HD picture quality going downhill? - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 19 (permalink) Old 2008-10-25, 03:56 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,995
I think there was a very slight decrease in PQ when *C moved to 8PSK, but it's been the same since then.

Also, Sportsnet has been having some serious issues lately, that affect all providers.
TJ77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 19 (permalink) Old 2008-10-25, 10:27 PM
fmr
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ketchup's hell
Posts: 373
"If some of the channels on your provider are good, then it's unlikely that the service provider is at fault"

This is not entirely true. Depending on which medium SC uses to carry signals, some decrease in quality can appear without putting the provider (CBS, FOX, whatever) at fault. You have to remember that US networks have no control over how their feed is distributed, while HDnet Canada (which has a license with CRTC) does. If HDnet says it's fiber or nothing, SC will get fiber carriage to their uplink while they can use rabbit ears for US networs, and uncompress and recompress the signal the way they want.

If a channel is bad on a provider and good on another one, it means the first provider is not doing everything it should to avoid losses on the way.
fmr is offline  
post #18 of 19 (permalink) Old 2008-10-26, 12:29 AM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,148
You're dreaming. HDNet doesn't get special treatment - BTV changes their format from 1080i to 720P for example. Although there could be minor differences, as I mentioned earlier, the major differences between channels are coming from the "broadcaster", or the original material, not the service provider.

The only time this is not the case is if different bandwidth is provided to different channels, which does happen with some service providers, but that manifests itself as compression artifacts, not (static) PQ in the sense most people mean it.

You then need to find out the bandwidth for that channel and see if that's the cause of the PQ issues. I believe that *C has similar bandwidth across the HD channel spectrum, but I'd like to hear from someone who has measured it with a computer.

We do know that SportNet has had issues and that was one of the channels that was singled out (see the OP) in this discussion, so that is not related to the service provider.

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
 
post #19 of 19 (permalink) Old 2008-10-26, 12:04 PM
fmr
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ketchup's hell
Posts: 373
"You're dreaming. HDNet doesn't get special treatment"

Do you know which contract is signed between providers and HDnet ? I personnally don't and this was a supposition, therfore the "If" word that started my phrase. The reason I picked HDnet is that they care about how their signal is broadcasted as they want to be a good demo of what HD should be. All I know is that some providers use fiber to carry their channels and others don't. And depending on who the channel belongs to, fiber will be used or not. They usually are better with their own channels.

"BTV changes their format from 1080i to 720P for example."

It doesn't mean they don't get the signal with fiber. It also proves my point that a provider can screw up the signal while another doesn't.

Since I don't have Sportsnet, I can't comment on that channel. The fact is that all HD PQ has decreased at some point across all channels. And some channels are worse than others.

"but I'd like to hear from someone who has measured it with a computer"

Not sure if this is possible. Isn't SC signal encoded in proprietary format that you're not allowed to decode ? Anyone posting such results if he could actually measure bandwith may become outlaw.
fmr is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome