Shaw Direct In Areas South of Canada (Mexico, US, etc) Read Post 1 - Page 104 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 142Likes
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1546 of 1777 (permalink) Old 2019-05-14, 04:26 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 1,173
Yeah, I know, but crashing in a ball of flames is so much more interesting...
k801809 likes this.
tvmaster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1547 of 1777 (permalink) Old 2019-05-14, 11:09 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Shaw Direct Product Development Lead
Posts: 171
Some optimizations were performed a few years back that extended the lifespan, IIRC.
NovaMan likes this.
k801809 is online now  
post #1548 of 1777 (permalink) Old 2019-05-25, 11:47 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
I now have a signal from that satellite.

Some HD channels are back, not all of them though.

Love Nature, CTV and CBC, are on free preview code, not sure if by error or promo.
vcanews is offline  
 
post #1549 of 1777 (permalink) Old 2019-05-26, 12:11 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 6
I am "old"..."older" and have a Shaw Direct Satelitte dish installed on my roof in a community just east of the GTA since Oct 08....... so it is "older" as well. I also have a Shaw Direct dish installed on my mobile home "down south".....which was also installed in Oct 08...... I have a 600 series PVR and I really really don't like change much..... All I really really want to know is if I don't do anything...... can I get Canadian TV next winter "down south"........I dislike US mostly the news....... sorry if this is too elementary for most of you but I have read and reread the posts and don't understand most of it. Thanks for any help you can give me. Yes, I am getting the "urgent" message to upgrade.
shoeboxlady is offline  
post #1550 of 1777 (permalink) Old 2019-05-27, 09:40 AM
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 192
@shoeboxlady - Canadian TV is still viewable "Down South" at this time. However, not all channels are available because any channel that is on the G1 satellite does not reach more than a few hundred miles South of the Canada - US border.

Based on what I understand from your message, it looks like you have the "old" LNB. That LNB does not catch any channels that are on the G1 satellite anyway. That means right now you are not seeing any channels that are on the G1 satellite, even when you are in Canada. Assuming Shaw does not change anything, all the channels you are currently catching in Canada would be available to you "Down South".

Having said that, Shaw is still changing channels around until the end of 2019 so no one really knows at this time what will be available "Down South" next winter. We can only hope that what is currently available will remain viewable once all the changes are completed.

Regarding those "urgent" messages, if you are currently getting all the channels you want in Canada, there is really no reason for you to change your equipment as long as you have the 600 series of receivers.
goalsgo is offline  
post #1551 of 1777 (permalink) Old 2019-05-27, 04:40 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Baja BC
Posts: 1,098
Quote:
Originally Posted by vcanews View Post
I now have a signal from that satellite.

Some HD channels are back, not all of them though.

Love Nature, CTV and CBC, are on free preview code, not sure if by error or promo.
vcanews I don't think there are any Shaw pkgs that don't have CTV and CBC! So don't worry you will still have them, you do not need a free preview.
Bayguy is offline  
post #1552 of 1777 (permalink) Old 2019-05-28, 01:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 6
Thanks for the reply..... thought maybe I wasn't getting all the channels available but thats ok. I can get hockey night in Canada, the Canadian News, The Blue Jays and Coronation Street..... l0l
shoeboxlady is offline  
post #1553 of 1777 (permalink) Old 2019-05-28, 04:06 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Interior
Posts: 1,793
So what are my best options to set up for this fall/ winter?
We are moving and no dish where we are going in BC but I have a newer dish and 630 etc for winter. Just that we lost signal last time in the winter (2017) so I got a new lnb and large dish again.(small dish worked but there were rain fades). However I will not have active account or a friend with a dish to plug in here to test after activating this Fall. I'm tired from packing after 19 years and downsizing from 3600 to 2000 sq ft!
gzink is offline  
post #1554 of 1777 (permalink) Old 2019-05-28, 09:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 3
Angry HDPVR 830 New Install

Team,

New install with 75 E dish and 75 E xku Quad LNBF with HDPVR 830.

Dishpointer Coordinates are, 167 degrees, Elevation 49.7 and Skew is 81.3 for 107/111W Starchoice.

Not getting any signal on Tuner 1 or 2.

Anyone running into signal issues?

Could it be a bad receiver?
Skyhawkpara is offline  
post #1555 of 1777 (permalink) Old 2019-05-31, 12:57 PM
57
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Rogers, 9865 & 8300-eHDD, Sharp LC75N8000U, Denon AVR4310Ci; Sony KDL40W3000, 9865
Posts: 56,239
I have moved a number of posts to the Channel Discussion thread since they were not specifically about "down south".

https://www.digitalhome.ca/forum/11-...on-thread.html

57's Home Theatre (Latest equipment & photos)
57 is offline  
post #1556 of 1777 (permalink) Old 2019-05-31, 06:36 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Interior
Posts: 1,793
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skyhawkpara View Post
Team,

New install with 75 E dish and 75 E xku Quad LNBF with HDPVR 830.

Dishpointer Coordinates are, 167 degrees, Elevation 49.7 and Skew is 81.3 for 107/111W Starchoice.

Not getting any signal on Tuner 1 or 2.

Anyone running into signal issues?

Could it be a bad receiver?
Where do we start?
Have you pointed to Sd before? Pointing wrong? lnb faulty? Receiver faulty? I doubt the equipment is faulty. Someone may jump in if you assure them the mount is perfectly level, you are using magnetic(compass) etc. etc.
gzink is offline  
post #1557 of 1777 (permalink) Old 2019-06-06, 12:49 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jasper, Ontario
Posts: 299
I winter in RV parks down south and often help arriving RVers point their dishes. Most common problems are 1) post not perfectly vertical 2) blocked by trees (sat is higher in the sky than you think and 3) bad connectors.
JasperJoe is online now  
post #1558 of 1777 (permalink) Old 2019-06-11, 02:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 6
Is it possible to Shaw Direct International Channels while using Dish Networks Dish and LNB
I am in California.

Also, are you able to watch all the channels using the existing Dish Network LNB and dish.

currently, have both satellilte Dishes, Directv and Dish mounted under the eve.

which existing setup can i use to watch Shaw Direct.

Thank you
user1 is offline  
post #1559 of 1777 (permalink) Old 2019-06-11, 03:03 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,458
You definitely can't use the LNB. Circular (DN) vs Linear polarity (Shaw).

LONSat
LONSat is online now  
post #1560 of 1777 (permalink) Old 2019-06-11, 03:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 6
what about getting all the channels.
is it possible to receive all the programming
also have the Directv dish with lnb reverse band lnb5, will that work
user1 is offline  
Reply

Tags
mexico , reception , television viewing

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome