Please help, newbie here with EZ question. - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 2017-08-03, 09:27 PM Thread Starter
Rookie

Please help, newbie here with EZ question.

Hi.

My mother lives in rural SW Ontario and I want to get her hooked up with a basic satellite package (the 24.95 per month basic package as legislated by the gummint).

I don't know which company to go with. We would have to purchase the dish and receiver and I can do the install myself.
I would prefer to find a good used receiver and there is no need at all for a PVR as Mom won't use it.

Can anyone provide some advice in terms of what company to go with (I was looking at Shaw, but when browsing Kijiji, almost all the receivers people are selling seem to be Bell) as well as things to watch out for. Many heartfelt thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 2017-08-03, 10:45 PM
Veteran

You can try Shaw Direct. They offer free dish installation, free PVR and one regular receiver free as well.
Shaw Direct offers first month free and Ontario package for $50 a month for 6 months.
After that you can switch to starter package. If your parents do not need second receiver then register only the PVR as Shaw Direct charges $5.99 for second receiver. I think there is an additional charge for adding american networks when switching to starter package.
You can visit their website or call them for more info.
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 2017-08-03, 10:54 PM Thread Starter
Rookie

awesome, thanks, I am in an online chat right now with Shaw. Now I dont think it makes sense to try and save a few bucks by buying a used receiver.

post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 2017-08-04, 12:34 AM Thread Starter
Rookie