Star Choice HD Programming Discussion - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 362 (permalink) Old 2008-01-03, 03:00 PM Thread Starter
Member #1

Star Choice HD Programming Discussion

The purpose of this thread is to discuss Star Choice HD programming packages and offerings.

Replaces the Star Choice 2007 HD Programming Discussion thread.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 362 (permalink) Old 2008-01-03, 04:10 PM

I'm a newbie to HD having just bought my first HD TV over xmas... I've been reading the HD programming thread so I apologize if this has been covered...

Why no CITY TV HD feed on *C? When I watch City SD it often advertises that the program (Blood Ties) is available in HD, but there doesn't seem to be a CITY HD channel? Only CBC and CTV so far on the Canadian front?

Also, am I correct that if a show's info on a HD channel has a HDTV icon on it that the program is broadcast in true HD?

I ask because on SHOWCASE HD, Saving Grace is listed as HD, but the pic quality certainly doesn't look it to me. Is SHOWCASE HD just poor quality/feed?

ATV3 / Unblock-US / Netflix / HuluPlus / Samsung LNT3242H
post #3 of 362 (permalink) Old 2008-01-03, 07:48 PM
Veteran

Citytv HD is likely coming very soon as it was mentioned several times in a CRTC notice regarding simsubs on Shaw/StarChoice. CTV West is also likely going to be available soon.

From the HD that I have seen on Showcase HD, it has always been typically good.

Do you have an HD set-up box from StarCHoice (ie DSR505 or DVR530)? Are you tuned to channel 277?

It is possible that the program was just in widescreen and not "real HD"

post #4 of 362 (permalink) Old 2008-01-04, 09:33 AM

I have the DVR 530 and yes I was watching the HD channel.