$$ deal for receivers that have to be replaced? - Page 2 - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 4Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #16 of 36 (permalink) Old 2018-05-12, 05:40 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: VancouverBC/PV Shaw Sat 600-630 Cable Internet, Telus Landline, Rogers PayGo, Bell Mobility, Netflix
Posts: 466
I have a 505 and a 530 that I no longer use. Is there any market for these?
kcowan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 36 (permalink) Old 2018-05-12, 07:51 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 82
Quote:
I have a 505 and a 530 that I no longer use. Is there any market for these?
Nope. They aren't compatible with the MPEG-4 compression Shaw Direct is migrating to. If I remember correctly, Shaw will no longer activate these receivers.
mastercontrol is online now  
post #18 of 36 (permalink) Old 2018-05-13, 05:13 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Okanagan, B.C.
Posts: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by skifan View Post
^^ Exactly....I , quite recently, had an ancient 401 legacy receiver that suffered from " a complete failure - no LED action " , which was replaced by a 600 for simply the shipping fee.

Being an outdated unit, the old receiver does not need to be returned but simply recycled locally.
Yes to all of that! That's what happened with our 530. It was becoming more and more obsolete anyway and the only reason it was still working at all was because I was a 530 whisperer from way back haha. Anyway, I called and said it was kaput, which it was more or less due to its age and the hoops I had to go through to keep it running, and they sent me a 630 in exchange. I don't think I even paid for the shipping because I whined. Anyway, if the older receivers are on their last legs in a bona fide way, I think this is what we should be able to do as consumers.
TheHans is offline  
 
post #19 of 36 (permalink) Old 2018-05-13, 05:15 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Okanagan, B.C.
Posts: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcowan View Post
I have a 505 and a 530 that I no longer use. Is there any market for these?
You could try getting a 605 and a 630 in replacement as per what @skifan and I discussed just above this post.
TheHans is offline  
post #20 of 36 (permalink) Old 2018-05-17, 04:26 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: VancouverBC/PV Shaw Sat 600-630 Cable Internet, Telus Landline, Rogers PayGo, Bell Mobility, Netflix
Posts: 466
Yes they sent me a 600. I am impressed and I have installed a digital clock beside it.

But I now have a 530 that is still registered on the account. What should I do?
kcowan is offline  
post #21 of 36 (permalink) Old 2018-05-17, 04:53 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Okanagan, B.C.
Posts: 545
Did they tell you it was still registered? I ask because when they replaced my 530 with a 630, they "decommissioned" (I believe was the word they used) my 530 too once the 630 was activated. At that point the 530 was a bookend. I recycled mine, because they aren't being reactivated at all. I think at least one other person on here recycled as well.
TheHans is offline  
post #22 of 36 (permalink) Old 2018-05-21, 11:05 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: VancouverBC/PV Shaw Sat 600-630 Cable Internet, Telus Landline, Rogers PayGo, Bell Mobility, Netflix
Posts: 466
The 505 is decommissioned but the 530 is still registered. What should I get for it from SD?
kcowan is offline  
post #23 of 36 (permalink) Old 2018-05-21, 02:27 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 432
530 Trade-In Value

The 530 as a trade-in on a specially priced 830 or 630?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcowan View Post
...530 is still registered. What should I get for it from SD?
RuralRouter is offline  
post #24 of 36 (permalink) Old 2018-05-22, 01:22 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Delta BC
Posts: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcowan View Post
... the 530 is still registered. What should I get for it from SD?
As noted earlier in this thread......If you are paying the multi-receiver monthly fee ( $5.99/month) and if the 530 is malfunctioning ( ie: has failed - won't turn on, etc.) then they should replace the unit with a 630 or 830 for simply the cost of shipping.
TheHans and RuralRouter like this.
skifan is offline  
post #25 of 36 (permalink) Old 2018-05-22, 10:30 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,249
Yes, cough cough, report the 530 as malfunctioning.
TheHans likes this.

LONSat
LONSat is offline  
post #26 of 36 (permalink) Old 2018-05-26, 05:51 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Okanagan, B.C.
Posts: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by LONSat View Post
Yes, cough cough, report the 530 as malfunctioning.
Haha. I hope he/she asks for free shipping. He/she could be lucky. :-)
TheHans is offline  
post #27 of 36 (permalink) Old 2018-05-28, 02:58 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: VancouverBC/PV Shaw Sat 600-630 Cable Internet, Telus Landline, Rogers PayGo, Bell Mobility, Netflix
Posts: 466
Can they tell that the 530 has been sitting in a closet for 3 years? I now have added the old "inoperable" 505 and another inoperable 630. Thinking of just getting things cleaned out. I could use a spare 630. The 630 was never registered because it did not work.
kcowan is offline  
post #28 of 36 (permalink) Old 2019-02-09, 04:24 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 1,047
What ever happened to your 'inoperable' 505? Did they send you an upgrade, or did it go out with the trash?
tvmaster is offline  
post #29 of 36 (permalink) Old 2019-02-09, 05:26 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Calgary/Mesa
Posts: 400
I've got a old 505 sitting around not activated. Should I just recycle it or can it be traded in for something newer?
mellaby is online now  
post #30 of 36 (permalink) Old 2019-02-09, 05:54 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 1,047
yeah, that's my question - I took it off my account last year, so I'm not sure if they'd give me a swap/plus cash for an updated one. Is it technically "de-activated" when it comes off your account? Anyone tried? Otherwise - if someone needs if for parts, PM me and you can have it for shipping fees.
tvmaster is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome