DSR 530 to PC? - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 2008-04-08, 11:39 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Steveston, BC
Posts: 32
DSR 530 to PC?

Was wondering if and if so how I could transfer saved movies from the DSR530 to my laptop or pc?
I do not have a dvd recorder (just a phillips hdmi upconverting Divx player w/usb port)

Also as I am new to this forum, and Star Choice, (years of the old hacked DTV) what upgrades can I do, ie: Can I put in a larger hard drive?

Thanks for helping out a newbie.

Wazabi
Wazabi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 2008-04-09, 06:48 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 196
Check out news artical (HD PVR lets you record from your set top box to your PC) on the Home Page of this site. Thats about the only route other than the R5000HD route which seems to be more costly.

wade
wade is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 2008-04-09, 10:47 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Steveston, BC
Posts: 32
Thanks Wade...appreciate you pointing me in that direction
Wazabi is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 2008-04-10, 03:52 PM
DHC Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 698
I have a ADS box that I use, bought at staples to transfer movies etc.


noah
noah12 is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 2008-04-10, 11:31 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by noah12 View Post
I have a ADS box that I use, bought at staples to transfer movies etc.


noah
What exactly do you mean by ADS Box. Not familiar with this tech. If you have a link it would be appreciated. Currently I am just burning to a DVD Recorder that is sitting between the 530 and TV.
MrWisker is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 2008-04-10, 11:41 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Steveston, BC
Posts: 32
Curious...how does this work. There are a few on the website. I assume plug usb into laptop and something into the receiver?

Thanks again.

http://www.staples.ca/ENG/Catalog/ca...?txtSearch=ads
Wazabi is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 2008-04-11, 03:19 PM
DHC Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 698
I just looked at staples it is called ADS DVD Xpress DX2 they are around 90.00 you can transfer whatever you have on your DSR 530 to your computer via s video or rca to the ADS box USB to the PC. Just use the software to capture your video to your computer, just run the movie on the 530 you want to copy, choose your settings, capture, then burn to a disk if you have one. You can edit if you have software for that. The book that comes with it explains what you need too know.


noah

Last edited by noah12; 2008-04-11 at 10:48 PM.
noah12 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 2008-04-11, 10:32 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Steveston, BC
Posts: 32
Thanks....will check it out.
Wazabi is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome