"PPV Now" Appears Every Day on My PVR List - See Post 10 for Solution - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 4Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 2018-01-29, 02:59 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Okanagan, B.C.
Posts: 545
"PPV Now" Appears Every Day on My PVR List - See Post 10 for Solution

Every day I'm getting an entry on my PVR list titled "PPV Now: X New Release Movies" with the "X" equaling the number of movies listed when you look at the contents of the entry. The contents are PPV movies that you can click on and watch, after paying of course. This started a week or so ago. First it was on one of my 630s and I thought maybe it had to do with the Ethernet cable being connected. So I disconnected it and now it appears instead on the other 630, which has no Ethernet connection.

The only way I can delete the entry itself is to go inside and delete each movie in there individually. Once I do that, the entry disappears until the next day. If I leave it alone and don't delete the entry, the next day more movies will be listed there. It doesn't go away on its own.

I can't figure out how to make this go away. I went to Notifications & Alerts and made sure my Notifications are set to "None," which they are. I don't know if this has anything to do with it anyway. I looked around the PPV settings, but nothing I can see addresses this.

Am I just missing something super obvious? Surely I'm not the only one getting this...

Last edited by 57; 2018-01-30 at 03:37 PM. Reason: Title Change.
TheHans is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 2018-01-29, 04:21 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 1,299
Just noticed it on the weekend myself. Welcome to advertising in your PVR listing.

LONSat
LONSat is online now  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 2018-01-29, 04:36 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Okanagan, B.C.
Posts: 545
What bugs me about it is that you can't just delete it.
TheHans is offline  
 
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 2018-01-29, 05:53 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 446
Are these PPV titles in the list of programs recorded or in options? I have not seen that on my 630.
RuralRouter is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 2018-01-29, 06:02 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Okanagan, B.C.
Posts: 545
It's under the programs recorded. I have the list set to display by "Date/Time" and it's always first on the list. I had it first on one of my 630s and now it's not on there any longer, but it's now on the other one. Maybe you aren't one of the lucky ones yet. :-)
TheHans is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 2018-01-30, 04:10 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 1,097
yup, annoying as hell - showed up on mine last week 😠
tvmaster is online now  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 2018-01-30, 06:37 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 446
If those PPV titles show up on my 630 recorded list, I will either call or write to Shaw Direct to complain.
RuralRouter is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 2018-01-30, 07:27 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 446
That would really tick me off

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHans View Post
What bugs me about it is that you can't just delete it.
RuralRouter is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 2018-01-30, 03:21 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Okanagan, B.C.
Posts: 545
This is the first day in two weeks that I don't have that "PPV Now" thingie. I'm starting to think that *maybe* it rotates and receivers get it for a week at a time...maybe...It did disappear off one of my 630s after about a week only to reappear on the other the next day and now it's about a week later. So that's my theory today. Or maybe it was the complaining haha. Or maybe Shaw Direct got complaints and decided it wasn't a good idea, so they dropped it -- dropped that and 6,500 employees with buyouts...

The most annoying aspect still remains that you can't delete it without deleting the titles inside. Oh, there's another possibility -- if you keep deleting it, it stops giving it to you...
TheHans is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 2018-01-30, 03:21 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Calgary/Mesa
Posts: 403
Under Menu,Preferences,Tuners & Storage,PPV Now - switch it to Disabled
TheHans, RuralRouter and NovaMan like this.
mellaby is offline  
post #11 of 20 (permalink) Old 2018-01-30, 04:14 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The Okanagan, B.C.
Posts: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by mellaby View Post
Under Menu,Preferences,Tuners & Storage,PPV Now - switch it to Disabled
@mellaby , you're a genius!

I bend the knee to you...but I do solemnly swear that I checked *everything* under Preferences when it started a couple of weeks ago and saw *nothing*. I still think generally that it's rotating through different PVRs because that would explain why it was on one and then moved to the other arbitrarily. The preference was -- of course -- enabled on both of my 630s until now...
TheHans is offline  
post #12 of 20 (permalink) Old 2018-01-30, 04:22 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Calgary/Mesa
Posts: 403
Ya that was aggravating. It took me awhile to find the disable option. Course it didn't take me as long as your neighbors problem.
mellaby is offline  
post #13 of 20 (permalink) Old 2018-01-31, 01:02 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: tarana
Posts: 1,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by mellaby View Post
Under Menu,Preferences,Tuners & Storage,PPV Now - switch it to Disabled
thanks, good info
tvmaster is online now  
post #14 of 20 (permalink) Old 2018-01-31, 04:54 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jasper, Ontario
Posts: 259
I saw it but didn't know I was supposed to be annoyed.
JasperJoe is offline  
post #15 of 20 (permalink) Old 2018-02-01, 08:54 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by JasperJoe View Post
I saw it but didn't know I was supposed to be annoyed.
It's optional
RuralRouter is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome