Shaw Direct and Wi-fi, internet - Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 2017-06-30, 04:02 AM Thread Starter
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 1
Shaw Direct and Wi-fi, internet

HELP!!

I purchased a portable satellite dome this spring. I need to know if Shaw Direct has a wi-fi unit to attach to my RG6 cable as well as an internet hook up?

Thank for all replies

Dave
CanadianCamper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 2017-06-30, 05:20 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Interior
Posts: 1,783
If I understand you correctly you are asking if you have Shaw Direct...would you be able to have internet and wifi through them. I have zero experince with it but they have partnered with Xplorenet which is a separate install.
gzink is online now  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 2017-06-30, 06:12 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 494
Shaw Direct has no wi-fi hardware. What is a satellite dome?
RuralRouter is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 2017-06-30, 09:33 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Interior
Posts: 1,783
gzink is online now  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 2017-06-30, 09:53 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,191
Quote:
What is a satellite dome?
Isn't that part of the dome away from dome program? I hear it's popular on Mars.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 2017-07-01, 07:45 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 494
Shaw Direct SD Winegard

Thanks gzink. With Shaw Direct going HD as much as possible, I wonder why this unit is SD only.

QUOTE FROM WINEGARD: The Winegard Carryout Portable Satellite TV Antenna designed to receive standard definition Shaw Direct programming. UNQUOTE
RuralRouter is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 2017-07-01, 01:15 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 757
I was wondering the same thing. Most of the campgrounds that I have visited in the past 3 summers have excellent WiFi, good enough to receive Shaw Free Range TV in HD. I have been enjoying most Shaw channels in my motorhome in most RV parks.

I also wonder if the Winegard still has a warning on the side that advises it does not work in Atlantic Canada.....
NovaMan is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 2017-07-01, 10:12 PM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Interior
Posts: 1,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by RuralRouter View Post
Thanks gzink. With Shaw Direct going HD as much as possible, I wonder why this unit is SD only.

QUOTE FROM WINEGARD: The Winegard Carryout Portable Satellite TV Antenna designed to receive standard definition Shaw Direct programming. UNQUOTE
My guess would be the dish size and signal quality received. They seem to have folding dishes that will do it all, not under a dome and roof mounted rather than "portable".
Just guessing because I would never pay for any of that. My standard SD dish on a home-made tripod works fine!
gzink is online now  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 2017-07-02, 09:37 AM
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: 43° N, 81.2° W
Posts: 8,191
It's more likely that it is a round dish with a single LNB. To receive HD (or at least most of the HD channels) an oval dish with a Shaw Direct twin LNB would be required. To receive all HD channels, one of the newer multi-band LNBs would be required. Shaw Direct dishes and LNBs are very specific to it's own service so finding a generic third party dish that works for all channels is not likely, though it could probably be done with two dishes and some extra hardware. In addition, Shaw Direct satellites are closely spaced so using two LNBs with a single oval dish is not practical. By comparison, DBS dishes with 9 degree spacing (such as those used by DirecTV, Dish Network and Bell TV) are fairly easy to find.
ExDilbert is online now  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 2017-07-03, 10:54 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 494
CanadianCamper, do you have a dome that would fit Shaw Direct's current oval shaped dish?
RuralRouter is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Canadian TV, Computing and Home Theatre Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome