No offence intended.
starchoice is offline  
post #20 of 22 (permalink) Old 2008-10-29, 02:04 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 4,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinza
There is a code number on the LNBF, this MUST match the Code on the LNBF where the main account is being held.
This is not true. The only thing that matters is if the receiver is set to the right LNBF type (stacked/non-stacked), and the region is correct (East vs. West). The system doesn't keep track of codes/serial #'s of LNBFs).
BGY11 is offline  
post #21 of 22 (permalink) Old 2008-10-29, 04:06 PM
QCK
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by BGY11 View Post
This is not true. The only thing that matters is if the receiver is set to the right LNBF type (stacked/non-stacked), and the region is correct (East vs. West). The system doesn't keep track of codes/serial #'s of LNBFs).
That is correct.

Were did you get that info Pinza!
QCK is offline  
post #22 of 22 (permalink) Old 2008-10-29, 04:40 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Muskoka, Ontario
Posts: 845
there was a rumour floating around about a year ago that SC was somehow going to upgrade all LNBs and there would be a 2-way communication between LNB and each receiver in the house and that had to match with your account. Something to that effect. If your LNB was not registered it was deemed to be account splitting and you would need to call in to get it fixed or sorted out.

I kind of thought it was an ok idea, maybe a little expensive to replace all of the LNBs and the return was likely not there so it may have been scrapped. I'm sure they could phase it in for any new or replacements and set that account up for the new system.

Never heard anything again.

Edit - found the thread - maybe they are doing this in stealth mode....
smp01 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome