Anik F1R End of Life Notice - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 5Likes
  • 2 Post By LONSat
  • 1 Post By tvmaster
  • 2 Post By LONSat
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 14 (permalink) Unread 2020-01-27, 01:26 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,496
Anik F1R End of Life Notice

Shaw Broadcast has announced that Anik F1R is officially reaching EOL. Over the course the summer and fall of this year (2020) the remaining signals will move to either F2 or G1. C band signals will also be impacted with further announcements to come for C Band signals.

See https://www.shawbroadcast.com/Docume...ANIK%20F1R.pdf for details on the signals impacted.

I would expect in the coming months Shaw Direct and Shaw Broadcast will post details of when and where the signals will move much like they did for the mpeg4 conversions that happened in 2018 and 2019.

Unfortunately for southern subscribers there will be additional signals that move to G1.
QCK and k801809 like this.

LONSat
LONSat is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Unread 2020-01-28, 04:38 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 1,230
Ah, ANIK F2 was released either at the same time or a year earlier, and also estimates 15 years of life. Any reason it isn’t going dark as well at the same time....

https://www.universetoday.com/9737/a...d-on-ariane-5/
QCK likes this.
tvmaster is online now  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Unread 2020-01-28, 07:26 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Interior
Posts: 1,815
Boeing vs airbus? America vs Europe?? Method of maintaining orbit?
gzink is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Unread 2020-01-28, 01:37 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 4,158
I would imagine Anik F2 is also approaching end of life as well but Telesat may simply lease one or more satellites at the 111 location to keep customers in-service there. They have done it before. Back in the early 2000s, they leased the old Galaxy 3R satellite, moved it to 111 and renamed it Anik E2R.
bigoranget is online now  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Unread 2020-01-28, 05:32 PM
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 199
I seem to recall reading in previous posts that G1 was near full capacity but F2 was near empty after the Mpeg4 transition.

Would anyone have more details on that?
goalsgo is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Unread 2020-01-28, 08:21 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,496
It depends on how many signals they put on each transponder on G1 some have as many as 12. If they went that route I calculate up to 51 more signals. If they went with 10 per transponder then about 29 more signals.

F2 has 10 open transponders and each carry about 9 signals so that would allow 90 signals. Some of those empty slots may be used for for Centre Ice, NFL and shared with PPV's. So depending on how many transponders on F2 can be lit up there is plenty of space between both satellites.

LONSat
LONSat is online now  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Unread 2020-01-28, 08:36 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,713
snapshot in time at 111W, I scanned the spectrum, and saw 14 of 16 TPs in use on Vert Pol, and 14 of 16 in use on Horiz Pol. Would leave approx 4 empty Plus or minus.. (assuming it's capacity is 32 TP in total). No tellin what they are all used for, but I do see carriers... seems someone may have been misinformed.
dunno how up to date to expect, but you can have a look here and sift thru for yourself.
https://www.lyngsat.com/Anik-F2.html

DB8E/VHF Yagi rotor FM Bandstop ap-8700 preamp 8way split LG lcd.
majortom is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Unread 2020-01-29, 10:49 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,496
I used the Shaw broadcast spreadsheet to get the 10 open transponders on F2. It may be that they are not listing the occasional feeds.

LONSat
LONSat is online now  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Unread 2020-01-29, 01:52 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 4,158
There are other customers that use the ku-band transponders than Shaw Direct. There are 32 transponders at 111, whether all of them can be made available to Shaw Direct is another question. As mentioned, Anik F2 is likely approaching end-of-life soon too, so they might not be able to power all 32 transponders. They may have some powered down to conserve power.
bigoranget is online now  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Unread 2020-01-29, 01:56 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 4,158
There are two transponders on F1R that were owned by Bell. Those signals were used by Shaw Direct before all MPEG-4 migration. These transponders were not part of the migration plan. I'm not sure of Bell Media is still uplinking signals to those transponders or not. THey were all SD feeds. CBC also has 2x transponders on F1R Ku for there various feeds. These were not used by Shaw and used DVB-S modulation/encryption. Not sure if CBC plans to relocate these feeds or discontinue them. I'd imagine most of their feeds are delivered by fibre or other means these days.
bigoranget is online now  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Unread 2020-01-29, 02:21 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,496
@bigoranget Shaw Broadcast shows the two Bell Media transponders as empty so they may have vacated them. Shaw Direct was piggy backing off or those signals for the Std Def version but that need is now gone as they have replaced those signals with HD versions elsewhere on G1 or F2.

re F2 approaching EOL unless they have determined that there is considerable life left in it and with no announcements on an F2 replacement the only other option left would be to lease another satellite(s) and park it at its slot like you noted they did with E2R.

LONSat

Last edited by 57; 2020-01-29 at 04:42 PM. Reason: @ syntax corrected.
LONSat is online now  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Unread 2020-01-29, 02:24 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 1,230
The question remains, even with migration from F1R to F2, according to that link I posted, F2's end-of-life should be this year as well. If that's the case, I guess there will be a few cancelled accounts this year
tvmaster is online now  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Unread 2020-01-29, 02:27 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,496
No doubt with the absence of any announcement of a new replacement satellite they will lease and move another satellite into place. Don't forget Shaw Broadcast is there to serve cable headends first. They will not abandon those customers.
QCK and frenchophile like this.

LONSat
LONSat is online now  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Unread Yesterday, 03:06 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 4,158
Quote:
Don't forget Shaw Broadcast is there to serve cable headends first. They will not abandon those customers.
Exactly...Telesat will find a way to keep things in service at 111 and if that means leasing old satellites...they will. I'm sure if there is demand, they will place two new satellites at 107 and 111 at some point. If I remember correctly, Shaw Broadcast/Direct is only licensed for extended Ku until 2028/2029.
bigoranget is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome