How many receivers on a Star Choice account - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 2007-08-31, 11:52 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 52
How many receivers on a Star Choice account

What is the maximum number of receivers one can get on a Star Choice account? Thanks
ranman444 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old 2007-09-01, 01:26 AM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 291
Six is the maximum allowed on one account.
superbry is offline  
post #3 of 35 (permalink) Old 2007-09-01, 02:34 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 109
If a single dish LNB has 4 outlets would you get a 2nd dish to reach maximum of 6?

Zak
zak88lx is offline  
 
post #4 of 35 (permalink) Old 2007-09-01, 06:11 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ontario
Posts: 213
Quote:
If a single dish LNB has 4 outlets would you get a 2nd dish to reach maximum of 6?
No you would use a multiswiotch, which you could buy directly off of the *c web site to add more dishes. Odd though if only six units are allowed per account why is *c selling a 5x8 and not something smaller?

https://secure.starchoice.com/englis...ultiswitch.asp
morikaweb is offline  
post #5 of 35 (permalink) Old 2007-09-01, 07:04 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: OTTAWA
Posts: 1,818
Well if you had a 4 505s and 2 530-DVRs then you would require the 8 connections or if you are lucky enough to have 6 DVRs then you would need 12 connections.

~Gary
Shaw Direct DSR 630 HDPVR w/Ontario Life | Aquos 46" 120Hz LCD TV | Watch Me!
GaryE is offline  
post #6 of 35 (permalink) Old 2007-09-01, 10:42 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 15
Star Choice allows you to have 6 in the same location.

This is how Star Choice works:
If you have 3 receivers or less...Star Choice will not call you ever so often to do a verification. If you have 4 or more, they WILL call you to verify that the receivers are in the same location. They will ask you to go to each and every receiver to verify an ID that they will allocate when they do the verification. What they may also do is shut down your systems so that you call tech support and they will do the verification.

My brother works for Star Choice and told me that they catch tonnes of people using Star Choice in multiple locations and basically shut down their accounts.

If you want to be safe and share your account...use 3 receivers, maybe 4.
Dante1 is offline  
post #7 of 35 (permalink) Old 2007-09-01, 03:53 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Calgary
Posts: 381
If they have reason to call someone who has even 2 receivers on their account and suspect non Home Away From Home multiple locations they will call. They wont call out of the blue. If anything they catch people renting things like basement suites or townhouse complexs where people are sharing a subscription. That has to be the most common scenario. If you have 6 recievers on your account and they have no reason to be suspicious why would they call? It's not like BEV where they call if they cant verify receivers are not hooked up to a phone line.

If there is no suspicion there is no call.
sabres12 is offline  
post #8 of 35 (permalink) Old 2007-09-01, 03:58 PM
ARR
.
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Rockies
Posts: 3,190
6 may be apolicy, but their is a technical limitation based on the number of program tiers, regardless of how may receivers their are.

So you COULD have 20 receivers with just a few tiers each or 4 receivers with ALL the tires.
ARR is offline  
post #9 of 35 (permalink) Old 2007-09-02, 02:33 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Calgary
Posts: 381
What if you get a flat? Can you get a spare tire? Sorry. :P
sabres12 is offline  
post #10 of 35 (permalink) Old 2007-09-02, 01:43 PM
ARR
.
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Rockies
Posts: 3,190
Red face Good Deal...

Someone actually reads my posts!
ARR is offline  
post #11 of 35 (permalink) Old 2007-09-02, 02:37 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 764
Quote:
If they have reason to call someone who has even 2 receivers on their account and suspect non Home Away From Home multiple locations they will call. They wont call out of the blue. If anything they catch people renting things like basement suites or townhouse complexs where people are sharing a subscription. That has to be the most common scenario. If you have 6 recievers on your account and they have no reason to be suspicious why would they call? It's not like BEV where they call if they cant verify receivers are not hooked up to a phone line
I have 5 receivers at home i've never got a call
4 rooms + living room
gretzky is offline  
post #12 of 35 (permalink) Old 2007-09-02, 03:06 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 61
6 receivers and never a call

I have 3 505's, a 500 that I kept, and 2 401's and have never had a call. I have had 6 receivers for over 2 years.
canron is offline  
post #13 of 35 (permalink) Old 2007-09-06, 02:18 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 35
Ah just the thread I am looking for! A newbie question! I have a dual horn dish, one cable runs to a new 505 for HD. Another cable from the dish runs to a basement where there is an old General Instruments (?401). All was working fine untill I added a 500 to the basement with a splitter on the feed, one to the 401 and one to the 500, not all the channels work etc Do I need a special kind of splitter, a signal amp, or do I have to run a third line from the dish to to the third receiver,the biggest job?
Salisbury is offline  
post #14 of 35 (permalink) Old 2007-09-06, 05:13 AM
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 80
you will defiantly need a 3rd line to the dish ... and upgrade the dish to a quad LNB so you will have 4 outputs.
a1canuck is offline  
post #15 of 35 (permalink) Old 2007-09-06, 07:59 AM
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 361
Stacked elliptical dishes have better LNBFs than quads. Just replace the 2X2 multiswitch at the dish with a 2X4 or 2X8.

I'm not washed up yet
Donnybrook is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome