StarChoice/Shaw Broadcast (formally CANCOM) 8PSK migration schedule - Page 3 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #31 of 79 (permalink) Old 2007-08-10, 03:56 PM
fmr
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ketchup's hell
Posts: 373
In the news regarding VC16 termination. Just a hint, though, nothing official.
fmr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 79 (permalink) Old 2007-08-10, 03:57 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,995
That spot is now occupied by Setanta.
TJ77 is offline  
post #33 of 79 (permalink) Old 2007-08-10, 04:01 PM
fmr
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Ketchup's hell
Posts: 373
Looks like I changed "demand" into "definition" when I read that news release. ;-)
fmr is offline  
 
post #34 of 79 (permalink) Old 2007-08-10, 04:09 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,995
No worries.
TJ77 is offline  
post #35 of 79 (permalink) Old 2007-09-02, 11:01 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 4,143
Updated Channel Map (As of September 27th)

F2 Transponder 2
-Showcase HD
-National Geographic HD
-Discovery HD

F2 Transponder 7
-Series+ HD
-Canal Vie HD
-ZTele HD

F2 Transponder 8
-CBS West HD
-NBC West HD
-ABC West HD

F2 Transponder 10
-TSN HD
-CBC Toronto HD
-PBS East HD

F2 Transponder 11
-CTV East HD
-TMN HD
-TMN MMore HD

F2 Transponder 12
-CBS East HD
-Sportsnet HD
-WGN HD

F2 Transponder 15
-Fox East HD
-NBC East HD
-ABC East HD

F2 Transponder 16
-New Channel (TBD)
-New Channel (TBD)
-New Channel (TBD)

F2 Transponder 21
-HDNet
-A&E HD
-New Channel (TBD)

F2 Transponder 25
-PPV HD/NHL Centre Ice HD/Leafs TV HD (Not confirmed Yet)
-PPV HD/NHL Centre Ice HD (Not confirmed Yet)
-PPV HD/NHL Centre Ice HD (Not confirmed Yet)

F2 Transponder 27
-SRC Toronto HD
-Super Ecran HD
-RDS HD (Not Confirmed Yet)

F2 Transponder 31
-New Channel (TBD)
-New Channel (TBD)
-New Channel (TBD)

F2 Transponder 32
-Fox West HD
-Movie Central HD1
-Movie Central HD2
bigoranget is offline  
post #36 of 79 (permalink) Old 2007-09-06, 05:01 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
So what's the new channel that was added to the satellite today, maybe nothing yet?

Last edited by JonoG5; 2007-09-06 at 05:11 PM.
JonoG5 is offline  
post #37 of 79 (permalink) Old 2007-09-06, 05:27 PM
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 4,468
Nope, today they just moved Super Écran HD, SRC HD, Discovery HD, A&E HD, HDnet and WGN to 8PSK on F2 Transponders 21 and 27.

When it comes to humility, I am the greatest!
magnet is offline  
post #38 of 79 (permalink) Old 2007-09-06, 05:53 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Thorold Ontario
Posts: 2,322
I don't know whether everyone is affected but at 5:45pmET there is no DiscoveryHD. 279 is A&E, 275 and 278 are both HDNET and 277 is temporarily unavailable. Perhaps the switchover was delayed.
jbracing24 is offline  
post #39 of 79 (permalink) Old 2007-09-06, 06:48 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: A deep southern province
Posts: 54
About 6:15 I tried to switch to WGN and could not. Checked system status and found that my EBno was very low, even though the signal was OK. Saw the same on SRC-HD. Figured it was part of the switchover process. Just checked back at 6:45 and all is well again.

Edit: while the channels are coming in fine, I still see lower Ebno values for these two (and higher signal readings) than for other channels. Seems like there is still tuning/adjusting going on. (Or my system has gone screwy!)
bwaldron is offline  
post #40 of 79 (permalink) Old 2007-09-06, 06:59 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 27
Right now I can't tune to WGN 294 and DiscoveryHD is missing with A&E on 279 and HDNET on both 275 and 278.
JonoG5 is offline  
post #41 of 79 (permalink) Old 2007-09-06, 07:26 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 84
Just got off the phone with SC and to solve the problem about the mixed up HD channels, just do a front power button reset, everything is find on my 2 HD receivers now.
riche1 is offline  
post #42 of 79 (permalink) Old 2007-09-06, 09:58 PM
ARR
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,190
I had all the same problems as well and figured it might need to reload the channel map, so I went to Standby until the clock time reappeared and then power cycled.

For 530's, this is the safest/preferred method of causing a reset.
At least place into standby until clock comes back and then you can front panel reset.

The reason for the extra routine is to force any outstanding memory writes to flash and clear the buffers.

I still have low ebno (1.3) on WGN HD and get RED on Z, the first 8PSK signal from a few weeks ago.

When I check 270/271, just black with Green lock, but in Options 6-4 it shows the channel # in the windows tab as 000, WTF???

Also show channel 000 in diags as well, so I think the Motorola code is screwed as ANY IPG menu's show correctly while the Moto Options 6-4 are messed up.

I was really worried about needing a dish tweak after changing the stacked LNB and I may still, but in my expert opinion, the channel map is messed up.
It certainly isn't the first time.
I sure hope they don't have to emergency spin the code to fix a fatal Moto flaw in the code or roll back the migration schedule.
ARR is offline  
post #43 of 79 (permalink) Old 2007-09-06, 10:08 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Regina
Posts: 721
According to the first post in this thread,there were to be two new HD channels added today.
painter is offline  
post #44 of 79 (permalink) Old 2007-09-06, 10:24 PM Thread Starter
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 4,143
I'm not getting any of the 8PSK channels as well.

Noticed the same things that ARR pointed out.

This is going to cause huge issues if they don't figure this out quickly.

Don't bother calling StarChoice for the next few days either. The hold time is 60+ minutes.
bigoranget is offline  
post #45 of 79 (permalink) Old 2007-09-06, 10:25 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Thorold Ontario
Posts: 2,322
Not until the final migration dates of Sept 18-20.
I had to reset two of my three 505's. Thanks to riche1 for saving us time on the phone. All is well here.
jbracing24 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome