Star Choice HD Programming Discussion - Page 5 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #61 of 362 (permalink) Old 2008-01-21, 03:37 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Victoria, BC Shaw TDC770D, Panasonic TC-P42S1, Sharp Aquos LC32D40U, HK AVR120, Pioneer DVR-650H-K,
Posts: 72
So, the HD Sports Bundle is the only one available to Basic subscribers. However, since we do not get Sports Net SD channels we will not get the HD version either. Therefore, we pay the same price but only get 1 channel, instead of 2!

Huh!

One Bit WONDER
One Bit Wonder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 362 (permalink) Old 2008-01-21, 05:03 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Thorold Ontario
Posts: 2,323
SPEED-HD COMING!

Just received this reply from "ask Jim" regarding the availability of SpeedHD for the February 7th debut at Daytona.

Quote:
we will be adding many more HD channels next month with Speed being one of them. Although the exact details have been concluded it’s very likely it will be available 1st or 2nd week of February.
jbracing24 is offline  
post #63 of 362 (permalink) Old 2008-01-21, 05:53 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,995
Looks like someone is getting a major advantage over BEV.
TJ77 is offline  
 
post #64 of 362 (permalink) Old 2008-01-21, 06:50 PM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Alberta
Posts: 93
The problem with the HD looking bad is the tv. I have installed systems on alot of rear-projection tv's and even though it is HD it looked much worse that an LCD or Plasma. That is just the limitation of projection screens. Hope that helps - also cheapo wal-mart LCD's look like crap as well.
hudson3709 is offline  
post #65 of 362 (permalink) Old 2008-01-21, 06:55 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,995
Oh,those Wal-Mart TVs are awful. Everytime I go in they have the HD demo channel turned on, the HDTVs are hooked up with red/white/yellow cables, the SDTVs have the sides cut off and the poor customers stand around talking about how good that HDTV looks. Makes me laugh everytime.
TJ77 is offline  
post #66 of 362 (permalink) Old 2008-01-21, 08:28 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 4,147
The several HD channels will likely include CTV West, CBC West and Citytv HD and possibly CNN HD. I know Shaw Broadcast is currently working on getting CNN HD available.
bigoranget is online now  
post #67 of 362 (permalink) Old 2008-01-21, 09:49 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,995
TLC HD would be nice, and most of their schedule is actually HD.
TJ77 is offline  
post #68 of 362 (permalink) Old 2008-01-21, 10:36 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 49
Hi all,
Regarding Speed channel/hidef/daytona; with TSN (HD I assume...) picking up the speed coverage of the shootout and the duels... That will be in high def, yes??? I don't really need to see practice in hd. In fact I was going to upgrade my package to include speed channel, but really will I miss much without it???
newstarbob is offline  
post #69 of 362 (permalink) Old 2008-01-21, 10:39 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maple Creek,SK - Oppo BDP-83 | Sony PS3 | Tosh 50HM66 | Pio VSX-9120TXH | Bell HD PVR
Posts: 116
Hopefully The Score HD will be on the list as well, if not I think it might be time to dump *choice and go with BEV. I want Raw in HD.
greerb is offline  
post #70 of 362 (permalink) Old 2008-01-22, 09:39 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by hiker View Post
No, HD Sports Bundle is the only add-on you can do with Digital Basic. So $20 + 1.99 = $21.99 total.
thanks for the reply, and sorry for the double post.......... and will we get sports net aswell even though i dont have the sd channel??
kazm899 is offline  
post #71 of 362 (permalink) Old 2008-01-22, 10:33 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Thorold Ontario
Posts: 2,323
Quote:
regarding Speed channel/hidef/daytona; with TSN (HD I assume...) picking up the speed coverage of the shootout and the duels..
All Nascar Daytona coverage will be in HD, assuming that SpeedHD is up and running. including practices and qualifying. TSN & Fox will be covering the Shootout, TSN and Speed the Duels, TSN and Fox the 500. I assume, also, that Star Choice will simsub the Canadian content versions of the races, so get ready for "LILLYdale!!! Thanks coach!" Sigh.
jbracing24 is offline  
post #72 of 362 (permalink) Old 2008-01-23, 09:30 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by kazm899
will we get sports net aswell even though i dont have the sd channel??
No, with Digital Basic + HD Sports Bundle all you will get is TSN-HD.
hiker is offline  
post #73 of 362 (permalink) Old 2008-01-23, 09:31 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 4,147
The races on Speed Channel will not be simsubbed BUT the ones that are also on TSN (whether its SD or HD) will most likely get replaced with alternate programming.
bigoranget is online now  
post #74 of 362 (permalink) Old 2008-01-23, 10:35 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Muskoka, Ontario
Posts: 847
Quote:
Originally Posted by hiker View Post
No, with Digital Basic + HD Sports Bundle all you will get is TSN-HD.
When I was on Essentials, (no SportsNet), I did get the SportsNetHD feed.

Mind you, I was already on essentials, bought the 530, and so the CSR had to turn on the HD channels. So maybe he added the wrong group, I don't know. But, I know I was not the only one who got the HD feed without the SD feed. Others on this board also reported the same. This was only for SportsNet though.

I would not be surprised if SportsNetHD was included in the SportsHD Pack. You will be paying extra for it.
smp01 is offline  
post #75 of 362 (permalink) Old 2008-01-23, 10:51 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 85
Good to hear we're getting some new HD content!

I know I read it in these forums, but was it ever officially announced that Starchoice would try to get up to a 100 HD channels over the next couple years? I thought it was by the end of 2008 even. Can anyone clarify?
derekp is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome